We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great walk if you plan it right.”

Ranked #16 of 152 things to do in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
267 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“A great walk if you plan it right.”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Before you set out plan the distance you want to walk and look for a place to get off the towpath and back onto a road where you can catch a bus if necessary. For the casual walker from Leeds you can leave Leeds and walk for as long as you wish with a number of places where you can get back onto a road. However when you get further away from Leeds, on the Kirkstall to Rodley or Rodley to Apperley Bridge sections for example, places to leave the towpath become less and there are quite long sections without any access or egress. Having said that it is a lovely walk, mostly peaceful, and with things to see. I have walked from Leeds centre to Keighley over three separate days and enjoyed every one. By carefully planning your day you can arrange to arrive at one of the pubs or cafes near to the canal for lunch. Just a word of warning for walkers. This path is used by cyclists, some using it as a commuter route into Leeds. A few of them seem to have little regard for walkers and at times you need eyes in the back of your head.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    127
    17
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Liverpool to Leeds Canal : 127 Miles of Pure Delight !”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Cycling from Liverpool to Leeds via the historic canal route provided a magnificent journey thru some of Britain's finest countryside, industrial mills, particularly @ Saltaire & provided a terrific insight to our industrial heritage from the past two centuries.

Starting in Liverpool via the Albert & Stanley Docks, as well as visiting the alternate start point near to Bridge 1 (Vauxhall Bridge) the trail went thru the urban areas of Bootle & Melling & then out into Countryside (terrific little pub @ Haskayne called the Ship Inn) and then on thru the likes of Wigan, Chorley, Blackburn and Burnley before navigating the Foulridge tunnel.

Once past Foulridge, Yorkshire offered up the delights of Gargrave, Skipton, Shipley et on before arriving @ Leeds to round off a terrific little cycle journey.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mrstevea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A gentle stroll”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

From Leeds Waterfront along the Leeds-Liverpool canal to Rodley takes about 90 minutes. The towpath is in excellent condition. You pass through a 19th century industrial landscape, past Bramley Falls Lock into the pleasant suburban countryside of the Aire Valley. Reward yourself with a good pint at the Canal-side pub- the Rodley Barge. Straight-forward pub grub is available. A bus on the adjacent road will take you back to Leeds town centre. Just right for a Sunday afternoon!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank dominic f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton England
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely walk”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Four of us decided to walk part of the Leeds to Liverpool canal from White Bear Marina in Adlington to the Top Lock at Wheelton. As it was August Bank holiday Monday and beautiful weather as well, there were plenty of people walking and cycling on the canal tow path. We watched the various boats that were cruising the canal all shapes and sizes, from exteremely large barges to inflatable canoes. There were boats that did trips on the canal as well, for an hour or so. We stopped and chatted to the fishermen on the bankside, they were enjoying the weather and hoping to catch some fish, maybe for tea.
We stopped at Botany Bay for lunch, we had our own packed lunch. There are picnic tables.
We then carried on with our walk. There was a large family party having a BBQ on a wider part of the banking and really having a good time. Everyone we met was in a good mood and willing to chat.
When we got to the locks we were very fortunate to see two boats going through each lock, so we stopped and watched this spectacle of opening the gates watching the water raise to the next level so the boats can carry on with their journey.
We called in the Top Lock pub for an ice cream ( Fredericks of course) and watch the world go by with the other people who had the same idea.
When we walked back along the tow path we saw different things. People were feeding the ducks and swans. Someone passed on his bike and a bit further down he pressed a remote control and brought a bridge across the water so he could get to the other side. He then brought the bridge back to its mooring, and went on his way.
All in all a long walk, but well worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank travellerx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“sorry not 5*”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The boat was very nice. the journey on the water was relaxing
But the food was served as seen, no choice.We gave dietary requests which were not met.
although they came over as friendly we found the owners a little arrogant
THe boat was run to a very strict timetable and you felt under pressure to conform.stops were in remote places so often there was no attractions to walk to. Did NOT Live up to 5*

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pamela510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leeds and Liverpool Canal also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Leeds and Liverpool Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing