We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Italia - CLOSED

Cafe Italia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
edinburgh, scotland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great service and good food”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic service. Cheery, engaging, funny, genuine.
Not the fanciest of surroundings or stationery.
Real good solid food though. Tasty pasta dishes. Pizza was fine. Nice garlic bread.
Phenomenal service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tom7p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    21
    5
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mexborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We booked a table for 9 people for 6pm on Saturday night. When we arrived it was quiet in the Restaurant with only one other table occupied. We ordered our starters and main course, the starter was served quite quickly, and was delicious, but when it came to serving our main, the service was atrocious, one of our party was served and then nothing for at least 5 minutes, All the mains were served well spaced, the veg that accompanied the main was served well after and most of us had almost eaten our food by this time as it was going cold, one lot of veg was cold as though it had been taken from a fridge, and one of our party received no veg at all. The food was lovely but the extremely poor service let this place down very badly, at one point the staff appeared to be having an argument and the atmosphere was quite cool. There was a sign in the window advertising a vacancy for serving staff , maybe this was why the service was bad , but it wasn't all that busy . Lovely food spoiled by poor service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gillytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian meal with perfect service.”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We came across this restaurant down Mill Hill because it was close to our hotel near the railway station. The staff were welcoming, friendly with excellent service and professionalism. It has a good range and variety of food available on the menu which was of high standard and very reasonably priced. The meal sizes were perfect for all three of us. Our young Italian waitress was delightful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 14Helen14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Very Good Meal”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Had a meal here when visiting Leeds with 2 adult family members. We only came across it because it was close to our hotel near the rail station. It doesn't look much on the outside, but it was good on the inside, and we thought the meal was good quality and reasonably priced. It has the air of a traditional Italian restaurant; all the staff were italian, and the food made in an open kitchen directly behind us. Staff were helpful nd obliging.

I would happily eat here again and recommend it to others.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MP108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Needs a Gordon Ramsey makeover . . . Urgently !!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Saturday night . . . Table for 8 booked in advance . . . Hazy, smoky atmosphere . . . Tired looking decor and layout . . . Several items from the menu unavailable . . . Minuscule 'fillet' steaks over cooked and tough as old boots . . Not good :-(

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank georginac1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Italia also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing