We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fingerlicking”

The Slug and Lettuce
Ranked #262 of 1,828 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: $25 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“fingerlicking”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We was looking forward to minty lamb burgers, great at 1st, looked over to kitchen, and OMG! The chef was stuffing chips into his mouth, they must of tasted good because he had to lick his fingers, then decided he better finish cooking, he then grabbed garnish for the burgers, oops forgot to mention he did not have time to wash his hands. when we spoke to manager he did not seem too fussed!!! got money back for food but paid for drinks . Really not happy with the response of manager, I did say I know they have to eat but not whilst cooking, he did not even offer a complimentary drink let alone a genuine apology

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    102
    63
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
698 reviews
433 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Does what it says on tin!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We visited the Slug in Worcester a few weeks ago and whilst out shopping in Leeds this weekend, we decided to stop off at the Leeds Slug' for a pint and a lunchtime meal. It was packed! We found a table easy enough but was told to expect a wait of 25 mins for food, which we weren't bothered about as we were happy to relax and take in the atmosphere.

There is a well stocked bar serving a really good selection of lager, wine, cocktails etc. We ordered a mixture of food - a French themed burger (very tasty), chilli nachos (very nice if a little short on the chilli con carne), fish finger sandwiches (different but very tasty) and a salad dish (good portion and well presented).

Good quality food in a bar restaurant environment. Michelin food in aint, but the Slug offers what it does best - a decent and varied food menu, quality beer and good friendly service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MD-FatDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knottingley
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent service.”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had not had a meal here for a long time & was aprehensive after some negative reviews.We was not disapointed.We went yesterday & as it was Happy Monday it was quite busy,the staff were very polite & very attentive with excellent service given.Food as good as ever.We will definatly go back.Di & Jon Wright

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diandjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough, uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap and still over priced!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Dropped in for lunch. Sausage & Mash. chewy mash baked to plate. Wife had fish pie. Could have been named find the fish pie. Gloopy mess in a dish. Service ok. This place can only suffer against new restaurants in Trinity. Forget this one there are a lot better options. My mistake which will not be repeated.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank usaregular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Last Minute Choice - Great Food & Service....”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Called in with 9 colleagues during a lunch break. No booking or reservation - staff were friendly and welcoming and found space for us without hesitation. Food was good quality though drinks were slightly expensive. However, hasn't put me off going back next time I'm in Leeds....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Slug and Lettuce also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Slug and Lettuce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing