We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service and we left after one drink”
Review of Aglassto - CLOSED

Aglassto
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We went here on the basis of all the other 5 star reviews for a late tapas meal, wine and jazz and blues live music as advertised on the website for a Friday night. The music was due to start at 10pm according to the website, so we thought we would eat late. We had never been before so called ahead at about 8.30pm to see if we needed to book for 9.15pm (as I knew it would be small as it used to be a sushi cafe) and we weren't sure if it was a bar or restaurant setting. We were told they could not fit us in until 9.45pm.

We arrived on time and all the tables (about 8 or 10) were full. We went to the bar and there were 3 members of staff behind the bar who were all talking and seemed to be having difficulty with somebody else's order and even though we were the only people stood there they didn't acknowledge us for over five minutes. When we got their attention and advised we had booked they advised they didn't realise how busy it was going to be and a lady told us to bear with them until a table came free. We weren't too put out at this stage as we did call late and it was a small bar. So we sat at the bar waiting to be served for a drink. Nobody offered until we had to get their attention again. The second lady did apologise for this and we ordered our drinks. The music playing in the bar wasn't what we expected it sounded like Belinda Carlisle or something! We waited about 25 minutes and then a table in the corner came free as two people left. We were not impressed at this point, by the atmosphere, music in the bar or the fact they could have given us some free nibbles for the mix up and the fact we were starving! By this point one member of staff had disappeared, the other was chatting to another table and the other was busy cleaning plates in the sink (very noisily!) with her back to us and nobody was clearing the table for us to sit at. By this point we were fed up with the poor service so we decided to go elsewhere! Oh and the last part of my rant is there was no sign of any jazz and blues music, and no space for a live band in this tiny bar that was not cosy as advertised outside on the board! The one good point was the wine we ordered and the wine list were very good. However we will not be going back as if it is not a place where yo can book, they shouldn't have taken the booking and in our experience, the service was very disappointing.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aglassto, Owner at Aglassto, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2011

There's just no pleasing some people! We explained on the telephone specifically that we were unusually busy, but that we would do our best to squeeze you in and that's exactly what we were trying to do when you left. I’m not sure how to respond to your Belinda Carlise comment, what you heard certainly wasn't her as she’s not currently on our play list, but what's actually wrong with Bel's music anyway? Our music selection is eclectic, you're likely hear the Cure, Angus and Julia Stone, David Bowie, Elbow, P J Harvey, (think BBC Radio 6) all side by side and from time to time, whatever takes our or our customer’s fancy when you visit us. We’re a laid back, small bar frequented by a high percentage of regular customers who love what we do and love to spend hours in our company and the music is a big part of what they like. As for us not being ‘cosy’, this is the first word that the majority of our customers use to describe us, have no idea how you’d disagree, but you’re entitled to you opinion of course.

From a service point of view, what you have described sounds unusual to say the least. If you’d have spoken to any of my wonderful staff, enquiring about the missing ‘band’, who incidentally receive a steady stream of positive comments cards naming them in person for their fantastic service, they’d have explained that our singer had a sore throat – these things happen, as do unusually busy nights. I’m very sorry that your experience was so terrible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2011

Great bar located right in the centre of Leeds. Aglassto seems to constantly update its weekly activities /offers, is well decorated, has comfy chairs (and plenty of them!) and a wine list to die for!!

I have been on two occasions - once for a late lunch and the second time to do the quiz on a Monday night. The quiz was great – including a wine round which we all thought was a nice touch and something a bit different! The food platters are well thought out to match the wines, various levels of appetite/tastebuds and again, like the events, the menu changes regularly.

This seems to be a little discovered place that is slowly developing a loyal following. I’d highly recommend that you check it out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cowgirlcat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

always looking for a relaxed place to get a decent glass of wine and Aglassto certainly ticked all the boxes. The georgian building gives the place a wonderful boutique hotel feel. We settled down in a booth and too easily one bottle was followed by another with roasted salted almonds to keep hunger at bay. they do have lots of other tapas available but we were booked into red chilli a couple of doors down .Great to have such a lovely bar right in the city centre.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HappenUpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aglassto, General Manager at Aglassto, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2011

Hi,
Tank you so much for your review, we truely appreciate our customers feedback.
It's great to see you had a nice time with us and we hope to see you very soon to try our food next time.

Kind Regards,

Pete
Aglassto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

My girlfriend and I tried out Aglassto last Friday night after a friend at work recommended it to me. Basically, we were really impressed. They have a massive wine selection and although I went onto wine with our food, they also had a beer on draught for me to kick things off with. The staff knew their stuff, but were certainly not patronising with it. Our waitress helped us with the menu and recommended a South African Pinotage or Rioja Crianza after asking us a few questions and even let us taste both before we took the plunge on the Pinotage. We ordered a few tapas plates and a large mixed antipasto which was all really lovely and amazingly all prepared behind the bar. At the end of the meal we ordered a glass of the Crianza each, then another one and when we ended up drinking a whole bottle’s worth, we were told that we’d only be charged for the bottle rather than the more expensive by the glass price, which we both really thought was nice of them. It’s a great place for couples, but there were groups in there too. It’s definitely a place where you can here yourself talk without any queuing at the bar like so many places, especially on a Friday night and the music was really good too! If you’re in Leeds, like your wine, music and want to talk to your companions – go!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank malloryLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I visited Aglasso with my boyfriend as part of his birthday celebrations on a Saturday evening.

The atmosphere as we walked in was so cosy and welcoming - we could have literally sat there all day and night, chatting and tasting the delights on offer.

Staff were welcoming and friendly and answered any questions we had. We arrived at 6pm which was perfect as it wasn’t too busy but had enough customers in to create a warm cosy buzz to the place.

We decided to go for a bottle of something different to what we usually drink so we chose a few and then asked the waiter for his advice. He couldn't have been more helpful and clearly had extensive knowledge about the wines but wasn't overbearing with this. After his recommendation we chose to go with an English Red! it was a first for us both but it also turned out to be a new favourite.

We ordered food whilst drinking, this was staggered and allowed us not to be overwhelmed with plates. All of the plates especially the grilled camembert were delicious, fresh and plentiful. My other half would particularly recommend the Tagilata which apparently melted in the mouth.

All in all we had an amazing night - we had fantastic food, great friendly service, a cosy romantic atmosphere and gorgeous wines to drink (we ended up having two bottles) We left Aglassto feeling very happy and can't wait to go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LoveLife050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aglassto also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing