We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Day Lunch”
Review of San Carlo

San Carlo
Ranked #160 of 1,857 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
shropshire
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Christmas Day Lunch”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Had Christmas Day lunch here. It was good, but i can't say exceptional. £65 per head seems to be about average.

The menu had about 8 starters, mains & deserts. All good. It just lacked a little something that i cant quite put my finger on. It won't stop us looking forward to going back, perhaps not for Christmas though.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    202
    108
    64
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“choose your time of arrival”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I must say that we always eat here out of busy times ie. late lunch or early evening . When it is not full it is a perfect italian ristorante , tasteful decor and perfect professional italian service . When it is full it is noisy and service suffers. Not for us.

The food is good but have always been disappointed with the pizza. Stick to the meat and fish . Wine list excellent . People seem to love it for special occasions ! It is on the expensive side . No different to the equivalent London places

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ozziesyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Was good now average”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have been going to the South Parade branch of San Carlos approx every 6 weeks since they opened. At first the food was exceptional and whilst the price was high it was acceptable due to the quality of the food. Today is somewhat different, the prices are still high but the food is nowhere near as good. I also find that if I make a comment about an item there is never any offer to take the item off the bill or even to give a complimentary coffee. To me this is short sighted and must cost them business. In my case I dont go so often and dont look forward to going as the food is not special any more. The staff are always excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davidshef01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great lunch”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We really love going to San Carlos the food staff service and atmosphere is first class,we have been on new yeasts eve for the past 3 years and we are so looking forward to this year to letting 2013 in.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winniedog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Works Christmas Do!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was my second visit to San Carlos in Leeds,I have to say the staff need to remember who pays their wages!arrogant,ignorant ,uninterested and unless you are some kind of celeb you are treated as some kind of second class citizen!There are better places to go and eat in Leeds and I suggest going there rather than waste your money in San Carlos

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Carlo also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to San Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing