We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Queens is no better or worse than OK”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2010

I was on business in Leeds and my company booked me into The Queens Hotel. Let me first say that I was given no reasons to be hugely critical, but also can't find reasons to provide the hotel with a glowing report - it was just OK....

Lets start with the positives;

- extremely well located in the centre of Leeds and less than 2 minutes walk from the main railway station.
- The hotel (and my room) was clean.
- The service from the staff was really good. They were welcoming, warm, and more than happy to help & assist. In fact, this is the best thing about The Queens.

Now for the things that weren't so good;

- The rooms were pretty unextraordinary. Decor was dark and my room just looked a bit tired and drab.
- Ate dinner in the bar which was quite expensive & and nothing to write home about. Service was good but I the following day I noticed that a 10% service charge had been added to the bill and this didn't exactly bring a smile to my face.
- Good variety of breakfast options but the English Breakfast buffet wasn't very appetising. The sight of congealed, overcooked baked beans and dry, hard, fried eggs has never really done it for me!...
- Didn't get a good nights sleep and this is my biggest gripe. The room was very hot but the air conditioning worked very well. Unfortunately, I had to switch it off because it was just too noisy. Even though I was on the 5th floor I was woken twice in the wee small hours by the noise of drunken arguments - the windows did not prevent the outside noise from seeming very loud.

At a cost of £79 for a double room on a B&B rate, I think it represents pretty good value for money but, due to the noise alone, would think twice about returning.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S1Russ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerhie, Customer Service at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2010

Thank you for you’re raising your concerns, I am sorry that you had a disappointing experience with us, however on a more positive note I am pleased that you found the staff warm, welcoming and more than happy to help and assist.
Kind regards

Kerhie Harrison
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,148 - 3,154 of 3,378 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2010

I stayed here with my husband and my elderly mother for one night. From the moment we entered the hotel we were looked after.
The rooms were good (just needed an iron/board). The bar is a good size with comfatable seating and pleasant decor.
Our evening meal was eaten in the restaurant, excellent service again, the food was really good, and everyone was pleased. My mother was unwell but the chef catered for her individual needs.
Breakfast was good. I would not hestiate to stay here again.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
Thank dollywales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerhie, Customer Service at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us were well looked after; it’s always nice to receive positive feedback and I will pass on your thoughts to our Chef in particular. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Kerhie Harrison
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

WOW! My daughter and I stayed in both the Hilton Leeds City and the Queens Hotel within the space of three days. The hotels are within 300m of each other but are light years apart in terms of quality and service. (You might like to check my review of the Hilton on Tripadvisor.)

The Queens is art-nouveau/art-deco elegant, beautifully restored and as quietly efficient an hotel as you could wish for. My only negative is the room rate - but I am comparing that to similar-standard hotels I stay at around S.E. Asia rather than UK hotels. For the UK, the rate (£100 without breakfast)) was pretty good.

The wireless internet was chargeable (£7 per day) but worked well.

The reception and concierge staff were very friendly and helpful. They suggested an excellent nearby restaurant for dinner on the limited brief of "Italian".

http://www.miomodo.co.uk/

The bar is stylish and has the feel of bygone days. I had lunch there and later my daughter and I had cocktails there. Both were very enjoyable.

Since I arrived in Leeds by train and had another train to catch the next morning, the location could not have been better.

An absolute gem of a hotel and something unique.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcmahoninkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerhie, Customer Service at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our reception and concierge staff friendly and helpful; it’s always nice to receive positive feedback. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Kerhie Harrison
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

The hotel is actually part of Leeds station so as you come out of the station there it is right in front of you.The hotel was built in 1937 and has been restored to its Art Deco glory.I was on my own but was given a double room which looked out on to City Square.It was nevertheless a quiet room.The room was of a reasonable size,the bathroom was a bit on the small side.I found the bed to be very hard and woke up many times in the night.Strangely no clock in the room and the lights seemed to have a rather unusual way of being switched on.Breakfast was in a basement room.A bit odd as two thirds were brightly lit but one third was very dim.I found it very difficult to read in this area.rather unsatisfactory arrangement.The breakfast was fine the usual full English breakfast.There is free wifi in the room.however if you wanted to use the internet in the business center they wanted to charge £4 for 20minutes and £9 per hour.I found this very irritating.Hotels should include this gratis for guests.The staff were friendly and helpful.If i go to Leeds again i would definately stay at the Queens again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wingate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerhie, Customer Service at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular its location.

Thank you also for raising your concerns, I am sorry that some aspects of the hotel were not as satisfactory, it is extremely important to allow us to develop our product and services to fully understand the perception of our customers both positive and negative to enable praise or remedial action to take place.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Kerhie Harrison
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

A one night stay on business, but found the Grand more than met everything I was looking for. Arrived late, and upgraded to a suite. Distictive and bygone opulent feel about the place - disitinctly art deco on the upper floors. Swift check in and valet parking a joy. Room very comfortable and particularly clean. Restaurant fairly busy but swift, competent and very friendly staff. Dinner absolutely superb. Very comfortable night's sleep followed by a breeze through a full dining room at breakfast. Faultless check out and opened front door to find car ready right outside. Everything very accomplished, but still cheerful and offering a personal touch.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
Thank Abercorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerhie, Customer Service at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel very much to your liking, it’s always nice to receive positive comments and I will certainly pass on your thoughts to the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Kerhie Harrison Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a two day stay at this hotel and could not fault it. Rooms are adequate in size and have the benefit of a fridge. The ensuite looked as though it had recently been redecorated and had the added bonus of having lovely thick dressing gowns hanging behind the door. Only had breakfast at the hotel but again couldn't fault it. I did notice that another reviewer said that the food was lukewarm but our buffet breakfast was fine. The staff were very helpful and I really loved the decor. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmcd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerhie, Customer Service at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff both friendly and polite. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Kerhie Harrison Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

I stayed in room 214 which looks out over the main City Square. It was a large room and very quite, although at one point it interconnected to the room next door. The bed was comfortable and the room well furnished. The suitcase stand and tea tray though was wedged tightly against the side of the bed, which given the space in the room was a little strange. The bathroom was a decent size. The room was fairly cold and the aircon was stuck on management control so I couldn't change the settings. the bed was covered in sheets, so I would avoid this hotel if you prefer a duvet. Breakfast was more than adequate but the hot food was lukewarm at best. I found all the staff I encountered to be friendly and polite.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kharker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerhie, Customer Service at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in room 214, particularly as it gave you a wonderful view of City Square; and that you found our staff both friendly and polite. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Kerhie Harrison Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#25 of 87 in Leeds
2,183 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quebecs
#7 of 87 in Leeds
1,144 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#10 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $91 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing