We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Comfortable rooms But Hard Bed”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2010

The hotel is actually part of Leeds station so as you come out of the station there it is right in front of you.The hotel was built in 1937 and has been restored to its Art Deco glory.I was on my own but was given a double room which looked out on to City Square.It was nevertheless a quiet room.The room was of a reasonable size,the bathroom was a bit on the small side.I found the bed to be very hard and woke up many times in the night.Strangely no clock in the room and the lights seemed to have a rather unusual way of being switched on.Breakfast was in a basement room.A bit odd as two thirds were brightly lit but one third was very dim.I found it very difficult to read in this area.rather unsatisfactory arrangement.The breakfast was fine the usual full English breakfast.There is free wifi in the room.however if you wanted to use the internet in the business center they wanted to charge £4 for 20minutes and £9 per hour.I found this very irritating.Hotels should include this gratis for guests.The staff were friendly and helpful.If i go to Leeds again i would definately stay at the Queens again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wingate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerhie, Customer Service at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular its location.

Thank you also for raising your concerns, I am sorry that some aspects of the hotel were not as satisfactory, it is extremely important to allow us to develop our product and services to fully understand the perception of our customers both positive and negative to enable praise or remedial action to take place.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Kerhie Harrison
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,126 - 3,132 of 3,351 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2010

A one night stay on business, but found the Grand more than met everything I was looking for. Arrived late, and upgraded to a suite. Distictive and bygone opulent feel about the place - disitinctly art deco on the upper floors. Swift check in and valet parking a joy. Room very comfortable and particularly clean. Restaurant fairly busy but swift, competent and very friendly staff. Dinner absolutely superb. Very comfortable night's sleep followed by a breeze through a full dining room at breakfast. Faultless check out and opened front door to find car ready right outside. Everything very accomplished, but still cheerful and offering a personal touch.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
Thank Abercorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerhie, Customer Service at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel very much to your liking, it’s always nice to receive positive comments and I will certainly pass on your thoughts to the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Kerhie Harrison Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a two day stay at this hotel and could not fault it. Rooms are adequate in size and have the benefit of a fridge. The ensuite looked as though it had recently been redecorated and had the added bonus of having lovely thick dressing gowns hanging behind the door. Only had breakfast at the hotel but again couldn't fault it. I did notice that another reviewer said that the food was lukewarm but our buffet breakfast was fine. The staff were very helpful and I really loved the decor. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmcd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerhie, Customer Service at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff both friendly and polite. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Kerhie Harrison Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

I stayed in room 214 which looks out over the main City Square. It was a large room and very quite, although at one point it interconnected to the room next door. The bed was comfortable and the room well furnished. The suitcase stand and tea tray though was wedged tightly against the side of the bed, which given the space in the room was a little strange. The bathroom was a decent size. The room was fairly cold and the aircon was stuck on management control so I couldn't change the settings. the bed was covered in sheets, so I would avoid this hotel if you prefer a duvet. Breakfast was more than adequate but the hot food was lukewarm at best. I found all the staff I encountered to be friendly and polite.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kharker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerhie, Customer Service at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in room 214, particularly as it gave you a wonderful view of City Square; and that you found our staff both friendly and polite. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Kerhie Harrison Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Spent the Easter weekend at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it! Check in was a bit slow with only one person on the desk despite a large queue. Concierge were occupied with a large wedding party, but everyone very friendly.

We were allocated a room which turned out to be a mini suite - so thanks very much for the upgrade! Room was very clean and totally soundproofed from the noise from the station below our window.

Breakfast the next morning was in the Bar as I assume that the grill room was bursting to capacity on Sunday morning - complimentary easter eggs and crispy cakes for the sweet toothed in our party.

A big thank you to all the staff - who were know doubt put under pressure over the weekend - will definately be back!

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Pinky085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerhie, Customer Service at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us this Easter, and that you found our staff friendly. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Kerhie Harrison
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

I would strongly advise anyone to take the hotel telephone number or to be sure you know exactly how to find it as the sat nav takes you to a scrapyard in the centre of Leeds. I rang the hotel and a real star of a concierge (Daniel) talked us through the one way system then met us at the front door. Friendly and helpful check in; we decided to have an evening meal in the hotel, and we werent disappointed - again superb service, so much to choose from, and an excellent quality of locally resourced produce, three courses for 19.99, excellent value. We decided to have a meal there on our 2nd nite too as there were so many things we wanted to try. Breakfast was substantial too, lots of choice and again friendly helpful people serving. All in all, would thoroughly recommend the place, and would certainly stay here again.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank suz112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerhie, Customer Service at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our staff both friendly and helpful; I shall certainly pass on your thoughts to Daniel. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Kerhie Harrison Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

QUEENS LEEDS

My Friend and I have just returned from a weekend away in Leeds staying at the Queens Hotel.

We found the staff to be extremely helpful and cheery and the valet parking a real gem, although the room was small it was warm and very comfortable.

We found the breakfast to be very tasty with a good choice of hot & cold buffet style food.

We would make the Queens our first choice destination Hotel, would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family alike.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treacletart15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerhie, Customer Service at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found staff extremely helpful and your room comfortable. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Kerhie Harrison Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
2,157 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quebecs
#6 of 87 in Leeds
1,140 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
#9 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $90 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing