We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Business stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2006

Just thought I would let you know about my stay at the Queens.

In summary an acceptable hotel - paid £84 room only for one night.

Hotel is clean and obviously recently decorated in Art Deco stylee. Pleasant enough. Great location next to train station and in the city centre.

Waited 10 minutes to book in - only one receptionist, but checking out was very efficient.

Room was quiet, asked for iron that arrived in 5 minutes, good shower, clean - all in all a decent night's sleep. Can't comment on the food as I did not eat in the hotel.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Reception not fully staffed and room a bit on the chilly side
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SeymourButts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,368
    1,032
    406
    153
    88
See reviews for
291
1,147
177
861
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2006

A disgrace.....I arrived to be told there were no rooms available and that the Duty Manager would be with me straight away which took 40 minutes to be seen to only be told they had no reservation for me....they bumped me over to the Park Plaza which though annoying was a very enjoyable stay, although slightly more expensive at least it was only 50 yards away...though the Queens was my first choice I will now book with Park Plaza as the staff were very accomodining and friendly and their restaurant was fantastic, I think its called Chitos or chiros, not sure, but the food was unbelievable....However as the Queens had no reservation for me as I had booked it through the Internet I can understand that bookings can go wrong considering I have worked in the Hospitality Industry , I am a little upset that the staff just ignored me for 40 minutes

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank James2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2006

I stayed here recently and thought that the hotel was great for the money. Had a nice room, clean, quiet and comfortable. I ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was very nice. Had a drink in the bar where the staff were superb. I ordered breakfast to be served in my room and it arrived on time, exactly what I'd ordered and hot. What makes the hotel really is the attitude of the staff. All of the ones I had contact with went out of their way to be polite, helpful and engaging but not intrusive. I was extremely impressed and would definately use the hotel again.

  • Liked — staff service
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2006

I stayed at this hotel recently for one night on business. The receptionist was careful to ensure that my room number was not overheard by anyone as I was a female travelling alone.
Unfortunately, they later allocated my room to somebody else resulting in me waking up to find a stranger entering my room at 9:30pm-not a pleasant experience when you are a female on your own!
Reception and the.duty manager apologised and re-programmed the keys but unfortunately I rather got the impression that whilst they apologised for the genuine mistake they failed to appreciate the effect of how vunerable it made me feel as a lone female staying in the hotel and the potential consequences.
Other than that, the conchierce was very friendly and helpful as was the confrence manager.

  • Liked — friendly concheirce
  • Disliked — double booking!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank zebeddaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2006

Stayed here for one night for a weekend break in Leeds. We had previously stayed at another hotel in the chain (and had been very impressed) and so decided to take advantage of a special offer in some marketing material we had been sent.

The hotel was slightly difficult to find from the directions we had but on phoning the hotel from the car we were put through to the concierge who stayed on the phone to direct us once in city centre - very helpful. He then came out to meet us to guide us down to the car park which gets full very quickly but we did manage to get one of the last spaces.

The location was great - shops, restaurants and bars all nearby. The room was nice if not quite as big as expected (I think we were spoilt in our last stay at one of these hotels) and breakfast was a very good meal - fresh hot food even though we arrived towards the end of the service.

All in all I would recommend this hotel particularly if you can take advantage of one of the special rates.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chica1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNDERLAND ENGLAND
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2006

Last weekend we stayed at Queens which has been refurbished to an excellent standard in the art deco fashion.The hotel has a lovely atmosphere,the rooms are clean & comfortable & the only noise I heard was from some excitable kids who were attending an afternoon wedding.The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice but with the usual 5 to 10 minute wait to be seated on a busy Sunday morning.The best thing about the hotel, which in our opinion made this hotel memorable, was the lovely friendly staff, in particular the concierges who seemed intent on showing a little bit of old fashioned hospitalty.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SHELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2006

We (a young couple) went to the Queens in Aug 2006 for a football and shopping weekend. The Queens was an excellent hotel with staff that are very friendly- from the recpetion staff to the porters and bar staff. Hotel was very clean and the cleaners had our room spotless each morning.

The Queens may not be a new hotel in design but it is well kept and has an old classy feel to it. The breakfasts were delecious - a fine choice of cereal, fruit, juice and a full English breakfast.

Thing to watch out for- the playstation in the room is quite dear and in very fine print (which we didn't see until afterwards) on the television manual it showed the cost of using it. In the end we could've bought a new game for the cost of it! Probably our own fault rather than the hotels!

We got a summer break deal that was fantastic value for money, so all in all, we were delighted- a high class hotel for a great price.

  • Liked — Central location and style fo the hotel
  • Disliked — Bar is quite dear.
  • Tips/Secrets — Wait for special deals to get the best value.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nmcloug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Quebecs
#7 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Property: The Queens - Leeds
Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing