We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay at the Queens”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good stay at the Queens”
Reviewed November 3, 2008

My partner and i enjoyed our brief stay at the Queens last Saturday night.

The hotel is in a fantastic location for the city centre and our room was clean with a good bed and power shower.

My only warning is that rooms on the front of the hotel suffer from traffic noise as there is no double glazing - so not really suitable if you are a light sleeper looking for an early night.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Traffic noise
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0u_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,459
    1,084
    419
    159
    96
See reviews for
307
1,220
183
909
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

As a regular visitor to Leeds, this was the first time I'd stayed at the Queens (the decision being helped by a promotional rate on their website).

The Queens, like The Midland in Manchester, is a former railway hotel now managed by QHotels, and the location (adjacent to the station) couldn't be better.

Unfortunately, even on the fifth floor, external noise is an issue if, like I was, you're at the front of the hotel, as it doesn't have double glazing fitted.

Only having stayed one night, I didn't see much of the staff, but those I had dealings with were pleasant and helpful.

There was a slight issue at breakfast, with most of the guests descending en masse at around 9:30am, though that may have been to do with the end of Summer Time. As a result, a number of guests ended up in the Bar for breakfast, rather than the Restaurant.

The standard rooms are, I have to say, on a par with those found in "budget" chains, albeit with the addition of a trouser press and Shampoo, Conditioner and Shower Gel in the bathroom. The bed, however, was nice and firm, offering good support and a good night's sleep.

Overall, the Queens is a very nice hotel and I'd certainly stay there again, though I'd opt for a Deluxe room next time.

  • Liked — Location and value for money
  • Disliked — Standard rooms are a little small
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SouthPaw1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

we stayed for one night on 25/10/08 we were a party of four,the hotel was of a good standard [the rooms a little dark for the other couple but i liked the decor] the breakfast was very good but what made this hotel was the staff,they could not have been more helpfull and friendly,as were all the staff in the town centre.[all young i may add] we will be returning to leeds for longer next time

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterboxall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2008

Having lived in Leeds some years ago the last time I was at the Queens it was a run of the mill hotel. I chose it for my stay in Leeds to attend a function due to its proximity to the station and was pleasantly surprised from the moment I walked in. The room was much larger than normal, well furnished and with a huge bathroom. All the facilities needed for a weekend were there - toiletries, tea/ coffee, hairdryer etc.
The hotel is excellently placed for restaurants and bars and also for shopping.
If you need some very late night grub Macdonalds within the station is open till 2am.
Both check in and check out were quick. All in all I recommend the Queens as a stylish and reasonably priced hotel close to all the action.

  • Liked — Room size and facilities
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank WarwickshirePussycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

We have stayed at the Queens a couple of times and cannot fault it. On this visit we were upgraded to a junior suite on the eight floor nice,large and peaceful. The decor is art noeveau style and appears a bit old fashioned however thats just a matter of taste. What we like most about this hotel is the overall standards. Clean well maintained rooms, friendly professional staff and a well cooked breakfast. The concierge were so lovely and helpful one of them even offered to pick up a takaway for us and bring it to our room, {we were too shattered after shoping to dine out , what a lovely gesture). Some of the 'Boutique Style' Hotels that we have often stayed in could learn a lot from the Queens.Old school basics are often lost to 'fur coats with no knickers' but this is not the case at the Queens.

  • Liked — Sandards
  • Disliked — Decor
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-DsReviews4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Great location right in the city centre, friendly helpful staff. Good sized room and bathroom. Bed comfortable and room generally well equipped. Good for long or short weekend and priced reasonably. Would use again.

  • Liked — room size
  • Disliked — a little run down
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HampshireDdddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2008

Had a one night stay here (the hotel upgraded us to a deluxe room for some reason!) The room was a good size and with a fab view over City Square in Leeds so we were right in the middle of all the action. The room was ok but we were glad we hadn't paid the deluxe room rate. However we had room service deliver us breakfast - this is definitely a must as it was fantastic!!! Valet parking (£16) was a big bonus in the centre of Leeds and they took the car from the front of the hotel and brought it back within 10 minutes of asking. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susie101york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#22 of 87 in Leeds
2,021 reviews
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,091 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Property: The Queens - Leeds
Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing