We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and functional”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I spent one night at the hotel for a work event and was generally impressed, although I had to wait an age to be seated at breakfast!

The room was clean and had everyone I needed - and a very large, comfortable bed. Would recommend it for its location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Joe R

Thank you for posting a review of your stay, I was very pleased that on the whole you had an enjyoable stay with us and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manaer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,949 - 1,955 of 3,350 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of January as breakaway club members, in a QStar Double Room. we had asked for a King Bed when booking the room but when we got there it was only a double bed.
We had a member of staff who helped us and he was called David Walker, he was so helpful, really nice, couldn't do enough to make sure your stay was the very best, (so thanks David for all your help).
If i have to moan and i really don't like to, it would be that we was only down for 1 nights stay, so the 2nd day our key card cut off leaving us outside our room locked out, with no telephones on the 8th floor corridor to phone down, it meant going back to reception to change the key card.
Another luxury i liked about the Qstar room was the turn down service they offer, we have stayed in other hotels that offer this too, but unfortunately it was never done for the 2 nights of our stay.
As we had the use of the 8th floor exec lounge, we knew there was newspapers in there, usually when you have a Q Star room you get a newspaper in your room of your choice, i was disappointed to find on both days only 2 newspapers available, both political papers.
On the first evening i got makeup on my pillow, when the room was cleaned i was surprised that she left the pillow case on by turning the pillow over.
The drinks in the Q Club are very good, but during the day there was only water, tea & coffee available, no other soft drinks like other hotels that have the exec lounge do.
The staff are so lovely, and friendly from the reception staff, concierge, and restaurant staff.
We will definatly stay again, Leeds is great for shopping.

Room Tip: Book the 8th floor worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear peter S

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, I was particulary pleased that the team were able to rectify the issues raised, I will certainly pass on your kind thoughts to David who I am sure will find them a great source of motivation.

I do hope you have the opportunity of visiting us again soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed at the Queens Hotel for a charity function. it is ideally situated next to (in fact seemingly a part of) the Leeds City Centre Railway station which is ideal for rail travel.
If you drive, park up outside the hotel, unload and the car will be taken away and parked by the hotel for around £16 per night in their secure compound. I beleive there is a cheaper option on the station car park, but stories varied re security. On departure collecting the car can take 15 to 20 minutes from when you request the car to be brought back. Then it is parked on the access road for you to load and drive away.
Location - fall out of the hotel and you are in the city. You are literally two minutes away from the new city centre shopping mall and everything is around you.
Accommodation - Rooms are comfortable and generally well appointed with impressively painted cielings. They have a certain old charm with a hint of former grandeur. Beware the lift though - it is so slow it could be hand cranked!
The staff - are helpful and seemingly enjoying their jobs - and the food was excellent despite it being at avery large fuinction. Breakfast too was excellent and plentiful and they did their best to esnure everyone was well satisfied before they closed up the next morning.
all in all and excellent expereience and an ideal location to visit teh Leeds City, which is vibrant and compact in itself.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, to be on the safe side choose a room away from the front, although we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarringtonSilverfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear WarringtonSilverFox

Thank you for posting your comprehensive review and for sharing your thoughts with the wider travelling community. I was thrilled to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that the team were able to exceed expectations, I will certainly pass on your kind thoughts to them.

I do hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Next to the lift shaft with my head right next to the lift going up and down all night. No air con that functions, stuffy room, felt like 90 degrees all night. Then turn on the (cheap) shower and no hot water. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graysie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear graysie

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan. I am confident had you spoken with any member of our team they would have done everything possible to alleviate any disappointment experience and rectified the issues raised.

I will certainly address the comments made and hope that this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel and that you will allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at the Queens hotel for two nights in January 2014. The staff were very accommodating from when we first arrived with a chauffeur service on arrival. The building is great with lots of character . Thoroughly enjoyed our stay . Great central location .

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Natalie C

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Queens, I was thrilled to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards


Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for a 2 day conference. Firstly I would like to say a big thank to all the staff and managers who helped in putting together a professional and superb conference for our delegates, they made us feel very welcome and could not do enough to make sure our event ran smoothly. The food was fabulous as was my room in QClub! I would definitely recommend The Queens Hotel for any event.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theshires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Theshires

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your thoughts with the wider travelling community. I was thoroughly delighted to hear that we exceeded expectations and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I was on the 1st floor on a Saturday night and it was very noisy with people returning from pubs and clubs to get taxis and trains. The shower was good and in general the staff were friendly. The room was not very clean with hairs in the bathroom and the bedroom. Would definitely consider going elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't get a 1st floor room or a room that faces the station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear James S

I was very sorry to learn that you had a disappointing stay wth us and that not everything went according to plan, I can at this late stage only apologise for the frustrations and disappointment caused.

I will certainly address your concerns with our executive chef and assure you that this is not our usual standard of quality or service. I am sorry too that you were disturbed by some of our city life, unfortunately as a city centre hotel we can on rare occasions experience noise levels. The hotel does have secondary glazing and the levels rarely disturb our guests however I can assess from your comments that secondary glazing failed to help on this occasion.

I do hope that you will give us an opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back some time in the near future.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
2,156 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quebecs
#6 of 87 in Leeds
1,140 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
#9 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $91 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing