We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't stay here again!”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Just looked at the hotels website!!!! My bedroom definitely does not look like the standard room shown and described. Misleading your customers!!!

rooms in my opinion are below standard!

Thus is what they advertise ....

'There's nothing standard about any of our standard guest rooms. They're large, beautifully decorated with modern furnishings, comfortable and equipped with everything you need to chill out.

En-suite facilities including bath and showerFree internet access - so don't forget your laptop!Trouser press or ironing facilitiesTea and coffee making facilitiesHairdryerFlat screen TV with selected Sky channels and pre-pay moviesDirect dial telephoneRoom service menuAir conditioningQ-signature bed'


I checked in this evening and looking forward to checking out in the morning!!!!

I will never stay in this hotel again-rooms are not great and the bedding is disgusting!!!! I dont feel clean staying here!

I have stayed in QHotels (Cheltenham Chase) on many many many occasions (I used to stay there for two weeks at a time consistently) so thought you would be a safe bet! Very very very disappointed!

Hotel looks fab online... I selected it for its close proximity to my business venue. Its literally next door to Leeds Train Station so that was great. Checked-in, reception looked very nice.... Went up to my room 637... In less than a moment I was on the phone to reception to ask to change rooms... The room depressed me and I could not even bear to spend a minute in it let alone the night! The bedding was awful - cheap and badly needs changing!!! Charlie was very good and agreed for me to change rooms with no fuss at all. I am literally now in room 632 which had a better feel to it but its still old fashioned and cheap looking.

I did book a double bed and I am now in a single bed and the bedding is awful... The duvet is as thin as a pancake - if this is the standard of bedding in the hotel then I am annoyed that it takes a guest to have to raise it as an issue and that housekeeping management have not taken responsibility to deal with it! Looking forward to checking out in the morning... I will never stay here again and would not recommend it! The only thing I am happy with is that wifi is free and unlimited!

An unhappy guest,

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank austinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear austinfamily

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive review, I was sorry however to read that you had a disappointing stay with us. As you stated, we did everything we could to ensure your stay was more pleasing and apologise that you were left uninspired by your Art Deco surroundings; as per my correspondence this is sometimes a matter of taste and 1930s decor is not to everyone's liking.

I was pleased however that you were offered alternative bedroom and hope that my offer of a return visit in an upgraded room will go some way to restoring your faith in our hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,032 - 2,038 of 3,378 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

Nice clean hotel,clean comfortable bed, good English breakfast , No complaints,I was worried about parking but they do offer valet parking so not an issue
Will return when next in Leeds, short walk to Harvey nicks and the fabulous Victorian arcades

Room Tip: Use the valet parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tileman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Tileman_13

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, delighted you had a good stay with us, looking forward to seeing you in the new year.

Regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed with my family in connecting superior rooms. Rooms were clean (apart from under the beds where I had to go to retrieve a star wars figure my grandson had placed there). Staff were helpful. Parking difficult (hotel car park full and was directed to another alledgedly charging £5 per day. This was true but did not start until 5 pm on a Friday evening and runs over the weekend. We checked in at 4.20 pm on Friday and were charged £17.50 for one hour forty minutes on the Friday evening - hotel needs to check out the information that they are providing). Food was fine. Location is excellent for city centre access and this was why we stayed here again.Noise from traffic can be a problem due to secondary glazing rather than double glazing and we could not cool the rooms down despite having been shown as air con seemed to have been switched off centrally.

Room Tip: Arrive early to get a hotel parking place (may charge for valet parking) or park on street and pay l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamWrawby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear WilliamWrawby

Thanky you for posting your review, happy to see that you had a good stay with us, thank you too for the information regarding parking, I will certainly pass on the details to our front of house team.

I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Went to the First Direct Arena to the BBC Sports Personality Awards & booked this hotel in advance.What a good choice this turned out to be. We were upgraded to the Executive floor in a suite & I can only say what a wonderful room. Loads of room & beautifully set out. The staff were also very helpful & could not do enough for you. The hotel itself is full of character & charm & I cannot fault it in anyway. Situated within a 5 minute walk of the town centre so everything you need is here. We will definitely stay here again should the opportunity arise.

Room Tip: Within a 5 minute walk of the City Centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul01543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Paul01543

Sounds like you had an amazing time, what a treat, Sports Personality of the Year and QClub. do visit us again soon; maybe Tour de France, Leeds is certainly the place to be

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

If you like clean line, modern boutique hotels with no character then this hotel is not for you. The hotel has kept it's Art Deco charm and quirkiness. Bedrooms:- Average size, clean and good facilities - fridge, TV, tea/coffee, hairdryer etc. We had a front facing room and did not find it noisy at all, but it was a Sunday night so it might have been quieter than a saturday! Bathrooms:- on the small size, the bath is very small and the plastic shower curtains let it down. Reception:- Friendly and quick check-in. Bar area:- nice, relaxing atmosphere, drinks prices what you'd expect in a hotel. Breakfast:- Amazing! It was one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had. The food was a good quality (no cheap sausages), plenty of choice and attentive staff.
Overall:- The stay was very pleasant, I love the old Art Deco feel of the hotel. The only negative I have was the shower curtain, but in the grand scheme of things this is just a minor niggle.
Would defo recommend if you like oldy worldy hotels!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear SFeather

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review, I was delighted to read you had a wonderful stay with us and hope that we will see you soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed at the hotel on 21st November we booked nine rooms as we were having a works do in Leeds. On arrival I asked if I could leave a box with them and collect when we return after our night out as the box contained gifts for people. The staff said yes no problem and that the box would be safe as only staff have access to the room. Upon our return that night I asked for the box and when I opened it one of the bottles had been stolen from it. I reported this to the night manager who said if you buy another and get the receipt we will reimburse the cost. The next morning I spoke to the day manager and said I was unhappy to buy another bottle at which time they said would you like us to replace it. Which they did.

It is such a shame of my experience as the hotel was really nice and the rooms where spacious. And the valet parking for £16 is a nice added touch. I would like to return to the hotel however I have had no feedback from the hotel such as telephone call/letter of apology since this which I think is terrible customer service considering one of their staff stole from me.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank gary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear gary r

I am genuinely saddened that the hotel, on this occasion, was exposed to the elements of a modern society, I'm afraid prudence with regards to personal belongings is sadly required. I do hope that this one off experience has not tainted your view of the hotel and I was pleased to read that we were at least able to replace the item for you.

I hope we get the opportunity to restore your faith and look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed a night at the Queens and can't wait to return. Hotel staff were very friendly and the rooms so comfortable. The hotel is a stunning piece of history and step out of the door and you have easy access to all that Leeds has to offer

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y0rkshireLass40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Y0rkshireLass40

And we very much looking forward to welcoming you back, thank you

Warm regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#25 of 87 in Leeds
2,184 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quebecs
#7 of 87 in Leeds
1,144 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#10 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $91 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing