We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed with my family in connecting superior rooms. Rooms were clean (apart from under the beds where I had to go to retrieve a star wars figure my grandson had placed there). Staff were helpful. Parking difficult (hotel car park full and was directed to another alledgedly charging £5 per day. This was true but did not start until 5 pm on a Friday evening and runs over the weekend. We checked in at 4.20 pm on Friday and were charged £17.50 for one hour forty minutes on the Friday evening - hotel needs to check out the information that they are providing). Food was fine. Location is excellent for city centre access and this was why we stayed here again.Noise from traffic can be a problem due to secondary glazing rather than double glazing and we could not cool the rooms down despite having been shown as air con seemed to have been switched off centrally.

Room Tip: Arrive early to get a hotel parking place (may charge for valet parking) or park on street and pay l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamWrawby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear WilliamWrawby

Thanky you for posting your review, happy to see that you had a good stay with us, thank you too for the information regarding parking, I will certainly pass on the details to our front of house team.

I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,454
    1,083
    419
    159
    96
See reviews for
306
1,219
183
908
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Went to the First Direct Arena to the BBC Sports Personality Awards & booked this hotel in advance.What a good choice this turned out to be. We were upgraded to the Executive floor in a suite & I can only say what a wonderful room. Loads of room & beautifully set out. The staff were also very helpful & could not do enough for you. The hotel itself is full of character & charm & I cannot fault it in anyway. Situated within a 5 minute walk of the town centre so everything you need is here. We will definitely stay here again should the opportunity arise.

Room Tip: Within a 5 minute walk of the City Centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul01543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Paul01543

Sounds like you had an amazing time, what a treat, Sports Personality of the Year and QClub. do visit us again soon; maybe Tour de France, Leeds is certainly the place to be

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

If you like clean line, modern boutique hotels with no character then this hotel is not for you. The hotel has kept it's Art Deco charm and quirkiness. Bedrooms:- Average size, clean and good facilities - fridge, TV, tea/coffee, hairdryer etc. We had a front facing room and did not find it noisy at all, but it was a Sunday night so it might have been quieter than a saturday! Bathrooms:- on the small size, the bath is very small and the plastic shower curtains let it down. Reception:- Friendly and quick check-in. Bar area:- nice, relaxing atmosphere, drinks prices what you'd expect in a hotel. Breakfast:- Amazing! It was one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had. The food was a good quality (no cheap sausages), plenty of choice and attentive staff.
Overall:- The stay was very pleasant, I love the old Art Deco feel of the hotel. The only negative I have was the shower curtain, but in the grand scheme of things this is just a minor niggle.
Would defo recommend if you like oldy worldy hotels!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear SFeather

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review, I was delighted to read you had a wonderful stay with us and hope that we will see you soon.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel on 21st November we booked nine rooms as we were having a works do in Leeds. On arrival I asked if I could leave a box with them and collect when we return after our night out as the box contained gifts for people. The staff said yes no problem and that the box would be safe as only staff have access to the room. Upon our return that night I asked for the box and when I opened it one of the bottles had been stolen from it. I reported this to the night manager who said if you buy another and get the receipt we will reimburse the cost. The next morning I spoke to the day manager and said I was unhappy to buy another bottle at which time they said would you like us to replace it. Which they did.

It is such a shame of my experience as the hotel was really nice and the rooms where spacious. And the valet parking for £16 is a nice added touch. I would like to return to the hotel however I have had no feedback from the hotel such as telephone call/letter of apology since this which I think is terrible customer service considering one of their staff stole from me.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank gary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear gary r

I am genuinely saddened that the hotel, on this occasion, was exposed to the elements of a modern society, I'm afraid prudence with regards to personal belongings is sadly required. I do hope that this one off experience has not tainted your view of the hotel and I was pleased to read that we were at least able to replace the item for you.

I hope we get the opportunity to restore your faith and look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed a night at the Queens and can't wait to return. Hotel staff were very friendly and the rooms so comfortable. The hotel is a stunning piece of history and step out of the door and you have easy access to all that Leeds has to offer

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y0rkshireLass40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Y0rkshireLass40

And we very much looking forward to welcoming you back, thank you

Warm regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hotel seems to attract the most positive and the most negative reviews. On the grounds that beauty is in the eye of the beholder, I can only speak as I find.

Like your recent contributor from London, I am a very regular user of hotels, most often for business but also for leisure. I was at the time of my visit neither deluded nor drugged nor is my experience of hotels limited to run down B&Bs (I have not visited Calcutta, so am unable to comment).

Unlike the contributor, I did not find the Queen's outdated. This hotel prides itself on maintaining its Art Deco architecture and decor of the period, which gives it more character than the bland boxes of the 1960's and 70's. The grandeur is by no means faded, as the carpets and furnishings in the areas I saw were clearly quite new or very well maintained, while in the style of the 1930's.

Neither did I find it grubby or noisy - Maybe I was lucky.......the hotel was not full and I believe I was upgraded (although I was just promised "a nice room") into a small suite which was very comfortable, quiet and offered an excellent night's sleep.

The staff I encountered were all friendly and efficient, both the recptionist on check-in and in particular the concierge, who offered directions to several restaurants. It could not be bettered. Perhaps my one minor criticism would be the housekeeping practice of knocking on the doors as early as 08.00 ........... some leisure guests might appreciate a lie-in.

Breakfast was of a higher standard than the usual offerings, but I must admit that the queue was the longest I have seen for a while. Maybe the hotel needs two people on duty at peak times.

The location is superb; arriving in Leeds by train after 20.00 for a meeting the next morning, it was good to be straight out of the station and into the hotel. Equally good was to find restaurants for every taste within 5 minutes' walk, and all the leisure and shopping facilities so close at hand.

I hope to be visiting Leeds on a regular basis, and do not believe I need to try anywhere else (unless the prices rise above my budget when the hotel is busier).

Room Tip: Several contributors mentioned the noisy lifts, so it is probably worth asking to be away from that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellensian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear wellensian

Thankyou for your constructive feedback, I was absolutely delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and can assure you that this is certainly the level of service and standards the team strive to achieve. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back some time in the future.

Kindest regards


Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLITHEROE, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Queens to attend a family wedding, There are some things you can take for granted in most hotels, Like quality of service clean room clean sheets and pillow cases. This hotel ticked all the right boxes, The Bars downstairs were open to the public and obviously guests. I did find the bar staff very efficient and the queues at the bar were dealt with very quickly. The Wedding reception, I would give this hotel a high rating excellent food , and again very prompt service, And the quality of food was just what you expected. The Hotel also provided the evening reception, They provided what is now a firm favourite the bacon sandwich, There is always a worry that the food will run out or perhaps you have not ordered enough. The queens hotel kept producing as much bacon sandwiches as requested. I was very impressed not only with the hotel but the City of Leeds excellent shopping and services not to dissimilar as you would find in central London. I would have no worries about booking again in this Superb quality hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear simon E

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I was delighted that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us recently. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back some time in the future.

Kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
2,015 reviews
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,091 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Property: The Queens - Leeds
Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing