We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend stay in Leeds”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We could not have asked for a better hotel for our stay in Leeds which we visited for a family wedding. We had three nights at The Queens Hotel, two adults and four small children, including two babies. All the staff, from the receptionist, concierge and the waiting staff in the breakfast room, were fantastic and could not have been more helpful. It made our stay so pleasant that we will definitely return in the near future. A big thank you to everyone there

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJ1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear LJ1946

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and for sharing your thoughts with the wider travelling community. I was thrilled to read you and your family had a truly wonderful stay with us recently. I will certainly pass on your kind thoughts to the team as I am sure they will find them a great source of motivation.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,131 - 2,137 of 3,304 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night, booked a few weeks in advance and got a good deal! Room was clean and tidy, the air con although working was a bit poor, bathroom clean with travel sized toiletries. Iron and board in room lots of draw space. Bed really comfy. Am sure it advertised hair dryer in room but I didn't find one!!! Location perfect right opposite leeds trinity shopping centre and next to train station (didn't hear one train). 10/15 min walk from coach station. Would I stay here again???...... yes!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear karen1426

Thank you for your constructive review, I was pleased to read that on the whole you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed for one night for the Springsteen concert. Staff were exceptionally welcoming without being over the top. We arrived before 12, but as a room was available we were checked in. Valet parking was extremely efficient and the concierges very knowledgeable. Room was very comfortable and quiet. Good wifi signal in room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear eevie

Thank you for your review, delighted you had a wonderful stay with us and how lucky to be one of the first to sample the new Leeds Arena, fantastic. Do visit us again soon.

Warmest regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Always a great hotel to use in Leeds. It has a central location for all shops, bars and restaurants as well as being next to the train station, what more can you ask for? The decor in all areas is lovely and the bedrooms/bathrooms are very well maintained and clean. The staff are all extremely friendly and efficient. Would recommend you book bed and breakfast at the Queens as the breakfast is second to none, huge choice of food for all tastes and the staff in the restaurant are so polite and efficient. Another excellent stay at the Queens!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Helen L

I am thrilled to read you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us recently and found the location to be perfect for all your needs. Delighted too that you enjoyed our true Yorkshire breakfast and very much look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

was just a flying visit to leeds whilst following the springsteen tour round the country.
arrived a little before check in time but room was ready, no problem with check in, quick & easy.

room overlooked city square, was your average double room in a building of its age, nothing special about it but clean & comfortable, everything in working order. despite a sign on the window asking that it should not be opened there was a couple of cigarette ends on the window sill outside.
the shower let it down slightly, although a very good shower with only a curtain on the bath the water ran off the edge & pooled on the floor. this is a particular bug bear to me as im a plumber & its not a hard problem to resolve.

didn't use the restaurant so cant comment

I wasn't aware the hotel had a car park & parked in the multi storey beside station, be aware this car park charges £17 per day, no hourly rate is available. no problem for me as I was not using the car during my stay although im sure others have been caught out by this. hotel car park was £15 per day
cant fault the location of the hotel.

booked through bookings.com @ £43 a night, cant really fault it at that price

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotsdunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear scotsdunc

Thank you for your comprehensive review, as you say the hotel does have secure on-site parking for as little as £15.95 per 24 hours. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

stayed here last weekend for a shopping trip, thought the hotel was fabulous, lovely décor throughout, great breakfast and I must mention how friendly the staff were , every single one of them.
very impressed with the little passageway that leads directly into leeds station

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katybeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear katybeauty

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your thoughts with the wider travelling community. I was thrilled to read you had a superb stay with us and able too to experience some marvelous retail therapy. Do visit us again soon.

Warmest regards
Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night this week - as a single traveller going to the Bruce Springsteen concert at the new Leeds Arena. I arrived prior to check-in time of 3pm and was quickly checked into my single room by 1pm. I immediately required an extension lead for my special (hearing impaired) alarm clock and there was no plug next to the bed. There was one at my door just a few minutes after phoning down to reception. The room and ensuite bathroom was very clean, with kettle and hairdryer etc and air conditioning that you would expect. I later requested some more milks for my room - again no quibbles. The reception staff went out their way to help.
Only thing I would fault is that there was no full length mirror in the room (diva me !!!), and the lifts were a bit slow.
The conceige service was also very helpful - explained the quickest way to walk to the arena, and looked after my bag after I checked out the following day till my train was due.
This hotel looks a bit dreary from the outside compared to others in this chain, but inside is remarkably 1930's kinda plush.
Excellent location - next door to the train station and on the edge of all the shops. 15 min walk to the arena.
Would definately stay there again next time I go to a gig at the arena.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LissyScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear LissyScarborough

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I hope you enjoyed Bruce Springsteen as much as you enjoyed your stay. How wonderful that you have had the opportunity to experience the Arena.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 87 in Leeds
2,105 reviews
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#9 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $95 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing