We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Grand!”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a business trip. Located right in the heart of the City centre. This is a very GRAND hotel! Reminded me of the Aldelphi in Liverpool if anyone has stayed there. Great service and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allypears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear allypears

Thank you for posting your review, delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us, do visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,273 - 2,279 of 3,349 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

Initial thoughts of the hotel were wonderful, great location, very friendly staff and a really nice lobby. Room was well laid out and plently of space (though not in the bathroom). In fact the bath is very short, and not really usable for relaxing.

Overnight was kept awake due to the lift (very noisy) being directly opposite the room. Friendly staff once again stepped in and moved my room to the 5th floor. However in this one the air con is faulty (not a massive problem as can open the window), and did not want to raise an issue again.

Ordered room service as I had to work late into the evening, a vegetarian pizza, and some chunky chips. Price on the menu £15.50, price on receipt £19 (not a clue why). Unfortunatly this was very bland and tasteless and a £1 supermarket pizza would have easily satisfied more.

I have two more nights in the hotel and whilst I am looking forward to the sleep, I will not be risking the food pricing further.

Final thoughts. If you can get a cheap enough price for the hotel then stay by all means, but avoid room service, request a room away from the lifts, and be prepared to pay £15.95 per day to park your car.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Peter B

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive and concise review. I was pleased to read you found the hotel location perfect for exploring the city however I am sorry that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by our lifts, we do everything possible to ensure our guests are not disturbed and on this rare occasion I can see that we were not successful in our endeavours.

With regard to your comments in relation to Room Service, it is customary for hotels to charge a tray service, which is why upon receipt of your order there was an additional charge of £3.50. I am sorry that this was not explained to you at the time however it does state this quite clearly on the room service menus in your room.

The hotel does offer secure valet parking for our guests at an additional charge of £15.95 per night, again stipulated on our website; I can assure you that pricing is in line with the commercial car parks located nearby.

Thank you again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I visited this hotel on a work trip and I was very pleased by the location. It was about a 30 second walk from the train station which was handy. My room was nice and comfortable. The only negative thing I have to say is that the elevator was quite loud, as my room was nearly across the hall from the doors and I could hear it constantly opening and closing. Other than that, I really enjoyed it. Nice art deco design. Nicest hotel my work has booked for me yet!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Courtney L

Thank you for posting your review, I was delighted that on the whole you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and very much enjoyed the Art Deco surroundings. Lets hope you’re working in the area soon for a return visit.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Nice enough hotel, I remember it 20 years ago when it was really high end, but now it is a little tired but it is still perfectly decent, well located for the city centre and valet parking which is handy. I would say it is a mid range 4 star hotel , nothing flash but on a par with Hilton and Radisson

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Neal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear NealM

Thank you for your feedback and for sharing that you had a good stay at the hotel. I do hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a return visit which did not disappoint. Such a good location in what is now a really vibrant city both for shopping and night life. Right next to the station and near the new Trinity shopping centre, you cant ask for a better place. Lovely art deco hotel with clean, functional rooms and very friendly staff. Would visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cambio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dera cambio

First of all many thanks for returning to our hotel and for taking the time to post a review. I am very pleased with your comment as it demonstrates that our entire team has a truly caring attitude, which was a big reason in you staying with us again.

Warmest regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Spent two nights at the Queens celebrating our silver wedding anniversary, every member of staff that we met was extremely helpful and pleasant. Upon check-in our room was upgraded and 5 mins after we arrived in our room David gave us a card and an invite to join him for a drink in the bar. Whilst we enjoyed our complimentary drink he offered to book us a table at a restaurant of our choice.
I cannot recommend the Queens highly enough, in fact I found everyone in Leeds from shop assistants to restaurant staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwenda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear gwenda E

Firstly, happy anniversary and thank you for choosing The Queens to help you celebrate such a momentous occasion. Thank you for your lovely review, do visit us again soon.

Warmest regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very nice hotel. All staff fabulous.
Rooms very clean and location couldn’t be better. You have direct access to the Train station.
Things I didn’t like:
Shower very weak
Reception can take up to 3 minutes to answer calls. Including room service.
Beds too soft (you may like this)
Minibar only had 1 of every item. So we had to call down if 2 people needed a beer. Hence ringing for 3 mins.
8th floor worth it as the 8th floor residents gets sole use of the lounge include free drinks between 6 – 8 PM
Only paid £130.00 per night so I can’t complain too much.
Worth a try if you can’t afford the Radisson blu leeds

Room Tip: choose room 817 its the largest room in the hotel,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick_antoniou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear nick_antoniou

Thank you for your constructive and concise review, I was very pleased to read that on the whole you had a wonderful stay with us at The Queens. I have taken on board your comments relating to shower pressure and would welcome the opportunity to investigate further as per my PM to you.

I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back some time soon.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 87 in Leeds
2,155 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quebecs
#6 of 87 in Leeds
1,138 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#9 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $92 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing