We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel. Good stay”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel. Good stay”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Very well presented hotel. Decor is lovely.
Rooms were very nice. Comfortable and got a good nights sleep.
Bar area is also very nice, with a slightly old fashion feel to it (in a good way!)
Breakfast area was also very nice (as was the food), although it is a little snug down there.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Alwyn L

Thank you for your lovely review of The Queens. I am thrilled you had a super stay with us and that you would recommend our hotel to others. We look forward to making you welcome again soon.

Warmest regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,420
    1,071
    411
    158
    92
See reviews for
300
1,195
182
888
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here as part of a company booking so i had the chance to see a few different rooms.

Really enjoyed the 8th floor room however there's an issue in the hotel with the standard of the basic rooms. What they don't advertise is they have refurbished and non refurbished rooms for the same price so i'd reccommend you to phone the hotel and request one of the reburbished rooms for the same price. Those rooms are in need of a refurbishment.

Most of the staff was pleasant.

Found the Valet service very useful as it's impossible to park anywhere else. However the car park in the station which is just a few minutes away is a lot cheaper during weekends. The concierge who helped me, Dominic i think, was very helpful.

The biggest issue comming with the car is the postcode on the website which won't take you to the hotel but somewhere really far from it. When you call them they give you an alternative postcode which does take you there. Why can't they explain that on the website? The could improve so much with that!

And forgot to mention the lack of leisure facilities, no gym!

Room Tip: upgrade to Qclub on 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iknowhereitsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Iknowhereitsat

Thank you for your comprehensive review of your stay, I was happy to read that you on the whole you very much enjoyed your stay, particularly QClub, our executive suite of rooms on the 8th floor. Thank you too for your kind comments, I will certainly pass on your remarks to Dominic and the team. You will also be pleased to know that that the alternate postcode to use when travelling with sat nav is now on QHotels website and should get you directly to the door.

Thank you again for your comments.

Warm regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the hotel mid week and were over the moon to find we had been upgraded. The concierge and reception staff were faultless and seemed to genuinely care about the quality of our stay.
It's a beautiful Art Deco hotel that makes you think you've stepped into the past. Our room was so quiet, even though it was near the lifts and had busy traffic outside. Now thinking of another excuse to visit the hotel..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareNield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear ClareNield

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay, delighted that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us. Please do visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in many 4 star hotels in Leeds. This is not one of them! We booked in..tried one musty, tired room, tried another.. And decided to leave. The rooms, reception and decor are all a long way below hotels like the Radisson and the Park Plaza. The beds in both rooms we tried were only doubles (king size or superking elsewhere). They were squeaky and old.
In fairness the staff were helpful and happy to give me my money back...but I was the one who had to drive home at 7pm on Saturday night.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hesmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Hesmo

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay at The Queens and I am very sorry that it didn’t go exactly as planned. Please be assured that this is by no means our usual standard of quality and would appreciate if you could contact me with the room number in which you were allocated in order to investigate further.

Thank you again for your comments and I am delighted that at least our team were helpful with your complaint. I do hope that this experience has not tainted your view of our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith.

Warmest regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I travelled with 3 others to Leeds on business. We chose the Queens hotel because it was close to the train station - it is - connected by a convenient concourse, and the price is right.

Not everyone in my group liked the hotel, but I did. It is a grand old hotel with well kept rooms and public areas. It isn't the Ritz or the Savoy, but neither are its prices or congestion. It is a lovely art deco hotel, good breakfast offerings and best of all great staff who care. I'd rate this high on value, clean and quiet rooms in a central and convenient location.

Room Tip: As for a city view room facing the civic square. Higher up rooms are quieter I would imagine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMC90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear DMC90

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your thoughts with the wider travelling community. Delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and in turn would recommend us to others. We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were recommend The Queens by friends and it surpassed our expectations.

The excellent service started in the beautiful art deco foyer with the receptionist who informed us that our rooms was not ready but she'd ring us when it was available... and she kept her promise. Whilst the receptionist was talking to us, the concierge over heard that we'd not visited Leeds previously and offered us a map and advice on where to shop and eat. He also promised to drop our bags in the room when it was ready... and he did!

Our room was just as we'd expected with modern and comfortable facilities. As we stayed on Floor 8, we enjoyed the hospitality in the lounge and the young gentleman serving drinks was polite and attentive.

In the morning, breakfast was wonderful with the staff, once again, being attentive but not intrusive.

This hotel will be added to the list of hotels I want to visit again, probably at the top.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Owl74

Thank you for posting your review, delighted that we exceeded expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at The Queens. Glad too that you had the opportunity to stay on QClub our executive floor, it’s a treat isn’t it?

Thank you again and hopefully we will be welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

....accept a room that ends in '25'. Having paid for a supposedly four-star hotel you will be treated to the sounds of heavy lift doors and a lift mechanism that clanks away all night, right next door. And don't bother asking to change room to one that isn't right next to a lift shaft. They shouldn't even be letting a room that is so conspicuously and obviously noisy and to do so shows a rather obvious contempt for paying guests. All rather sums up a dated hotel with too high an an opinion of itself, trading on name and, to be fair, a rather good location.

Room Tip: Avoid numbers ending in 25 like the plague - right next to the lift shafts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJF72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear GJF72

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay at The Queens and I’m very sorry that it didn’t go exactly as you planned. We have a policy to turn off the lifts at 9.30pm in order to reduce noise levels so will investigate why this didn’t happen during your stay and I can only apologise most sincerely.

Once again, thank you for your comments and feedback

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#13 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Property: The Queens - Leeds
Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing