We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a Poirot set”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Like a Poirot set”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Art Deco heaven to those into that. Staff were faultless and so polite. Great breakfast and had some nice snacks and cocktails in the bar. Get 2 hours free Internet in the rooms. Great location. Rooms clean but to me dated and bathrooms very small. I would try this place for the atmosphere and decor but if you expect the latest in room gadgets and modern wizardry you are in for a shock.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finster186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Finster186258

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I was delighted to read that you very much enjoyed our Art Deco ambiance. Wifi is complimentary throughout the hotel for the duration of your stay, I am sure you will agree a true benefit to our guests. I will certainly pass on your kind thoughts to the team who work hard to ensure all our guests have a truly wonderful stay.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back soon

Warmest regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,437
    1,079
    417
    158
    95
See reviews for
302
1,210
183
900
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Arrived earlier than the check in time, but was allowed to go to room immediately. The room was very old, dated and depressing, i realise that it is a very old building, art deco, but i dont recall art deco being all green! First floor to the front over looking the Xmas tree.. Was a bonus according to reception. However it was extremely noisy and cold. Contacted reception who immediately said they had no back rooms avail but a room higher would possibly be quiter. The room I was shown next was supposed to be of the same quality, however was no bigger than a broom cupboard, claustrophobic in the extreme. After some further discussion with reception was moved to a king size suite to the rear... Finally a room worthy of the hotels reputation. Booking was for room only, so can't comment on breakfast, but Harvey Nichols do a lovely eggs benedict. Would I stay again... probably not.

Room Tip: Although front rooms have better view, beware of the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mustang2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear mustang2210

Thank you for your constructive feedback, you are correct the hotel has been refurbished in the Art Deco style and is a matter of taste but can assure you that we do our utmost to balance old character and contemporary elegance, combining 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury and I am sorry that on this occasion you felt that we did not succeed. As a city centre hotel we do on rare occasions experience outside noise but every effort is made to ensure this does not affect our guests and I am sorry that you experienced unusually high noise levels.

I was happy that our reception team were able to allocate you an alternative bedroom and would hope that this one off experience has not deterred you from staying with us some time in the future.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We only stayed one night, this Saturday just gone we live in Leeds but thought we would do some Christmas shopping and stay the night for a meal. We are glad we did,we upgraded to a superior room which was large and comfortable and booked the BB&D option. We liked the art deco style of the hotel, the meals were good and the bar area is again a lovely place to have an after dinner drink. We enjoyed our stay and if we stay over again in Leeds would use this hotel but it is not something we do a lot.We would however try one of the other hotels in the group.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior if you like a bit more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HobyJoby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear HobyJoby1

I am pleased that you enjoyed your shopping break at The Queens and have been able to use our excellent location as a base for visiting the city. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Why not pop in for our renowned Afternoon Tea, a respite from the January sales.

Warmest regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed at The Queens - Leeds for one night after a Christmas Party that was organised by my company.

I thought that the whole place was quality, especially the excellent staff. From check-in, bar, party, bed, breakfast to check-out the next day, I felt that the place and people oozed class. You cannot buy class; it's the way you treat people, and the staff knew how to treat people as real people, not just numbers.

I had an excellent time and will definitely stay there again, given the chance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyTobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear BillyTobin

Thank you for your lovely review of The Queens. I am thrilled you had a super stay with us and that you would recommend our hotel to others. We look forward to making you welcome again soon.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights on a conference with work and had a very enjoyable stay in a deluxe double room even though I was supposed to be sharing. Lovely decor, nice bottled water and biscuits, up to date TV etc... The water pressure in the bathroom I have to say was the best ever- really powerful shower and bath filled in minutes! Beds really comfy and the room was really clean. We also dined at the hotel for breakfast, lunch and dinner and this was also fantastic. Lovely pastries and home baked cookies at coffee time, for lunch we had a vast array of sandwiches and cakes and dinner was more formal with beautifully cooked brisket and roasted vegetables. I couldn't fault it at all. Even breakfast was well organised despite the business of the hotel. Would recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Siobhan M

I was thrilled to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us at The Queens and are happy to share your thoughts with the wider travelling community. I will certainly pass on your comments to all the team as I am sure they will find them as a great source of motivation.

Kindest regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

it's like walking onto a set of Poirot, the decor is wonderful, the only down side are the hen/stag parties that I suppose they have to cater for to balance the books. That said the rooms, staff and overall ambience is wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Elizabeth L

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I was delighted to read that you very much enjoyed our Art Deco ambiance and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Booked the Queens for my boyfriends graduation ceremony and was really impressed with the hotel, staff, and cost of the room. Entered the hotel straight from the station concourse, which was extremely easy. Bags were collected by the porter and were then placed in our room once it was ready. Hotel lobby is really impressive especially with the Christmas decorations up!

Room was massive compared to some of the other hotels we've stayed in, and whilst it was a basic double it was extremely modern and not at all run down. Thought it might have been noisy at night as there were a lot of Christmas parties on but we weren't woken at all. Only thing I'd say is watch the room temperature at night as it got really hot and stuffy! We were slightly disappointed by the fact that we'd booked a double and they'd pushed two twin beds together, which had slightly different heights which was annoying! Would have asked to move but by the time we realised we just wanted to get to sleep.

Staff at reception were really polite and helpful, providing us with extra milk and some toothpaste that we'd forgotten! Location is excellent - short walk away from the shops and about 20minutes up to the University of Leeds if you're walking. There were also taxi's available immediately outside should you need them. Unfortunately we didn't eat at the hotel but went into the bar, where again the decor was astounding.

Would really recommend this hotel if you're looking for somewhere a bit different, but still has the luxury you'd expect from a modern hotel. Fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hah456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Queens_Leeds, General Manager at The Queens - Leeds, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear hah456

Thank you for posting a review of your stay and thank you for choosing The Queens to celebrate your boyfriends’ graduation. I was delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the New Year.

Warmest regards

Ivar van Diepen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 87 in Leeds
1,991 reviews
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Property: The Queens - Leeds
Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing