We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad and the ugly”
Review of The Queens - Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queens - Leeds
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2007

We have been fortunate over the last few years to be able to stay in a good number of 4 and 5 * hotels around the world.
This was the worst one by a large margin.

The good: the location is right outside the train station and minutes walk to the shops, clubs and restaurants of Leeds.

The bad: we had a function room and the food and coordination of the service were poor. Breakfast was good value and tasty.

The ugly: we had a junior suite and it was just drab. Dark browns and minimal lighting. The old metal framed windows leak wind and rain badly. The secondary glazing doesn't fit properly so the room was cold even with the aircon turned up fully. We ended up with a fan heater!

Do not stay here by choice. We won't I'm afraid and I've never written that before.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,281 - 3,287 of 3,398 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2007

Had a special family party here. Organisation was great and service really efficient. Meal was excellent, including all the vegetarian food. Setting very comfortable.
Several rooms were booked for our guests. All the rooms were very comfortable and spotless.
Breakfast in morning was fantastic with a great choice for everyone.
Overall very happy with service provided by this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2007

Excellent central location, close to "The Light", Shops & Corn Exchange . Valet parking at £11.95 overnight very competetive and easier than looking around for a secure 24hr car park oneself. Staff and concierge very friendly, polite & helpful.
Room was budget room, clean, nice LCD although a bit small, never mind, didnt want to spend too much time there.
Great location, get the deal of £79 double room only, not bad price for a bit of luxury. Would stay again due to location to centre.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nickem16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2007

just stayed at this hotel for the weekend, its absoloutley fabulous the hotel, decor nice, the room was very nice and big, staff nice, its right next door to the train station. would definatley stay there again.

raina & kev
newcastle upon tyne nov 07

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank rubyheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

Just spent the weekend at the Queens, well worth the money. Excellent decor, friendly staff with good food. No problems at all. Room well serviced with good housekeeping. Parked at the train station which cost £4.00 a day(cheaper than hotel). Would jump at the chance of going back. Breakfast was very enjoyable. overall 1st class.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcgoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2007

Enjoyed a great stay at The Queens. The hotel is right on City Square, and directly next to the Central Train Station. Stayed in a standard room, but was pleasantly surprised at the large size of the room. Good points: excellent bed, powerful shower, tea & coffee facilities in room and a mini-bar. No ironing board provided in-room. Lovers of the art-deco period will be impressed by the many details which have been lovingly restored. The hotel offers valet parking - this requires leaving the car on the kerb outside the hotel but on a Friday night, it's bedlam outside the hotel! We opted to self-park in the nearby Q-park car park located on Swinegate. Similar price as the hotel car park (£12 per day) but it has the advantage of not trapping you on the city's notorious traffic loop (one-way system) so you can make a swift get away.
Leeds is a fantastic destination for a long weekend break, with plenty of pubs and good restaurants. Were originally going to stay a night in York but realised it was much easier to stay in Leeds and take the train to York (25mins from Central Station, many trains each hour).

Stayed: October 2007
3  Thank John_in_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2007

We stayed here for one night to attend a wedding. We got a good advanced rate of £79 for the room.

We were really impressed with the hotel. The check in was very friendly and helpful. When they asked if we would like to book for dinner and we explained that we were attending an event, they bothered to check where the event was, what time it started and gave us directions to get there.

The room was lovely. Fairly large with a decent king size comfy bed. Decent shower too. We were worried it would be noisy but we heard no noise and it seemed unbelievable we were in a city centre and next to the train station.

The whole feel of the place is very luxurious and welcoming and we liked the old fashioned lobby area and lifts.

I wouldn't probably stay here for a romantic weekend, where you want the room to be very special, but as a base for shopping/eating/visiting Leeds I would highly recommend it.

Stayed: October 2007
3  Thank Padston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#25 of 87 in Leeds
2,205 reviews
Quebecs
#7 of 87 in Leeds
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#11 of 87 in Leeds
2,138 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens - Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens - Leeds

Address: City Square, Leeds LS1 1PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#9 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $97 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens - Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most famous landmark hotel in Leeds, The Queens really does set the standard. Proudly positioned in the heart of City Square adjacent to the rail station and a host of other amenities, The Queens Hotel radiates a powerful allure from every inch of its immaculate white Portland stone façade. But the beautiful frontage is no façade, as you’ll discover when you step inside. The perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Queens Hotel Leeds combines its proud 1930’s Art Deco heritage with modern 4 Star luxury. Benefiting from £10.5 million in careful restoration, The Queens is the perfect Leeds hotel. A stay in any one of its 215 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. For the ultimate in exclusivity, book to stay in the QClub. Leeds’ only executive floor, situated at the very top of the hotel. Each of the 18 plush and peaceful bedrooms on this level has been fully refurbished and benefits from the introduction of a new executive lounge to relax in. Business types will find the hotel location extremely convenient next to the station and for meetings, conferences or grand banquets, The Queens is the only conference venue in Leeds with a 600-seater capacity to easily accommodate your eagerly anticipating guests or delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Queens - Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Leeds
Queens Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing