We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cold lunch for walkers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Ranked #50 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I booked a pre-ordered sandwich lunch here for a group of walkers. I visited the hotel and spoke to gentleman on reception who took our booking, gave me a copy of the sandwich lunches ( nothing else on offer apparently). Some days later I received a phone call from the hotel (sounded like the Functions Dept) asking for a deposit. I had to pay £150 deposit which was refunded on the day. We were seated together in The Bistro which was nice but the hot sandwiches were clot cold including the skinny chips. The home made soup and chunk of bread was dried Tomato soup from a packet and the chunk of bread was a 1 inch slice off a white baguette. At least the soup was hot. When I mentioned that lunch was not very good for everybody they implied that it was our fault as we were 20 minutes late getting to the dining room. So to conclude, don't use this hotel for group lunches, use the many public houses that do excellent lunches for groups and really want the business. No deposits either.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Gill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart W, General Manager at Mercure Leeds Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Gill L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. I apologise that we did not meet your expectations on your visit although it is a shame that we were not aware of your feelings until reading this review. I shall discuss the matter with both our restaurant manager and our head chef and investigate why the food was not piping hot as it should have been.

Once again, please accept my apologies. Kind regards,

Stewart Woodeson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Leeds Parkway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

621 - 627 of 959 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

we have just returned from a three day weekend at this hotel, and I must say we could not have had a better time! excellent service and wedding facilities the staff could not do enough for all the guests, and a special mention has to go to Diane on reception this lady knows her job, and was able to sort out any booking quiries with professionalism, Jay was also on reception and is perfect for front desk, smiley, friendly, and patient. If you were thinking of this hotel for your wedding as a guest, I would say don't think twice, service, food, rooms, venue and party at night were all great. great choice Paul and Nikki congratulations .

Room Tip: we were in a family room with a balcony, looking out on the wooded area and pool, on the 2nd floor,
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart W, General Manager at Mercure Leeds Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Mary Ann C

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel - I am delighted that you enjoyed Paul & Nikki's wedding with us, in particular the service that the staff provided. I shall ensure that your comments are passed onto all the staff mentioned.

Once again, thank you for your comments and kind regards,

Stewart Woodeson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

It's well over 30 years since I last stayed in this hotel when I used to visit the area on business. With youngest offspring now at Leeds University, we decided to book 2 family rooms for a short weekend visit and provide him with a break from Student Halls of residence. When we arrived and noticed wedding guests also arriving at the same time, we began to fear the worst envisaging hotel resources being overrun as a consequence.
Could not have been more mistaken. The rooms were excellent, the leisure facility was a welcome addition, the staff were so friendly and the food was absolutely spot on. This hotel is obviously big enough to be an events hotel, as well as looking after the other guests.
On the last day we had a lovely walk in the nearby wildlife park which was really refreshing and the weekend was rounded off when one of the restaurant staff (sorry I cannot remember the name) averted a disaster by discovering my wife's purse which she had left at the breakfast table.
Thank you to all the staff who made our short stay very enjoyable and would have no hesitation in staying again and will now be on the look out for Jupiter Group hotels when staying at other UK destinations

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedwaydthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart W, General Manager at Mercure Leeds Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Speedwaydthom,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us to make us aware of your experience - the staff will be delighted with your feedback and I shall find our member of breakfast staff who found your purse and thank them personally - believe it or not, someone left their briefcase with laptop and ipad inside at breakfast last week!

I'm glad you had a superb time and am glad that we lived up to your expectations. Please don't leave it another 30 years before coming to visit us again!

Kind regards,

Stewart Woodeson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just had my daughter's wedding at this hotel. The staff were fantastic! They could not have done more for us. A special mention for Martin, who made sure that the day went smoothly! Everyone worked so hard for us. Thank you, each and every one of you for all your hard work. You were amazing and made sure that we had an amazing weekend! Xxxxx

Room Tip: All I can say is that the room we had overlooking the gardens, with a balcony, was lovely .
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Else B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart W, General Manager at Mercure Leeds Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Else B

Thank you very much indeed for such a lovely review - I'm delighted that you are delighted!

I have just seen Martin and he's over the moon with your feedback - thank you for recognising both his and the rest of the staff's efforts. Please come back soon, but not for a marriage next time, at least not involving Nikki!

Kind regards,

Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

After staying at the hotel for a family wedding, my wife and I were so impressed by the lovely welcoming staff that we decided to stay an extra night. We arrived to a warm welcome from Dianne on reception, who couldn't have been more helpful. The bar staff were all pleasant and friendly. Martin made sure the wedding reception, with 180 guests, went as smooth as it could have possibly gone. Billy catered for our every need and we couldn't fault any of the rest of the staff. The hotel is a little tired in places but immaculately clean and it is well worth a visit for the hospitality of the staff. We will certainly be coming back.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank JohnWozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart W, General Manager at Mercure Leeds Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear John Wozo,

Wow! Thank you for such a good review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the wedding and the service our staff provided during your stay - I will speak to both Diane and Martin today to make them aware of your review and thank them personally for their efforts. It it lovely to read a review such as this so thank you very much for taking the time to make all aware of your experience. Come again soon!

Kind regards,

Stewart Woodeson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank EnglandRichie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stewart W, General Manager at Mercure Leeds Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My sister and I visited this lovely hotel to celebrate her birthday. For me it was a second visit as I had been so impressed the first time. On arrival we were warmly greeted and I was pleased to find that my request for a room overlooking the park at the rear of the hotel had been granted. The room was of a very good standard, with twin beds and a large leather relaxer chair, plus tv, tea making facilities and somewhere to hang your clothes, with trouser hangers, always nice to see. A large mirrored door hid the trouser press, iron, ironing board and hairdryer. The bathroom was well appointed and the towels were lovely, fluffy and white. As guests we could also take advantage of the gym, sauna, steam room, swimming pool and jacuzzi. We had booked massages and both of us thoroughly enjoyed our experience.

As part of our package we got breakfast and evening meal. On the Friday evening the hotel was not very full, hence the dining room was not open, but we chose from the same menu and ate in the very comfortable bar area. The food was well presented and delicious. The breakfast offering was excellent, with a buffet selection, plus items you could order off menu such as kippers, smoked haddock and poached egg etc. The fresh fruit was really nice.


Just outside the hotel you can catch a bus to Leeds city centre, for £3.90 per person return, which is an absolute bargain bearing in mind the cost of parking. Hence on the Saturday we had a lovely day's shopping, followed by a swim and sauna, then another meal, this time in the restaurant. We then ventured out to the Lawsnwood Arms, a pub just up the road, which was quite noisy, but we enjoyed it.

All in all we had a great time, enhanced by the lovely surroundings and the super staff at the Mercure. Nothing was too much trouble, each and every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful and an asset to the hotel.

We will certainly return and will be bringing some friends too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anlaby197616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart W, General Manager at Mercure Leeds Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Anlaby 197616,

Wow! Thank you for such a lovely review. It is wonderful to read such praise for our staff and facilities and I thank you graciously for your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon....

Kind regards,

Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leeds
2.1 mi away
Weetwood Hall Hotel
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#36 of 87 in Leeds
825 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mercure Wetherby
Mercure Wetherby
#3 of 3 in Wetherby
789 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Leeds North
5.0 mi away
Ibis Leeds Centre
Ibis Leeds Centre
#28 of 87 in Leeds
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Leeds Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Leeds Parkway

Address: Otley Road, Leeds LS16 8AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $68 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Leeds Parkway 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in large mock-Tudor building on 2-1/2 acres next to Golden Acre Park & Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Leeds Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leeds Parkway Hotel Leeds
Ramada Leeds
Leeds Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing