We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for a cheap stay, customer service needs to be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Leeds Hotel
Ranked #71 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ok for a cheap stay, customer service needs to be improved”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed here on 18/4/14 as a last minute booking, room was only £30 and adequate for the price, however cleanliness could be improved (old toothbrush down the side of the bedside table) and upon arrival there was nobody at reception and the bell didn't seem to connect to anything, had to knock on the office door after several minutes of waiting.

Would recommend if you're just staying in the area the night and want somewhere cheap but any more than a single night and you might wish you booked a Premier Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbertman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    176
    192
    131
    177
See reviews for
109
259
56
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The hotel is quite a way from Leeds, over a tenner in a taxi which makes it just a little too far when enjoying a girly weekend. On arrival the staff on reception were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were all on the same corridor together.

The rooms are basic but spacious with extra blankets and pillows, ironing board, trouser press, television with free view, kettle with tea and coffee etc. it does look a little shabby especially the bathroom but you do get what you pay and it was all clean it just needed a little TLC.

The only problem with my room was that the hot water for the shower did not work at all and there was only one towel. The toilet took about ten or more attempts to flush as well which was a pain!

We came back to the hotel at 2am and there were two young guys on the door acting as security but seemed to be letting anyone and everyone in who walked past. They were quite rude and offensive when I asked why there was no answer from the room service line. Room service is supposed to be 24 hours but they informed me the chef left "because its a Saturday" which was a complete joke.

The bar looked pleasant enough but we didn't go in the bar or stay for breakfast. Downstairs was lovely and clean with lots of seating areas.

The best part of it for me was going to bed, the beds are some of the comfiest I have ever slept in, big thumbs up. We also got room service at about half 6 when we arrived at the hotel and the man who brought the food up was so polite and lovely, it made us all smile.

Overall the stay was just average, for what we paid it was a reasonable price so you can't complain.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

So ok, it isn't the best hotel u will stay in, yes there is slight mould patches on the ceiling in the bathroom and the bed was right up to the wall so spent all night making a tune on the wall with my elbow, but it was warm and erm. .. ok, on checking in me and my partner asked about food and the oh so helpful staff informed us that there wasn't any (Sunday) so me and my partner had a full discussion infront of the receptionist about going out somewhere for some food, she neglected to tell us that there is bar that serves food, The bar area is nice and relaxing to have some drinks and food in, just don't expect much were rooms are concerned, it's warm and somewhere to try and sleep that's about it, you get what u pay for

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed here while working in Leeds and was booked in by my company. I had no idea this hotel was still here as last time I heard it was a Ramada and i thought it had gone.

All staff were really helpful especially the girls at breakfast and the bar man at night.

rooms were good and clean, i had a new one behind reception and it was pleasant, just a little odd in shape perhaps.

bar meal and breakfast were both good and fixed me for the day

It is in no way a 5 star hotel, but i think sometimes people need to remember they aren't paying 5 star prices.

Room Tip: Even though WiFi isn't available throughout, i managed to get it in my room behind reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We booked this hotel and did not have great expectations as we have seen the reviews. Living in Leeds we have passed this hotel many times over the years and have heard many things about it. However, we were attending a friends Birthday party and the cost of a taxi would have been more than the price of a room. As such my Husband paid for an upgrade to an "Executive" room hoping that it would be a decent stay for one night.
On arrival we were met with at least 3 Stag and Hen parties in the reception area that had been drinking for several hours and it was only 2pm. We checked in and went to our room. What a Hell Hole. It was in need of a good lick of paint, the furniture was tired and chipped, it needed a clean and the view was over the bins and staff smoking area. To be described as "Executive" was a complete joke! When we booked we called the hotel to check the quality of the room and were told they had reserved the best room in the hotel for us! I dread to think about the other rooms!
Due to the other drunken residents we had very little sleep as they partied in the corridors.
Next morning we checked out before 8am.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aitcht74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying in the city and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leeds hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014

One half of the hotel smelt strongly of cigarette smoke and the other half of the hotel needed a good clean. Puddings at night were very adult orientated. The staff were very friendly though and the breakfast was fine. Some areas of the hotel could do with serious updating!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneMurray2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We recently had to book a last minute hotel up to Leeds and I chose Britannia Leeds Hotel. The hotel staff were fantastic, polite and friendly. Our room was lovely and clean and the bed was comfortable. We booked breakfast online and cannot fault the buffet breakfast at all. There was plenty of choice to cater for all tastes and the cooked English breakfast items were all lovely and hot. It was very relaxed and we were not rushed at all which was lovely. The hotel was easy to find; only 5 miles out of Leeds town centre, plenty of parking onsite (free).

A good choice of dinner for the evening, competitively priced (or there was a selected room service menu), pleasant bar/coffee area.

I cannot fault the hotel at all, and will definitely stay here again when we next visit Leeds.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUPERSTITION63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leeds
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
3.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre
8.1 mi away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Leeds East Hotel
2.7 mi away
High Bank Hotel
High Bank Hotel
#70 of 87 in Leeds
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ibis Leeds Centre
Ibis Leeds Centre
#29 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Leeds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Leeds Hotel

Property: Britannia Leeds Hotel
Address: Millgreen View, Ring Road, Leeds LS13 4DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Leeds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a short drive from Leeds City Centre, the Britannia Leeds was built around a 19th-century windmill and is in the perfect location for visiting this bustling Yorkshire city. With easy access from the M1/A1, just a few miles from Leeds United Football Club and conveniently located for Leeds Bradford Airport, this hotel in Leeds is located in the ideal spot for exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Britannia Leeds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Leeds North Hotel Leeds
Leeds Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing