We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Leeds Hotel
Ranked #73 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We expected the hotel would be less than perfect for the price we paid for 2 nights including breakfast.

We arrived at 12.30 and totd to come back after 14.00 (official booking in time) On our return there was a opleasant receptionist who booked us in but the room we had was right by the side of the busy main road and even with the double glazed window shut the noise was deafening. They were booked with coach parties so fully booked no alternative. We anticipated that the noise would be less at night (it was marginally).

Avoid rooms accessed via the restaurant (G52) was our room.

PROS:

1 Bedding and towels clean
2 Room clean and tidy
3 Lovely shower
4 Complimentary toiletries

CONS:

1 Noise
2 Overcooked breakfast
3 No room Internet
4 Disinterested staff
5 cut hand on door plate

On balance it was an OK stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room G52
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your time in posting your comments, we welcome both positive and constructive feedback to help us improve and monitor our standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
There are newer reviews for Britannia Leeds Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 826 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed for a 2night break with reputable tour company. The service was ok.The room was worse than basis (room 116) with mould on the windows,inside the cupboard, in the bathroom and also on the curtains. It doesn't cost much to clean properly. We ate in the hotel for breakfast &dinner. The food was ok, but we felt like children being ushered to our seats and told to sit in the same seat for all our meal (what happened to choice). Having stayed in a 3star hotel before I have never been in a place which was so dirty. the terrific views of the ring road together with the glorious sounds of constant traffic made for a great nights sleep(NOT).

Room Tip: Don't go.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 925Shaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your time in posting your comments, we welcome both positive and constructive feedback to help us improve and monitor our standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night due to having a night out in Leeds with friends. Booked the hotel through e-bookers as was cheapest we could find so wasn't expecting it to be amazing but was also not expecting it to be a faff on either. After booking 2 rooms and paying upfront I tried to ring the hotel to check our reservations and they had no record was told to ring back the day after as they may have not had chance to put the booking in system. Checked the day after and could only confirm 1 room as due to data protection they couldn't tell me the other room was available as our friends name was on the booking and not mine (ridiculous when the entire booking was made by myself and I paid for it) tried to ring direct to the hotel again and was told by a young lad he couldn't see any bookings but don't worry love if you have reservation numbers you should be fine!! Low and behold turn up only 1 room booked. Very rude receptionist on arrival she obviously recognised my name on reservation from phone calls and laughed at us!! Offered to check us in then changed her mind and carried on doing what she was doing before. Finally got checked in by another receptionist who was actually really nice even showed us directly to our room although having to walk through a very busy restaurant while people eating dinner to get to our room. Room was nice our friends though had to stay in a triple room with 3 single beds. Same receptionist in the morning who looked so unprofessional slumped over the desk didn't even ask how our stay was didn't even really acknowledge us and seemed so hard done by when asked by a group of guests about train times. Bottom line wouldn't stay at this hotel and wouldn't book any other britannia hotel either £120 ill never see again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

It's very very basic. Good value for money, especially if you're only staying a couple of nights.

The bar area is nice and the pints are only £2.20 during happy hour which is good bargain.

It's far from the city and a taxi would cost you around £10.

We didn't eat at the hotel but the food looked nice.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the road because the traffic can get loud.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Priya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at the Britannia hotel in Leeds on Friday eve with my partner an I have never been to a worst place strongly recommend to stay away the place was a dump room was filthy stains on the wall bathroom bed sheets had hair on it like it had not been changed from a previous checkout. We were very disappointed are room was at the back and were woken up early hours of the morning by the truck outside for the linen collection no courtesy for guests.

We won't be coming back and highly recommend to others stay away !!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

On arrival in our room there was a strong musty smell. The carpet was soaking wet and must have been like that for days. Can't fault the reception staff they moved us immediately. On inspection of our replacement room, the bathroom was filthy the grouting round the bath hadn't been cleaned in months is a health hazard, the sink wasn't cleaned during the whole of our stay, requests fell on deaf ears. The furnishing in the bedroom area we thick with dust and hadn't been touched in days. Everything in the room was geared up for one person and we had to ask and collect clean laundry from reception.

The dining room furnishings I discovered by accident had also not been cleaned, across the bar of the seats there was a thick layer of dust. I wonder how long it has been since a health inspector has visited these premises?

No Bath mat supplied, so had to use towels when stepping out of the bath. Obviously the towels used for this purpose were put in the bath to be replaced. Not so, when we returned to our room wet towels had been taken out of the bath and hung up on the towel rail, needless to say they were still wet.

I would suggest that before coming front house of house to carve meat, the cook actually changes out of his grubby clothes.

The hotel have been made aware of the above complaints. I also have photographic evidence of the disgusting state of the bathroom.

The only positive point I can make about this hotel is that the front of house staff work jolly hard and try to be pleasant under a stressful work load.

Room Tip: I wouldn't contemplate recommending this hotel to anyone.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1Molly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Read the previous reviews and I was pleasantly surprised, this is a nice hotel, a little dated but the staff are pleasant and if all tour after is a bed for the night then this is ideal, I will Deffo be using it again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James3762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leeds
3.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Leeds Colton
2.7 mi away
High Bank Hotel
High Bank Hotel
#72 of 87 in Leeds
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
5.3 mi away
Ascot Grange Hotel
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
426 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Leeds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Leeds Hotel

Address: Millgreen View, Ring Road, Leeds LS13 4DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range: $43 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Leeds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a short drive from Leeds City Centre, the Britannia Leeds was built around a 19th-century windmill and is in the perfect location for visiting this bustling Yorkshire city. With easy access from the M1/A1, just a few miles from Leeds United Football Club and conveniently located for Leeds Bradford Airport, this hotel in Leeds is located in the ideal spot for exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Leeds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Leeds North Hotel Leeds
Leeds Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing