We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looked good”
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The look of the hotel is impressive and the staff are very helpful. The room was very large, as was the bed, which was also comfortable. Everything was clean & tidy.

However, the shower system lets the place/room down. You had to put the hot bath tap on full blast for ages before the hot water started to filter through, then turn it off and then turn the shower on ...... why?

This still did not detract from the fact I still had a very tepid shower, I had to control the hot water from the shower by altering the cold tap in the bath, as this is a shower over bath situation my feet an ankles were submerged in 5 inches of cold water as the drainage is unable to cope with the amount of water its being dealt with.

The staff apologised and said that maintenance would have a look at it. I have no idea if its fixed as i only stayed 1 night ..... Room 325.

Room Tip: Not 325 unless the shower/plumbing has been fixed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRW1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,125 - 1,131 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

I has stayed at this hotel before and has always enjoyed it.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and when I stayed in March I was offered a glass of wine which I kindly decline (not much of a wine drinker personally). The room were always clean and bed made up and the cleaning staff were kinds and not rude.

The breakfast/bar waiter/waitress were also friendly and helpful and if you are not happy with something you can ask for a fresh one and they are more than happy to get you fresh one, such as fresh bread etc or even requesting fried egg to be cooked on request.

The only downside to my room I stayed in was and is reflected in the score is at night, there is an uplighter outside on the wall next to the window and there is no blackout curtain provided to blackout this uplighter. Cos of this it was at times hard to get to sleep cos of the light. Otherwise an excellent room.

Because I has stayed there before I was aware of Wifi issue but is very happy to say looks like they got the internet wifi sorted as in my previous stay I did have issue but this time not 1 single issue at all awesome.

Would I stay again, you bet I will.

Room Tip: Try and book in advance as they tends to have special advance rates at times. Don't be afraid t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Made a reservation through our business reservation desk and, with pre-negotiated rates, it should include a breakfast. However, when I got my room voucher there was no mention of the breakfast so I phoned the hotel to clarify. They told me very abruptly that they were full and don't need to offer the corporate rate... I don't need to stay in a hotel where the service is rude before check-in so I cancelled the booking. They aren't so full now.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosmopolitan-2, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

You tried to book a corporate rate on a third party site which was not available, as the website should have made clear. We are not able to change a booking made through a third party.

It is always advisable to check a reservation before confirming, to prevent such events happening. We have advised your booking agent of the problems you have had when trying to make your reservation, as we also feel their website is not very clear.

We did offer you a discounted breakfast rate on your room only booking, but you chose to cancel the booking instead, as is your right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I have stayed at the cosmo a few times now and this recent stay was by far the best - not only in terms of customer service but the room standard was also very good.
The check in and welcome was superb and the offer of glass of wine. My room had been upgraded as I think our firm puts a few people there, I had a family sized room, which was well appointed.
For an old hotel, they have tackled the refurb well - the downstaits public areas are very modern and well cared for, the stairs, corridors etc are fresh and clean. I do think that as they continue refurb, they should look at the door locks - old fashioned keys and large fobs need to go and be replaced by cards. Also aircon in rooms these days should be standard in a hotel with these rates.
Breakfast is fine - bit limited compared to other chain hotels and teh food had been cooked very early and was a bit "sweaty", but the waitress service was excellent.
The best improvement is in the staff service - I could not fault the service whatsoever!

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the rear - even though the view will not be great, because there is no airco, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Ideal location for all Leeds City Centre has to offer. Near to the main shopping areas and a gentle stroll to the Grand Theatre, the riverside
walk and the Royal Armouries Museum.
The Cosmopolitan serves very good food in a lovely restaurant attended by efficient and pleasant staff.
The very pleasant bedroom was very spacey and spotlessly clean with a generous well equipped bathroom and a really comfy, large bed.
The reception staff were very pleasant, smart and helpful. The hotel also has a left luggage facility to enable guests to have time in the City after checking out.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the hotel and would recommend it to
any other visitors to Leeds.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I always like to stay at this lovely friendly hotel. The staff at this hotel are lovely. The reception staff are all absolutely lovely. The rooms have everything you need for a comfortable stay. they provide you with a small glass of wine on check in which is a nice touch. The food is really well cooked here over the months i have had many of the items and all are cooked to a good quality. again bar staff and wait staff very polite and friendly. Breakfast is either fully buffet or the cooked is cooked to order depending on how busy the hotel is. See you on Thursday when i shall return for the night!

there are some interesting colour schemes in some of the stairways and hall ways! keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrcooljanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Not the most modern hotel but ideally situated for bars,trinity shopping centre and train station,all within at max ten mins walk . staff friendly, room sizeable and the pressure from the shower wow , no good for someone who wears a syrup or is light on there feet . Not the greatest view out of our window (back of the hotel)but I didn't pay to stare out of the window. rooms could maybe do with an upgrade and the missus didn't like the corridor carpet ! some good bars just round the corner and for real ale lovers go search out whitelocks just up the road and for quality music the smokestack is a must . The Indian AM just around the corner is nice and worth a shout.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Roomzzz Leeds City
#4 of 87 in Leeds
526 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Leeds Centre
#32 of 87 in Leeds
1,225 reviews
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 87 in Leeds
2,105 reviews
Jurys Inn Leeds
#19 of 87 in Leeds
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel

Address: 2 Briggate, Leeds LS1 4AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Leeds City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $63 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 5 minutes from Leeds City station and 1 mile from the main motorway links into Leeds. With a prime City Centre location we are ideal for both business and leisure guests. All bedrooms are decorated to a high standard and include power showers, dressing gowns, tea/coffee making facilities, ironing centre, hairdryer, LCD flat screen television luxury bathroom products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing