We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little dated but great location, friendly staff and good food.......” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Ranked #20 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A little dated but great location, friendly staff and good food.......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spent a birthday break here using a great value 'Gold Voucher'. The hotel is in a great location two minutes from the city centre and only a few minutes from Leeds Railway Station. I did find the hotel a little 'tired and dated', however the staff were friendly and helpful. I was also 'upgraded' as part of my dear to a Superior Room which only really left me grateful I wasn't in a 'Standard' as it was quite small and overlooked cenrat heating/ air conditioning ducts etc. Bit of a mixed review and without the deal I would probably be able to get a better deal elsewhere. Nevertheless, if you want a good location and an 'okay' stay and can get a good deal you should be happy here................

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    470
    229
    119
    51
See reviews for
97
405
124
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Kept awake all night in a cold room , noise from wine bars
and street kept me awake until 5.00am, room 101 never again.
Ordered traditional breakfast to room . Had to pay waiter at door,
No milk for cereal or tea . Cooked breakfast almost cold .Will not stay here again .

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from street noise .Good luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 682Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was bumped out of a neighbouring hotel on arrival in the early hours and booked into the Cosmopolitan.

The room was small but had everything I needed and was very comfortable. Loved the plastic ducks for the bath. Decor was good and a nice atmosphere. Would use again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyS383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed here 2 nights on business, and paid a little more for a double rather than the singles which didn't have great reviews. I was upgraded to a triple, and the room was huge - Agree with other reviews the TV was too small for a room that size - you cant see it properly from sitting in bed.

The wi-fi didn't work!

The bathroom is looking a bit on its last legs, clean and perfectly usable but rather dated and showing signs of wear. Nice touches with the cotton wool balls, bath salts, robes etc.

I was worried about train noise - its very close to the tracks (I could probably wave to the passengers!)- but the noise was a low rumble and not that intrusive, plus it stopped by midnight-ish. The bed was clean and comfy and I slept well which is the most important thing!

One thing I did note was that some corridors smelt of smoke - If I was the hotel ALL rooms should be non smoking - the smell does seep through! (I am very sensitive to this though!)

I had dinner one night - risotto - which came with no garnish so looked rather plain and unappetising. (like a bowl of cream rice pudding). It tasted fine, but not exceptional - served a purpose rather than a treat.

Service was good, but not exceptional.

I paid £124 for a double for 2 nights (no breakfast) - I think this is the max you should pay to get value for money, maybe it was a bit too much.

Room Tip: Make sure you select Non- smoking if this is required!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chorley
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were very impressed on arrival, the hotel looked nice with a decent entrance and lobby and what looked like a good restaurant. We were three couples on a special deal which included breakfast and evening meal. My husband and I were given a large room with a very unimpressive t.v. So small that you would need binoculars to see it from the bed. It would not work with the picture going off whilst the sound remained on. We reported it and a guy was sent to look at it. He got the picture on again, however it did not stay like that for very long. The next day, the cleaner only half cleaned our bedroom and on our return we found a large black bin liner in the middle of the room with all the rubbish in it. This was at 5.30 p.m. so it wasn't that we had come back before she could finish. A pair of earrings which I had arrived in were also missing following this clean up. They were only fashion jewellery but all the same, I am not happy about the situation. Other points I would mention concern the restaurant. At the breakfast, the area available to get your food from is the smallest area I have ever seen and very badly planned. For example, I only wanted a croissant which were situated on a shelf behind the bacon, eggs and beans. etc. There was a queue to get breakfasts and I had to wait for 10 minutes before I could grab a croissant! There was no tomato sauce to be found and we had to ask for it. The first evening meal we had was good and we had a great choice and excellent service. The wine we chose was not good and had sediment and they did not charge for it. However, at the second evening meal was totally the opposite from the evening before as it was a different chef and the service was inadequate too, At 11.15 pm, we decided to have irish coffees. The waiter entered the charge in the till and then we were told there wasn't any cream to make them as it had been locked away in the fridges in the kitchen! One further point, I would like to make is that when my husband asked for a tooth pick, the waitress brought "one" over, holding it in her hand. The hotel was warm all the time, there was always plenty of hot water but the negative aspects of our stay only allows me to give this hotel an average score. One more point, I have been told that guests are offered a free glass of wine when checking in, however, this did not happen in our case so maybe they have stopped it.

Room Tip: Apparently some rooms have large televisions so I would ask for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dorisday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great location for city centre. Refurbished bar, restaurant and reception done nicely. Our room was also refurbished nicely although the bathroom hadn't been and did look a little tired. But overall a pleasant stay with an average breakfast included.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethTurnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel lobby is very nice but this is where it stops.... The room was clean when we arrived but looked very old fashioned, it looked like the sort of room that had an old musty smell to it..... Thank fully this was not the case. We never ate in the hotel so can not comment on the food although the restaurant did look very inviting. I can't say i'd never stay in this hotel again because the location is ideal for a night out. However I would most definately request a different room as my bed was full of springs and in need of replacing.

Overall ok for what it was, however when compared to the price it was somewhat expensive for what we got. Its a shame because with a fantastic location and very friendly staff this hotel could of being so much more.

Ohhh I forgot to mention that we stayed in the hotel for two nights and on both mornings the house keeping came in at 8:30. As we where still in the room they left but never returned at any point to clean or re stock the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I_norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,046 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Malmaison Hotel
#12 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel
Address: 2 Briggate, Leeds LS1 4AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Leeds City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 5 minutes from Leeds City station and 1 mile from the main motorway links into Leeds. With a prime City Centre location we are ideal for both business and leisure guests. All bedrooms are decorated to a high standard and include power showers, dressing gowns, tea/coffee making facilities, ironing centre, hairdryer, LCD flat screen television luxury bathroom products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing