We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing - Not Executive by any means”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Ranked #21 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Disappointing - Not Executive by any means”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at the Cosmopolitan Hotel within the last few days. What a fantastic offer for an Executive double room, we paid a small amount more to go from the Small Double. Unfortunately there appeared to be not a lot Executive about the room. After selecting a non smoking room, the whole stay we were to have the smell of smoke throughout the corridor and within the room. After mentioning it on checkout, we were simply advised our room was located within the corridor right next to the smoking rooms. Don't stay in room 317 if you want no smoking. Large bathroom, with some rubber ducks, one missing an eye. No air conditioning, however room fan on the ceiling, that when on shaked severely. The side table had stained liquid down the side, the bed linen had marks on them, and the fan was covered with dirt. Not a great experience, needs improvement before I would visit again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KSneyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    476
    233
    119
    51
See reviews for
101
414
124
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
166 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We booked this hotel for a weekend break and for close proximity for the Leeds Grand Theatre where we were attending a show. Parking was £11 for 24 hours which we'd did expect to pay extra for in a city centre hotel, reception was pleasant, room was quite basic and decor was dated and shabby. Decided to have a quick bite to eat in the hotel restaurant before the show, drinks were expensive, food was quite poor for a hotel of this caliber. Worst part is that we were kept up most of the night due to noise, banging of doors, shouting and general juvenile behaviour by other residents then greeted by ambulance and police along our corridor following an "incident" that had occured. Breakfast was very poor and charged us £7.50 each extra. Poor receptionist in the morning did ask if eveything was ok with our stay and usually we'd pay up and just go home but couldn't let this one go. She dealt with our complaints very well and gave us the general managers details to complain to - customer service of this standard is wasted in this hotel. 80 mile drive home, 2-3 hours sleep all night, show weekend ruined. Saving grace was that the hotel did the right thing and refunded the cost of our room. We avoided the local city center Travel Lodge knowing these sorts of disturbances happen on a regular basis, never thought we'd get the same or worse at a 4* hotel. Poor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kromeandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosmopolitan-2, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
I am very disappointed to read your review, especially as your complaint, made in writing a few hours after departing the hotel, was immediately acknowledged and full a refund agreed. In your correspondence there was no mention of any issues with your evening meal, price of drinks, breakfast quality or the standard of the room, nor was there any mention of this whilst staying with us, therefore I am at a loss as to why these points have now been raised since your card has been credited in full.

The only issue was the noise caused by one unfortunate guest, whilst under the influence of alcohol, who decided to make a nuisance in the hotel and then injure themselves, resulting in the police and ambulance being called to the hotel. This was out of the hotel’s control, and, as stated in your letter to ourselves on the day, the matter was dealt with professionally by the staff on duty. All other guests were most understanding, which in the circumstances, was appreciated by my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have stay here before on business and for weekends. The Cosmopolitan, is in a great location, right in the heart of Leeds, the staff are friendly, helpful and lsat week I even got my room at 8.30am, after flying in on a early flight, so had time to freshen up. The rooms are spotless, as indeed is the rest of the hotel. And the price was very good. I will be back.....again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The room was extremely dated. Peeling wallpaper and damp. The bathroom needed gutting completely. Having to run the hot water tap first and then put the shower on full and then reduce to the appropriate temperature. Stains in the bottom of the bath. mouldy silicone around the bath and 2 rubber ducks to complete the look! The stifling temperature in the room was not alleviated by the decrepit ceiling fan, which was very noisy. The TV had certainly seen better days, cutting out completely at one point.

On check out - part way through the check out the receptionist took several phone calls as we were left to wait whilst she sorted out a problem, instead of finishing the short check out process before taking a call.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfl685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night (saturday) for a friends birthday. The room was excellently priced and was overall a nice stay. Check in was easy with the option to pay on arrival so no hanging about at check out. My room was a twin room and was on a corner so was very large and light with all the windows. We were on the front of the building on the main road but the room was surprisingly quiet during the night. The only thing (and one that has come up quite often) was the lack of air con and just the ceiling fan. Me and my friend weren't affected by the noise during the night but I could see that some people might have been. The decor was a little dated but seemed fitting with the hotels look. Location was excellent. Only a couple of minutes walk from the shops and had some nice bars and clubs around the hotel and was also 5 Mins away from the main strip. Overall a very pleasing stay and would definitely stay here again on a visit to Leeds.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bootsy_babes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We were greeted by friendly staff and a complimetary glass of wine which is always a good start! The room and bathroom were bigger than expected due on the central location...and to be honest, both nicer than we predicted based to the good price.

Unfortunately we had to leave early evening due to a family emergency and are sorry that we didn't explain the situation to the lovely staff who must have wondered why we were making an early getaway. We'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Cosmopolitan hotel is very well placed, only minutes from the station.(Tip: as you leave the station turn right, then a bit further along the concourse go down the steep steps by the railway arches. It's a short cut to Lower Briggate so you don't need to go all the way round).
The room was small but comfortable and contained everything needed for a short break away. The bathroom was clean and bright with a bath and a lovely strong shower. I didn't have much of a view, being at the back, but this probably saved me from road noise and shouts from people in the street. I didn't eat at the hotel but I looked at the menu whilst having a drink and it seemed rather expensive.
The staff were always friendly and helpful and it was nice to be able to leave my bag at reception on the Sunday whilst I went shopping in the City Centre (only minutes away). The location is perfect for the clubs and bars - Fibre, Mission, Viaduct etc are just a minute's stagger away!

Unfortunately my stay was somewhat spoiled by the oppressive August heat. I couldn't open the window more than a few inches and the creaky old ceiling fan was quite ineffective. I therefore hardly slept a wink in the stifling heat. That was a shame because the rest of the experience was fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,099 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#12 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel
Address: 2 Briggate, Leeds LS1 4AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Leeds City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 5 minutes from Leeds City station and 1 mile from the main motorway links into Leeds. With a prime City Centre location we are ideal for both business and leisure guests. All bedrooms are decorated to a high standard and include power showers, dressing gowns, tea/coffee making facilities, ironing centre, hairdryer, LCD flat screen television luxury bathroom products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing