We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ”
Review of Hilton Leeds City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Leeds City
Ranked #38 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband bought me here for valentines weekend . Didn't arrive until late Friday night and couldn't park in car park!!! Was way too tight and other guests had hogged two spaces . They did give us a discount voucher though to park in a nearby car park and after an hour we finally got into reception and was greeted by two girls shouting at each other who were clearly drunk! To then I thought what on earth have we done?! Receptionist apologised and once we had got to our room it was lovely and clean ,telly and wifi all worked ,bed was comfy ,shower very powerful ,bath a bit small but still had a nice hot relaxing bath!! Didn't want for anything as room had tea making stuff, enough toiletries, iron and ironing board and even a bathrobe each ( and slippers which we didn't use) . Breakfast was served until 11am at weekends which was handy for a lie in and to be honest the breakfast was lovely!! Loads of choice and hot and fresh! Evening meal a bit pricy but they did have a two course special on for £15 each which we got and it was nice but they bought the starter out at the same time as the main which is weird so we ended up leaving a lot. Room got cleaned when we were out and we didn't have to check out till 12 pm on the sunday so again nice lie in . They also have a pool and gym which unfortunately we didn't get to try . Would definitely go again however would go by train next time :(

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Leila3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Leila3005

Thank you for taking the time to place your kind feedback online via Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Please be assured that all your feedback has been noted. I am sorry to read of your disappointment in regard to a car park space being available in our hotel car park. As you can appreciate, spaces are offered to all guests on a first come, first served basis. We do, as you noted offer alternative discounted car parking a short walk away.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your allocated room, and complimentary in-room supplies. Great to hear that you enjoyed your Hilton Breakfast, however, I am sorry for your disappointment with your evening meal, had you highlighted your concerns at the time with a member of staff, I am sure that they would have been delighted to put it right for you.
Thank you once again for taking the time to comment and place your feedback online.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,485 - 1,491 of 2,284 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

Only stayed one night for a conference . Room was clean and quiet. The air conditioning was very noisy but a very friendly manager came and turned it off for me ! Only ate breakfast at the Hotel but service both in the restaurant and on reception was cheerful, effective and prompt. An excellent business stopover

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Jackie B
Thank you for taking the time to place your kind feedback online via Tripadvisor, further to completing an online survey, in regard to your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I have taken the liberty of sharing your kind comments with all my team, here at the Hilton Leeds City.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your feedback online and we do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Right next to the train station with good access to the main business district of Leeds this hotel is very handy for business trips. Rooms are modern and clean. A full range of help yourself breakfast is provided along with daily newspapers. Staff are polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Christopher W

Thank you for taking the time to place your kind feedback online via Tripadvisor, further to completing an online survey in regard to your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel`s central location, finding it convenient for your business trips and found your allocated room modern and clean, enjoying your Hilton Breakfast and complimentary daily newspaper.
Please be assured that I have taken the liberty of sharing your kind feedback with my team, here at the Hilton Leeds City, as it acts as a great motivator. Great to hear that my team made you welcome.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your feedback online, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Leeds City very soon.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Nice room. Nice bathroom. Public areas seemed nice and clean. Breakfast ok but nothing to write home about. Ideal if you travel by train bang on the doorstep.

11th floor appeared to have a drunken relay race going on in the corridor at 3am. (5th floor as well from a conversation I overheard at reception)

Overall... Well to be honest disappointed. Overpriced at £109 for the night nothing special. Wouldn't want to put anybody off but sure there are better, more sensibly priced options in Leeds

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank leescott05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear leescott05

Thank you for taking the time to place your detailed feedback online via Tripadvisor, in regard to your visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Please be assured that all your feedback has been noted.
I am sorry to read that our hotel did not live up to your expectations.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your feedback online, we look forward to welcoming you back to Leeds very soon.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Although there is nothing wrong with this hotel it is probably the most basic Hilton iv stayed in. It just seemed quite dated. Would stay again if I got a good deal but otherwise you can stay in much nicer central hotels than the price paid to stay here.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank helen11936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear helen11936

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback online via Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Please be assured your feedback has been noted. I am sorry that our hotel did not live up to your expectations.
As you can appreciate, the hotel and car park were built in the 1970s.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your feedback online, we look forward to welcoming you to Leeds very soon.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Booked a suite for a valentines stay, arrived at the hotel by car to find a sign outside to say that the hotel car park was full and to speak with the concierge. My wife jumped out of the car to find no concierge present and then had to wait at reception to be given a voucher for another car park about a five minute walk away.

The lady at reception was very unwelcoming upon arrival and despite asking for a morning newspaper none arrived.

The suite we booked was large and clean but the attention to detail was non existent and a real shame that a hotel is living off its corporate brand rather than the hotel itself.

A short journey to Rudding Park Hotel in Harrogate would be a good benchmark on how the little
Things should be done and really count.


Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Visitukhotels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Visitukhotels123

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback online via Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
I am sorry to read of your disappointment. Please be assured that all your feedback has been noted and shared with the relevant Heads of Department to ensure that the appropriate re-training is carried out immediately.
As you can appreciate, our car park spaces are offered on a first come, first served basis and we do offer alternative car parking, a short walk away from the hotel. I am sorry for the inconvenience caused to you by having to queue at our Reception to obtain your voucher.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your feedback online, we look forward to welcoming you to Leeds very soon.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We were very disappointed in this hotel. Having chosen a Deluxe Room we were surprised to find the smallest room I think we have ever stayed in ! They provide lovely fluffy bathrobes but no hook to hang them in the bathroom and as the bathroom is so small it's crowded by the time you have a towel, you and a bathrobe in the space ! The shower was pitiful and the bath... well petite. I understand that this hotel has been around for many years so it lacks the amenities and space of more modern hotels. The DoubleTree Hotel just behind the Hilton would be a much better option. We would not chose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Atilla-the-Hen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Atilla-the-Hen

Thank you for taking the time to place your comments on Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Please be assured that all your feedback has been noted. I am sorry to read of your disappointment in regard to the Deluxe Room you were allocated and that it did not live up to your expectations.
Great to hear that you enjoy our sister hotel in particular, the Doubletree by Hilton Leeds City Centre.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your feedback online.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#22 of 87 in Leeds
2,161 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Leeds
#18 of 87 in Leeds
1,770 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Park Plaza Leeds
#39 of 87 in Leeds
3,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Leeds City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leeds City

Address: Neville Street, Leeds LS1 4BX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $91 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leeds City 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Leeds City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leeds City Hotel Leeds
Leeds Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing