We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms”
Review of Hilton Leeds City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Leeds City
Ranked #36 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We were very disappointed in this hotel. Having chosen a Deluxe Room we were surprised to find the smallest room I think we have ever stayed in ! They provide lovely fluffy bathrobes but no hook to hang them in the bathroom and as the bathroom is so small it's crowded by the time you have a towel, you and a bathrobe in the space ! The shower was pitiful and the bath... well petite. I understand that this hotel has been around for many years so it lacks the amenities and space of more modern hotels. The DoubleTree Hotel just behind the Hilton would be a much better option. We would not chose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Atilla-the-Hen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Atilla-the-Hen

Thank you for taking the time to place your comments on Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Please be assured that all your feedback has been noted. I am sorry to read of your disappointment in regard to the Deluxe Room you were allocated and that it did not live up to your expectations.
Great to hear that you enjoy our sister hotel in particular, the Doubletree by Hilton Leeds City Centre.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your feedback online.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,518 - 1,524 of 2,311 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed in the king suite which was very nice lots of space in the room, very central for meals bars night clubs and shopping staff on reception and the bar were very friendly and helpful. Only downside was the car park very small!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Louise A
Thank you for taking the time to place your kind comments on Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular the King Suite you were allocated, and our hotel`s central location and found my team friendly and very helpful.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your feedback online and we look forward to welcoming you back to Leeds very soon.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I am due to stay in this hotel with my partner this Sunday to Wednesday and I am dreading it after reading how dirty it is and dated it looks. I told my bf to book the plaza or Quebec or 42 boutique Or the other hilton by can and he booked this, next time I wil do the bookings. I will post after my stay what it is and take lots photos. Sad that I am not looking forward to my short break :(

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celspeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Celspeth
Thank you for taking the time to place your comments on Tripadvisor, in regard to your forthcoming visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Please be assured your feedback has been noted. I am sorry to read of your disappointment further to reading other reviews that have been posted, prior to your arrival.
May I ask that you make yourself known to our Duty Manager upon your arrival (who are contactable on a 24/7 basis, via Reception) and they will be delighted to ensure that 100% satisfaction is met and you enjoy your stay with us.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your feedback online prior to your arrival, we look forward to welcoming you to Leeds very soon.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014


Recently stayed at the hilton for a friends 50th birthday . On arrival we tackled the unbelievably difficult car park . Our car is very small , but we struggled to get into any space which was left . After driving up and down for 20 minutes we finally managed to back into a space , nightmare ! We had a pleasant night in Leeds City centre , the hotel location is ideal for that . The room itself was clean and ok , the bathroom very nice with a walk in shower . After our night out we decided to have one more drink in the hotel bar , I went for a glass of rose wine , we nearly fell over when the bar man asked for £9.30 . How you can justify that for a glass of half rate wine is beyond me , so be carefully before you order drinks . The bar man was very apologetic , saying that the prices were set by another company . Still scandalous though . The hotel is reasonably priced and ok but the car park and drink prices let it down badly .

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear paul s
Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Please be assured that all your comments have been noted. I am sorry to read of your disappointment.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your feedback online.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Only stayed one night, but this hotel is in a great location, only 5 minute walk from the railway station and the town with clubs, pubs & bars are also within walking distance.
Checking in & out was quick & easy. Didn't have breakfast but will do next time as this was our third visit & will be definitely staying again.

Room Tip: We have had all different rooms & all seem equally as as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muzz53_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Muzz53_13

Thank you for taking the time to place your kind comments on Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel`s location great, being only a 5 minute walk from the train station and central to Leeds great clubs, bars and restaurants.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your feedback online and we look forward to welcoming you back to Leeds very soon for that Hilton Breakfast!
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Fortunate to have an upgrade to a suite, fitted in with our anniversary ! Arrived at 11:30 and was happy to get checked in early. Reception staff very polite. Suite was good but was it really all that ?
My wife used the pool twice and commented both times after that the cleaning was not up to standards that she is usually accustomed to - Could do better !
The bar is expensive - Double Vodka, double brandy & a coffee £25.
A good nights sleep and a 12 noon check out.
If we were to stop again it would have to be on a deal, a very good deal.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Idleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Idleboy

Thank you for taking the time to place your comments on Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
May I take this opportunity to wish you belated Anniversary Greetings!! Delighted to read that you enjoyed your upgrade to a suite.
Please be assured all your feedback has been noted and shared with the relevant Heads of Department to ensure that the appropriate action is taken. I am sorry to read of your disappointment.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were very disappointed after being able to check in early, to find a very unimpressive "deluxe" room awaiting us. The pool area and changing rooms were dirty, with discarded wet towels on most surfaces and a filthy floor covered in hair and mud.
It is, however, advantageously located near the train station and city centre.
This Hilton was distinctly average and well below what I would expect from the Hilton brand.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogwalker85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear dogwalker85
Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to the Hilton Leeds City.
I am delighted to read that we were able to offer you an early check in, sorry that the deluxe room offered to you did not meet with your expectations.
I am sorry to read also of the unacceptable standards that you sadly experienced within the Livingwell Health Club and Swimming Pool area, during your recent stay with us. Please be assured that your feedback has been taken very seriously, and shared with our Livingwell Health Club Manager to ensure that the appropriate corrective action has been taken. Once again, please accept my sincere apologies.
On a lighter note, great to hear that you enjoyed our hotel`s central location to the train station and city centre.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your feedback online and we look forward to welcoming you back to Leeds very soon.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#22 of 87 in Leeds
2,183 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Crowne Plaza Leeds
#18 of 87 in Leeds
1,790 reviews
Park Plaza Leeds
#38 of 87 in Leeds
3,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Leeds City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leeds City

Address: Neville Street, Leeds LS1 4BX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $83 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leeds City 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Leeds City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leeds City Hotel Leeds
Leeds Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing