We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, a little pricey”
Review of Hilton Leeds City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Leeds City
Ranked #36 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I've stayed here a few times with work, most recently in December 2013

In short, It's clean & tidy, nice staff, alight Gym & pool, very good location, excellent restaurant.

But i think it's still a little pricey

Room Tip: Higher the better from what I've experienced, although the suits are quite cool too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daveyboy1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Daveyboy1878
Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent stay at the Hilton Leeds City.
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that all your comments have been noted.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your comments online.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,540 - 1,546 of 2,311 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Hilton hotel is in a great central location.Easy access to the hotel from the railway station & near all the shops, bars & restaurants. Loved the swimming pool. Good breakfast. Lovely room. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane882013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Jane882013
Thank you for taking the time to place your kind feedback on Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent stay at the Hilton Leeds City.
Great to hear that you enjoyed our hotel`s central location and that you found it beneficial to the great shops, bars and restaurants that Leeds has to offer.
Delighted to read that you found time to enjoy our swimming pool.
Please be assured that all your kind comments will be shared with my team at the Hilton Leeds City.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your comments online.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

The location is right next to the train station which is brilliant. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was fine.
My only down fall was thd lack lf bath, I was really looking forward to having a bath as I don't have one at home!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Shanika G
Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent stay at the Hilton Leeds City.
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular, our hotel`s central location and my team`s hospitality to you.
I am sorry to read that you were allocated a room without a bath. I appreciate that every guest has personal preference, and had you highlighted your concerns at the time, we would have been delighted to try and offer you a room with a bath. Please feel free to let my Reception team know, upon your next visit, and we will do our utmost to ensure that your personal requirements are met to your satisfaction.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your comments online and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed at Leeds City Hilton for a 2 day New Year's Eve (NYE) break. Whilst my room looked good and was spotlessly clean , it was cold and the bathroom uncomfortably cold.....this despite the heating/aircon system being left on at the hottest setting for my entire stay! In fairness I never informed reception about the problem as once unpacked I did not relish the thought of having to repack and change rooms. Customer service was good, but annoyingly on check out day housekeeping staff disturbed me at both 8:20 a.m. and 10:20 a.m. wanting to know when I would be checking out! Fellow travellers on the same NYE break experienced the same problem! The bar in the 4th foor function suite served flat diet coke and friends drinking in the lounge bar were told on the 1st evening of their stay (30/12/13) that the bar had run out of various drinks !!!! Staff were friendly and the food was good but overall the stay was dissappointing so next time I am in Leeds I will stay at the Marriott instead.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank jazzy912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear jazzy912

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent stay at the Hilton Leeds City.
I am sorry to read of your disappointment in regards to your stay with us and that our hotel did not live up to your expectations.
Please be assured that all your feedback has been noted and will be shared with the relevant Heads of Department. I am sorry to read of your disappointment.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your comments online.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Thought we would have a bit of a change from our normal doubletree stay. Excellent location, clean rooms but just not the doubletree. It was the same price and we got a free upgrade due to being hilton honours members but there is no cookie which I love, no crabtree and Evelyn toiletries, the bar area was deserved (we didn't even bother using our free drinks vouchers) and the breakfast in the morning was definitely in the list of top 3 worst Hilton breakfasts ever! Overly sweet orange juice, tasteless coffee, weak tea, no sugar on the tables, horrible watery scrambled egg etc. I could go on but there was honestly nothing good to say about it - I'm so glad it was free due to us being diamond members - if I'd have paid the prices they charge for it there would have been a very unhappy customer standing at the reception desk.
Next time - back to the doubletree!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTandPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Kt051083

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent stay at the Hilton Leeds City.
I am sorry to read of your disappointment in regards to your stay with us. I am sorry that our hotel did not live up to your expectations.
Delighted to read that you enjoy your stays at the Doubletree by Hilton Leeds City Centre, which is our sister hotel.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your comments online.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

good location , for train station , citys shops, pub, clubs. nice pool & over all nice place to stay.breakfast was very good lots to choose from. staff was very helpful. would stay again.happy days. gaz & shaz.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Gary S

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Tripadvisor, in regard to your stay at the Hilton Leeds City on New Year`s Eve.
A belated Happy New Year to you!!
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found time to visit the great shops, pubs and clubs of Leeds and even managing to have a swim in our Livingwell Health Club.
Delighted to read that you found my team helpful and accommodating to your needs.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your comments online. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed a couple of nights are were not very happy with our room. We had booked a suite that was quite expensive, but it was rather small with a very narrow (160 cm) double bed. The room lacked amenities usually found in suites in this price range (eg expresso machine) and the heating was noisy and not efficient. The pool was ok and we enjoyed it a lot. Breakfast was also ok but average for an hotel of this class.

Room Tip: Even suites have narrow beds, if you want a large double bed best to check for availability before b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Leeds City, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Daniel M

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent stay at the Hilton Leeds City.
Please be assured all your feedback has been noted, I am sorry that our hotel did not live up to your expectations.
Hilton do not offer expresso machines as standard in any room. I am sorry for your disappointment.
Thank you once again for taking the time to place your comments online.
Kind regards

Steven Hall
General Manager
Hilton Leeds City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#25 of 87 in Leeds
2,183 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Crowne Plaza Leeds
#18 of 87 in Leeds
1,794 reviews
Park Plaza Leeds
#39 of 87 in Leeds
3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Leeds City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leeds City

Address: Neville Street, Leeds LS1 4BX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $82 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leeds City 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Leeds City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leeds City Hotel Leeds
Leeds Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing