We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Leeds Marriott Hotel
Ranked #24 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Hotel in the center of Leeds.
All major shops nearby.
Nightlife 5 to 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    750
    291
    108
    51
See reviews for
257
719
94
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights (Friday and Saturday) in August.

The hotel is right in the heart of Leeds and so parking is at a premium which is to be expected. We used valet parking the first night as we were in a rush to get out but the carpark is literally next door (drive into the square, straight past the entrance and turn right, you can walk back to the hotel even faster on foot through a gap in the corner of the square).

The rooms were not particularly large but this is town centre England. More importantly though, they were spotless. A couple of minor maintenance issues such as a broken reading light and another light left unplugged but not really an issue. The bed unfortunately was bouncy and sloped to the middle, not very comfortable compared with others we've stayed in.

We had asked for quiet rooms and were put in rooms on the side of the building facing Briggate. The mattress didn't help but I was conscious of the sounds of shouting from the street and police sirens at intervals. The second night I looked closely at the window and felt quite a draught even when closed. It didn't seem to fit properly so that, maybe, was why the room was noisy. The second night we slept with the aircon on, noisy in its own way but better than intermittant noise.

The staff on reception and in the restaurant were very friendly and looked like they really enjoyed their jobs. Full marks to the restaurant staff on the Sunday morning, breakfast was packed and they were working flat out but were still cheerful and helpful. A real credit to the hotel.

If you are looking for a hotel right in the thick of things then read the reviews carefully and consider staying here!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TA_user_in_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

With a offer that worked out a £40 per night, per room for a quality hotel we can have no complaints.

That said ,check-in was a little rushed and the room would have been too warm without using the air conditioning, which was rather loud.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter11435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Having spent 2 nights at this hotel I was disapointed and won't be going back.
Arriving at the hotel check in was good, rooms nice although a little dated.
When asking for directions to Bodington Hall the congerige laughed at us and stated bodingtons beer was the only bodingtons around and started to make jokes about my request to others, having lived in Leeds all his life I expected him to be aware of Bodington Hall actually being the universities sports facilities!!
On Saturday morning I was awoken by room keeping knocking on doors along the corridor at 8.30am, she entered my room and as I had just woken up she left only to return half an hour later, When leaving the room for the day I let her know so she could clean the room, I returned later that day and the room hadnt been done. What a stupid time to start cleaning rooms at, its a city centre hotel which had large groups staying, all of who did not like being woke up at 8.30am on a Saturday.
We decided to order breakfast buns for collection, when i arrived at the lobby to collect these the only member of staff was at reception and didn't know the service was offered and sent me to the resturant, where a member of staff sent me back to the lobby, having waited 10 minutes someone arrived and started making the two teas I ordered although it took another five minutes for my breakfast to arrived, obvsious my order was forgotten about and quickly cooked while I waited, considing this service is advertised as a pick up on your way out facility, it included a long wait while no other customers were present. When I finally got my breakfast it took another 5 minutes to get sauce which was requested on my order and I found a long blonde hair in the middle of my sandwich, I didnt complain about this as having waited so long for my breakfast and being make fun of by the congerige I just wanted to leave.
When checking out it was clear my breakfast order was forgotten as it wasnt on the room bill - considering the size and star rating for this hotel, charging room accounts should be standard.
Overall I was very very disappointed with this hotel and won't be visiting Marriott again.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weddingplanner87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We've just spent the Bank holiday here, 3 nights on the 3 for 2 promotion, so only paid £130 total. Great price for a great hotel. Marriott, as always lives up to a high standard with clean modern rooms and great staff services. We didn't have breakfast included and at £14.99 pp a bit pricey considering your in the central city so there are loads of cheaper options on your door step. Parking was quite expensive again as it is the city centre, so we managed to find parking on the outskirts.
Over all a fab stay in a great city, hope to visit again one day.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocalllo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed at the Leeds Marriott for three days (Friday to Monday) and got a 2 for 3 deal by booking directly with them (£130 3 nights room only)

We arrived about 11.30am and were greeted very warmly by reception and given a choice of rooms immediately (room with a view or quieter etc)

We chose a quieter room on the 5th floor overlooking the inside of the hotel – it actually had quite a good view over Leeds.

The room was of a high standard, nicely furnished with big flat screen TV and modern bathroom with bath & lots of toiletries. It was very quite within the hotel, but please be warned that Friday & Saturday nights are very busy & noisy in the town centre into the small hours, and whichever room you choose, some of this noise will be heard – the nice thing about the Marriott is that its in its own courtyard, so tucked away from the bustle of the town centre – a real advantage compared to other hotels we saw.

We used the hotel swimming pool a couple of times – it’s a reasonable size & very clean.

Only complaints – Internet in the rooms is very expensive & if you don’t have breakfast included its expensive at £15 per person – we went out to Wetherspoons.

The Marriott is very centrally located, 5 minutes from the station & a few minutes from most shops, restaurants & the excellent market.

So if you want a central base in Leeds we would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jclynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe
2 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Stopped one night on a saturday. Excellent staff. Room is modern, trendy and very clean.
Pool facilities very good. Breakfast is buffet style and very good.
1st class hotel in a perfect location for leeds shops and night life.
will use this hotel next time we go to leeds.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfpro99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Leeds
#20 of 87 in Leeds
1,643 reviews
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,180 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#15 of 87 in Leeds
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeds Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeds Marriott Hotel

Property: Leeds Marriott Hotel
Address: 4 Trevelyan Square | Boar Lane, Leeds LS1 6ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Leeds
#15 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#19 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leeds Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European charm and a touch of modern elegance await you at the Leeds Marriott Hotel. Located in the heart of city centre, we offer unbeatable access to some of Leeds' most celebrated attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Leeds Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Leeds
Leeds Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing