We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay, but beware the car parking charges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leeds Marriott Hotel
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Decent stay, but beware the car parking charges”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Very much a City Center hotel, but without its own car park reliant upon the nearby NCP, but it adds a £ 16.50 cost to your stay if using your car. All that said the rooms are very comfortable and my overall stay and impressions were good.

Room Tip: No matter what floor you are put on make sure that your room windows are fully closed, the good citi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevSuzSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    756
    295
    110
    51
See reviews for
266
727
94
462
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was a straight forward shopping trip, I stayed for 2 nights to have a full day round the shops. the hotel is in an excellent location for the town centre, very handy for popping back with your bags of shopping. i didnt eat there as always treat myself out so cant comment on the food, but the room was loverly, clean, comfy with a big queen size bed, bathroom well stocked with goodies and the staff swopped my pillows for softer non feather ones very quickly after my request. staff at reception ver friendly and helpful. no complaints at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyslapcabbage54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

On first entering the Marriott, everything is as it should be with a good staff at the reception. Booking ahead is recommended if you have planned your stay, it just makes thing go a little smoother. The decor is modern and a little moody, if a little dark at times. The particular room I stayed in had a huge window overlooking the wharfe flats, which was kind of interesting, as people could quite literally see you sleep - unless you draw the huge blackout curtains of course and then you have a comfortable, private room with excellent facilities to refresh your body with.
It's position next to the station is great for "onward journey" stays and it's great for a late night clubbing date or too, if you have the stomach for that!
Breakfast was my favourite have Eggs Benedict which cured my then quite bad hangover!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rentonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We only stayed one night, which was a saturday, and found the room comfortable. We heard no noise at all. The staff we found helpful and check in and out was swift. We ate in the attached Indian restaurant, the food was very good and the staff very attentive. The hotel is ideally situated to walk around the shops and city. We went to the theatre that evening which was only a ten minute walk away. Breakfask was very nice with a good variety. We would stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catwoman7_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent 6 days at this hotel for a business trip. It's a beautiful building, great location, helpful staff, good food and impressive fitness/spa facilities. The biggest downside however is the location, while close to amazing shopping and restaurants, points of interest and transportation... at night the entire area is transformed into a hell raising party pit for the local university kids. It's not just lively, it's a full on blow out of screaming, honking horns, fights and vomit with a pulse pounding backdrop of Cher's Do You Believe in Life After Love? playing over it all. And it's not just on the weekends, it goes from Monday to Sunday, escalating into Friday and Saturday, often lasting until 4 or 5 am.

We were up on the 6th floor so the noise wasn't terribly disruptive but it was always there and I can imagine it being worse on lower levels.

Our Standard Room was clean and well maintained, small but enough room to be comfortable. The mattress was a little rough, not very firm, saggy in the middle. An awkward little thing, there are no clock radios in the standard rooms. For a clock you need to use the little digital display on the TV, which is across the room and a little hard to find and read when you're bleary-eyed and wondering what time it is that people are STILL partying outside. I asked about this from the staff and was informed that the clock radios (with ipod docks) are available in upgraded suites.

The Midtown Grill offers a nice breakfast buffet with good selection and friendly staff.

Really enjoyed the fitness facilities. The pool was a great size, very refreshing. The whirlpool was relaxing, sauna also nice. Well appointed gym, and again, great staff.

The most frustrating part of this stay however was the internet access. Fifteen pounds for 24 hours or six pounds per hour. The web site says there is free access in public areas. What it doesn't say is you only get one hour of access in a 24 hour period. So if you wanted to check a restaurant review before heading out, the hour of internet starts there and won't be available when you return later in the evening to check your emails, then you're asked to pay by the hour. Also, we couldn't get internet in most public areas. The lobby didn't have a signal, the Midtown Grill was limited, though you could get it in the gym. It said "high speed" internet too, though it was slow at times, even when we paid for wired access. Because we had meetings out for most of the week, we felt getting the 24 hour access was nuts so in all we paid for one full day and four one hour sessions. Thirty nine pounds!

I realise Marriot headquarters sets the rates, but there are hotels that offer much better deals and given a choice, I'd go to the hotel that had more convenient access with a saner price. I'd enjoy my stay better knowing I could access information I needed, connect with work and family without having to deal with this extra stress.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lostintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Although the hotel is very central, from a parking point of view it's poor as they feed into a run down ncp in a dimly lit car park 5 minutes walk away. This however is not my main issue. Business travellers beware of surely unhelpful reception staff who will look at your company's charging nest ructions and try and find a away to make you feel small. Difficult to recommend a hotel with such poor regard for customers. Shame really because the room was quite nice.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank erichowell09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Just had a 3 night stay, a very good experience, lovely room 419 , the staff were great. Will defiantly be returning, the pool was super. Breakfast had everything you could think of, and was well organised

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helmsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Crowne Plaza Leeds
#20 of 87 in Leeds
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Leeds City
#34 of 87 in Leeds
2,124 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeds Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeds Marriott Hotel

Property: Leeds Marriott Hotel
Address: 4 Trevelyan Square | Boar Lane, Leeds LS1 6ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Leeds
#15 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#19 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leeds Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European charm and a touch of modern elegance await you at the Leeds Marriott Hotel. Located in the heart of city centre, we offer unbeatable access to some of Leeds' most celebrated attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leeds Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Leeds
Leeds Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing