We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No sleep if you stay on a Saturday !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leeds Marriott Hotel
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed at the Marriott on Saturday 13th October 2012, we had booked an executive room on the third floor at the front of the hotel looking out over the main entrance of the hotel.
First impressions were excellent, the staff are very friendly and polite the hotel looks very smart and upmarket.
The executive room was lovely, the executive lounge was comfortable and relaxing at this point the hotel had top marks.
I used the gym which was ok and then ordered room service, which was the best curry I had tasted in along time from the in house Indian restaurant.
At midnight tried to go to sleep this is were it all went wrong because the room was overlooking the square, people were using a cut through from the main road boars lane to the road at the back of the hotel.
This resulted in noise from 10pm until at least 5am, at one point a group of four people chanting outside of the hotel entrance at 2.30am waiting for a taxi pick up, the hotel reception did not intervene.
The constant horn blowing of taxis again went on until at least 5am, I understood that locals council had a law preventing taxis using there horn after midnight in residential areas???.
The overall result was no sleep for the night, and then a 2 hour drive to complete that morning, thanks Marriott.
We rang reception and complained and they offered us earplugs as some form of compensation!!.
No apology was offered or discount just a blank look as if the staff were blissfully unaware of this issue.
Marriott need to address this issue otherwise they ae going to lose a lot of business and keep having negative reviews placed on trip advisor.
The windows need to be soundproof to a higher standard or the square needs to be gated off to stop the drunks wondering through from boar lane.
Really disappointed in our stay as this massively changed my opinion of the hotel especially at £150 for a executive room come on Marriott sort it out or lose your returning customers.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank BPASouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Leeds Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear BPASouthport

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I would like to discuss the points you have raised in your review so if at all possible could you please call me on 0113 2366366 or email me paul.collins@marriotthotels.com with a contact number and a convenient time to call.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards

Paul Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,718 - 1,724 of 2,183 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just back from a great weekend at the Marriott - all the staff were very friendly. Even, better, we were upgraded to a suite! The hotel is centrally located - near shops and restaurants. The concierge was very helpful at suggesting eating places and also a lovely walk along the Aire/Calder Navigation on Sunday morning. Breakfast was (as per usual in Marriott hotels) very comprehensive. We tried the bar in the evening - can recommend the strawberry Bellini's! Although our room faced the front (Boar Lane), it wasn't noisy at all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Leeds Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Judy F

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us here at the Leeds Marriott.

I am very please you enjoyed your upgrade and our 1871 Bar.

I have passed on your comments to all the associates.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the Leeds Marriott in the near future.

Regards

Paul Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel on a Saturday night. On arrival things looked promising, we were greeted by the Concierge who parked our car for us (additional charge but worth it). Check in was fine but then it went downhill. Our room was on the 4th floor overlooking the 24hr McDonalds + Cab Rank. We got back to our room at Midnight and spent the rest of the night listening to Cabs honking their horns, drunks shouting and swearing and Emergency service Sirens. Rang Reception and their suggestion was to offer us earplugs, so clearly they are aware of the problem. Rooms have no sound insulation at all. Gave up at 4am and drove home for some sleep. Hotel didn't even offer us any compensation for the missed breakfast!!!
I did visit the Pool area in the afternoon but that was a waste of time. Sauna - Not working, Jacuzzi - Not working. Overheard Gym members complaining about the membership costs and nothing ever working. Don't waste your money, find somewhere else to stay if visiting Leeds

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EssexSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Leeds Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear EssexSyd

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I would like to discuss the points you have raised in your review.
Could you please call me on 0113 2366366 or email me on paul.collins@marriotthotels.com
with a contact number and a convenient time to call.

Regards

Paul Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

the hotel has everything you could require and a step out of the lobby onto the main walk to the corn exchange and city centre. the Indian AM that is under the hotel is fanastic and what with the original Dyson surroundings makes it an excellent place to eat. would highly 5 Star this hotel for rooms, breakfast,location and service

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Leeds Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear dawn l

Thank you for your review.

I have passed on your comments to AM Kitchen and all our Associates.

I hope we can welcome you back to the Leeds Marriott in the near future.

Regards

Paul Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Typically Marriott in terms of decor, style etc. HOWEVER, if you would like any amount of sleep then this hotel is not for you. Stayed in a 4th floor room and from the moment I turned the TV off at 1030pm it was obvious that there is ZERO sound insulation from the street below.

There was constant noise from cars, drunken people shouting as they left pubs and clubs all the way through the night.... Literally ALL through the night. This wasnt just background noise but it sounded like they were right outside of the window, not to mention the noise of the ventilation fans on the roof. There was a brief pause around 530am but then the street cleaners came out and the noise continued.

The staff are fully aware of this noise and make no mention of this at check in...... fully aware as they dont even bother asking if you had a pleasant stay when you check-out...!!!

Seriously, if you want sleep then DO NOT STAY HERE. If you're planning on coming back to your room in a drunken stupor at 3/4 am then you may manage some sleep.

Room Tip: Dont stay here - far too noisy for any quality of sleep to be achieved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt_Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Leeds Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Matt_Yorkshire

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your stay with us here at the Leeds Marriott.

I am sorry that you had a disturbed nights sleep.
We do suffer on some of the rooms lately on the 4th floor Executive rooms.
Most of the Executive rooms are triple glazed so this helps with the associated outside noise from the City Centre night life.
Matt should you have the opportunity to stay with us again please let me know and I will do my best to ensure you have a good nights sleep.

Regards

Paul Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Leeds Marriot is well positioned just off the bottom of the main shopping road Brigate. It is quie tricky to get to as it sits in a little secluded square of the main loop ring road so leae plenty of time for a couple of trips around the loop before you find it! We paid to have the car valet parked which, at £20:00 for 24 hrs, is not cheap but the car parks in city centre leeds are all between £15-18 anyway.
The room was very clean and well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities and a lovely comfortable bed. The staff were all very helpful and made us feel very welcome. We stayed overnight on a Saturday and the breakfast on Sunday was from 6:30 - to 12:00 , very civilised.The breakfast, included in the deal, was excellent with a wide choice of traditional full english, continental pastries and a range of cheeses and meats. This gave us time to sample the great pool and spa facilities before our "brunch" at 11:00. All in all, a good base to explore Leeds, resonable prices and good service. I'll be back

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room facing the back of the hotel to void the main road noise although you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Veteran_traveller041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Leeds Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Veteran_traveller041

Thank you for your review
I am pleased you enjoyed stay with us and I see that you enjoyed your ‘Brunch’
We do try to offer various deals on the car parking but I do agree with you they are not the best prices in the country.

Look forward to seeing you again soon

Regards

Paul Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great lovation for shopping and The Leeds Armories. Appeared to have a blocked sink inmy room on arrival but reported when I went for dinner and was fixed by time I returned to room, with a small card to say it had been done. Beautiful foot in the restaurant and great breakfast choices.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollyjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Leeds Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear pollyjb

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us here at the Leeds Marriott Hotel.
I am pleased you enjoyed you stay with us.
I have passed on your comments to all our associates.
We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Paul Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Hilton Leeds City
#36 of 87 in Leeds
2,311 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Leeds
#18 of 87 in Leeds
1,791 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
The Queens - Leeds
#16 of 87 in Leeds
3,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeds Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeds Marriott Hotel

Address: 4 Trevelyan Square | Boar Lane, Leeds LS1 6ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Leeds
#14 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#19 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $88 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leeds Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European charm and a touch of modern elegance await you at the Leeds Marriott Hotel. Located in the heart of city centre, we offer unbeatable access to some of Leeds' most celebrated attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Leeds Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Leeds
Leeds Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing