We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be deceived by the picture!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Met Hotel Leeds
Ranked #45 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Surrey
1 review
“Don't be deceived by the picture!”
Reviewed September 21, 2007

We booked a room through lastminute.com purely because of the picture on the website. However, the room allocated was on the 5th floor and was very disappointing. The floor was creaky and the room was very much in need of redecoration. The paint was falling off the window ledge which was also in need of cleaning. Of particular concern was the kettle which was far from clean inside. Overall the room was not of a 4 star standard although the communal areas were much better.

However, the buffet breakfast was good.

So make sure you are booking for the right room!

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jukbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    456
    401
    216
    154
See reviews for
82
453
122
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2007

Ok, it's my own fault, I'm always leaving booking hotels to the last minute and my hotel of preference was fully booked again. "We can get you in the Met" said the agent. Oh no I thought.

I've stayed in the hotel 3 or 4 times now and I'm yet to be thrilled by the hotel in any way whatsoever. The comments I've read on here regarding the state of the rooms reassured me that the reception hadn't taken a personal dislike to me. Last night I was up in the eaves on the 6th floor (the lift only goes to the 5th floor).

£15 for 24 hours of intenet access or 50 pence per minute (the connection is actually very good) is not what I'd call VFM. I can't remember the last 2* hotel I was in that only had the 5 terrestrial tv channels available.

I've never bothered with breakfast as to be honest I just want to get out of the hotel as quick as I can in the morning.

Hopefully one of these days I'll learn my lesson and get my bookings sorted out well in advance so I don't have to dread my evenings in Met again.

  • Liked — Departure
  • Disliked — Arrival
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RicoRico71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leeds hotels

England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2007

Stayed here for a weekend with friends. We had a room that had supposedly been renovated - u couldn't tell! Small room standard bathroom not impressed at all. Beware the bedrooms are nothing like the photos show. Breakfast was ok but they kept running out of hot food. There was a wedding on and you felt like they couldn't be bothered with any other guests. I usually stay at the Marriot along the road it is cheaper, more luxurious, better breakfast and has a gym and swimming pool. Take my advice and stay there.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themoonsaballoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Had 4 rooms in the hotel the check in was quit slow.
Hotel has a grand entrance. Rooms one room (4th floor) had a hole in celing and ours had damp patch on the celling.
The hotel was ok but rooms not as advertised. We were on a hen night and the bar staff ignored us and continued to serve guest who were at a wedding there.
The breakfast was really nice but the staff rude they wouldnt let 7 of us on a table for 6 and made 3 of us wait for ages, people in que behind us had been there few days and said its the same every day you have to wait for a seat even though its self service.
The location is great for shopping and nights out. Hotel is expensive for drinks £1.60 for half a coke.
Theres tea coffee and buscuts in room along with iron ironing board and fan.
Rooms were red hot no aor con, but the beds lush and comfy.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyboo1Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO DURHAM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

we arrived at the hotel a 1pm on fri afternoon didn,t think we would be able to check in till 2pm but reception said it was fine,she was very helpful
read some reviews about this hotel and was a little concerned,maybe its all been done out since then but it all looked very new clean and modern
we were allocated a room on the third floor, i requisted a quiet room and we got 1 back of hotel with not much traffic noise.
the room was modern spotless clean so was the bathroom with clean towels every day, the bed was very soft and nice, the room was a little hot but they did have a fan in the room
room was provided with iron,ironing board, and hairdryer.

breakfast was lovely everything you could ask for and if you required anything you only had 2 ask the staff,
its only a 3 to 5 mins walk from the train station and 10mins max to the town centre with loads of shops bars and clubs.

the only complained we had was when the maid cleaned our room she left our door open so when we returned it was still open ( luckly nothing was taken) i told reception and she made a note and was going to inform the house cleaner and couldn,t apoligize enough

  • Liked — LOCATION AND HOW CLEAN IT WAS
  • Disliked — DOOR LEFT OPEN
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALIBACARDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

Stayed at this hotel for a romantic break away, booked it via another website but when we arrived the room we were allocated was on the 5th floor and it was far from a 4*rating, the bed was broken, the room looked dirty, the bathroom was stained and the bathroom door would not close. We were not happy!!!! We went down to reception to express our disatisfaction, the gentleman we spoke to was very good he explained that some of the rooms were waiting to be renovated but he would move us to another room, he expained that the standard rooms did have an extra charge but the hotel would meet this cost for us. The room we were given was lovely, the bed was very comfortable and the staff friendly and the room looked as advertised on the website. (3rd floor)

I would say that to avoid disappointment I would avoid anything on the 5th floor, the 4th floor I cannot comment on but we found our stay more than comfortable on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2007

Stayed in this hotel for my hen weekend, we were so disappointed with the rooms allocated to our party. Most of the girls where on floor 5 and it looked like it belonged to a different hotel (1940's wallpaper peeling off the walls, stains on the carpet, dark and dismal) - when you walk in to entrance of hotel its very modern and contemporary. Some of the girls had a room on floor 4 and it looked exactly like it does on the website, really modern and worthy of the 4 star rating and price. We complained to the receptionist and she said we had bought a standard room not a contemporary one, but how come some of the party were allocted to the contemporary rooms? The room price was the same for all of us but we all received different standards of rooms. In the end I asked to speak to the manager and a few members of the party were given refurbished rooms but not all, which means half got a 2 star room for the same price as 4 star - not acceptable!!

Floor 5 upwards should not be classed as 4 star and should be given out at a discounted rate. If staying at this hotel soon please ask for rooms that are on floor 4 and below.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank girls-night-out07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,217 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The New Ellington
#14 of 87 in Leeds
802 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Park Plaza Leeds
#39 of 87 in Leeds
2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Met Hotel Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Hotel Leeds

Property: The Met Hotel Leeds
Address: King Street, Leeds LS1 2HQ, England (Formerly Metropole Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Met Hotel Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of this vibrant city, in the central business area The Met Hotel, Leeds is ideally placed close to local attractions and major transport links including the train station. A leading four-star hotel in Leeds city centre, The Met Hotel, Leeds is one of the first choices for conferences, meetings, special events, dining, short breaks and weekend breaks in Leeds. With its ornate terracotta architecture, The Met Hotel, Leeds is a magnificent grade 2 listed building and an ideal venue for a wide range of conference, meetings, banqueting and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Met Hotel Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Leeds
Metropole Hotel The Met
Met Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing