We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an awful hotel- 4* - what a joke!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Met Hotel Leeds
Ranked #46 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Aldershot, Hants
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What an awful hotel- 4* - what a joke!!”
Reviewed November 8, 2008

On arriving at this hotel I was booked into a single room on the top floor. This is an old hotel and on arriving in the room found it to be very tired looking although the bathroom did look like it had been recently re-vamped. I then sat on the bed. It was the noisiest bed I have ever sat on. The slightest movement made a noise. I went to reception and spoke to a lovely helpful receptionist called Kat who said that there were no more rooms. I was not moving wihout a result as there was no way I would have slept at all and it was another room or another hotel. She then swapped me with another guest who had yet to arrive - I m sorry whoever you were...
The rooms had sash windows and didn't close properly and so it was noisy from outside. There were mould marks on the pillowslip which I handed into reception when I checked out the following day.The bathmat was threadbare with 2 holes in it. The lift was broken, the floors sqeak, the sink in the bathroom was a cloakrrom size sink not that of a 4* hotel, there was dust on the doors, skirting, corners of bathroom. I couldn't wait to leave and go and have a good wash!!!
Never again!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — cleanliness and standard for a 4star hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank heffalumploveshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    446
    399
    213
    153
See reviews for
82
442
121
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

I booked this without reading the Tripadvisor reviews (first mistake!) and then once i had heard about them i mulled over cancelling but it was just before my visit to this hotel so at the risk of not finding anywhere on a Friday and Saturday night i didnt cancel (2nd mistake).

Hotel Location - Good - cant be faulted, although its car park isnt signposted so you will more than likely pass this on a busy one way street - not ideal to stop outside to unload either!
Building (from the outside) - Nice
Staff - Helpful...although the reception desk is too small for the size of the hotel and therefore understaffed as there is no room to put more than 2 people behind it , had to wait 20 minutes in a long queue to check out

Another reason i didnt cancel was due to being led to believe from its own website and others that a refurbishment of the rooms had taken place. The lobby certainly looked impressive, the literature of its other hotels also showed similar modern interiors and the picture I saw of a refurbished room of the Met looked impressive.

Either bad luck or some mis-information somewhere along the lines resulted in my staying in a room which was at best a very bad seaside guest house. The room was not refurbished, decor was old and tired, the bed was very uncomfortable and the bathroom just didnt feel clean (bath had bad staining for example). There was also no mini bar (which is a first on me in a 4* hotel room to be honest)

For what is billed as a modern - above average priced - central leeds hotel it seems to lack 3 of the 4 stars it claims to have in the room I had,

Thankfully Leeds as a city is fab, will not stay or recommend this hotel again though - even when its finally fully refurbished!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flydanair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leeds hotels

nottingham
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2008

i stayed in the met hotel for 3 days due to a conference i was attending..and after looing at the reviews thought i had best get a deluxe contempary double, which was extremely dissapointing...i think the hotel should take a realistic look at what other hotels chains are offering to bring them to speed of what is expected of a 4 star hotel! my t.v was old and tiny, no fridge, no mini bar, no selection of t.v channels, housekeeping woke me up despite having do not disturb on the door..even if they hadnt opened the door, i still heard them shout 'housekeeping'to the other guests at 9 in the morning! in all my experiences, in many hotels, this is a very dissapointing one. I have to ask the question why is it luxurious? whats modern about it and whats contempary?....even ibis have flat screen in their rooms now and thats a 2 star!! and dont get me started on the staff or the prices for drinks at the (tiny) bar ...we tried to get 'flaming sambukka' that would not light..i wonder why (surely not watered down)!! the beer was flat and 2 small glasses of house wine was over £12 ..shocking since it was corked.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chefcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Despite a "£6m" upgrade, the Hotel resembles a dilapidated railway station, with far too many guests and far too few staff. Rooms are small, and have been upgraded on a budget, that really only allows a paint job on a flaking Victorian shell - the rooms are hot and stuffy, and the noise from the nightime entertainment means you will not sleep until at least 2.00am. Room Service took 2 hours, and then was wrong, and a further 1 hour wait ensued. The buffet breakfast was ok except all beverages were poor and cold - but having to queue for breakfast reflected the shortage of staff to clear tables. There are many far better hotels in Leeds, this is one of the poorest.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidaymaker099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2008

My husband took me to the Met for a weekends shopping in Leeds. On arrival at the Met the Duty Manger came out to show us where to park the car which was a good start, although you did have to pay for parking!. When we checked in and the reception staff were very helpful and friendly, and the reception area is beautiful.
For shopping the location is fantastic, and the reception staff were only too happy to provide a map and point us in the direction of the shops. When we returned we booked a table and had a three course meal in the hotel restaurant, the food was above average for a hotel, and the service was friendly and efficeint. After dinner we had drinks in the bar which was a little pricey but you expect that in a hotel, again the bar staff seemed very happy to serve us and made us feel very welcome.
The room was very clean and comfortable and the decor was modern.
Overall I loved the Met and definatly would go back. Ignore the negative reviews, some people dont know a good thing when they stay at it!!

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the internet charges
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JABurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

The second time I've stayed here. This time, the restaurant roof had apparently fallen down the previous evening so the hotel wasn't operating at full bore. Had a meal with a group in a separate room which was well served and cooked so no issues there at the end of the day. The beds are extrremely comfortable but the rooms are a bit small and old fashioned.
A very good location right in the centre of Leeds, only about 100yds from the Station.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Size of rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truediamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

Booked with Hotel Connexions . great rate. Very central.
Parking was limited , and judging by the scratches on the walls many drivers had trouble negoiating the very narrow entrance and you have to rveerse out to exit ( even more difficult)!)
Hotel staff very helpful. Place was spotless. Unfortunately the restauraunt was undergoing mmeregency repairs, and breakfast was to be served in another room.
Room was small clean , and comfortable.
TV had lost it's tuning and I could only access one channel., not reuqired because Leeds is v vibrant, LOADS of places to eat and drink.
I found SOUZ le NEZ , under QUEBEC's Hotel- - very busy French restaraunt, bustling and delightful. the Sea Bass was beautifully cooked, and half bottle of champagne was great with it! ( Not cheap- but v v good)
AND walking distance from the MET.
Definitely would return.
Felt safe staying as a single female.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,180 reviews
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The New Ellington
#17 of 87 in Leeds
794 reviews
Park Plaza Leeds
#38 of 87 in Leeds
2,881 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#21 of 87 in Leeds
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Met Hotel Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Hotel Leeds

Property: The Met Hotel Leeds
Address: King Street, Leeds LS1 2HQ, England (Formerly Metropole Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Met Hotel Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of this vibrant city, in the central business area The Met Hotel, Leeds is ideally placed close to local attractions and major transport links including the train station. A leading four-star hotel in Leeds city centre, The Met Hotel, Leeds is one of the first choices for conferences, meetings, special events, dining, short breaks and weekend breaks in Leeds. With its ornate terracotta architecture, The Met Hotel, Leeds is a magnificent grade 2 listed building and an ideal venue for a wide range of conference, meetings, banqueting and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Met Hotel Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Leeds
Metropole Hotel The Met
Met Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing