We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice looking city centre hotel with friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Met Hotel Leeds
Ranked #44 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We decided to try this hotel out even though we are local as we have 20 or so family and friends coming up from the south who need central Leeds hotel accommodation this coming November.
We booked a very cheap deal via 'secret rooms' on 'lastminute.com' to suss it out.
Close enough to the train station for all arriving that way.

This is a lovely old hotel that looks as good on the inside as it does on the outside.
We both remarked how clean it was in the common areas and indeed our room.
We were given a room high up in the hotel at the back so we were not bothered with traffic noise at all.

Our room was large enough with high ceilings, it had a very comfy double bed made up with nice bed linen.
The bed did not have any form of decoration on it to make it look nice, like a couple of cushions or a runner thing at the bottom.
I know these get taken off for sleeping in, but first impressions stick and it looked so basic for such a nice cozy bed and impressive hotel.

The room and furniture in general (especially the window frame and net curtains) were a bit tired looking to be honest, but all dust free so that was good, the room/bathroom was very clean.
The bathroom was tiny but functional, not large enough for two to get ready in, infact it was a bit of a faff to get in and out of the bath/shower due to the shower screen and smallness of it all.

I feel the standard of room we were placed in on this very quiet night in the hotel reflected the price we had paid for it, which was as cheap as chips, I also feel that this type of room may well be given to single guests.

Both reception staff we came in to contact with were lovely and an asset to the place.
I liked the hotel in itself and the location of it is just great for the city.
I once stayed here years ago and the room was much better then and more impressive, maybe it is a case of you get what you pay for.

I will recommend this hotel due to a number of reasons, but as I now know for myself and after reading other reviews there are areas of it that need addressing about some of the bedrooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whatnamecaniuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear whatnamecaniuse

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your recent stay at The Met Hotel.

It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Met Hotel.

Your comments regarding the awkwardness of the bathroom have been duly noted and we will be looking into this immediately.

I hope that we may be able to welcome you back to The Met Hotel at some point in the very near future, hopefully with your family in November

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Simply poor. Shabby room, tired old bathrooms. Restaurant not open. Bar food awfull. Maintenance workers at 8.11 am.
Got a room for £39 via trivago, even at that price would not return. I am sure this was ounce a grand old hotel. Alas those days have defiantly gone.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank davidharveymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Davidharveymoon

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience.

It was disappointing to hear that you did not find The Met value for money and that you did not have a completely pleasurable experience during your stay.

I am pleased to say that here at The Met we are currently in the midst of an ongoing process to rejuvenate our bedrooms and bring them in line with the more modern offering.

I hope that at some point in the future you may be able to return to us to view the changes that we have made for yourself.

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

It's quite an old building, so there are a few creaky floorboards. But the staff are warm, friendly and helpful.

It's only a few mins walk from the station/town centre but they do have car parking there too.

The wifi is apparently only free in the lobby/restaurant, but as my room was on the first floor, I managed to get it in my room, which was a result. They do have hard wired internet in the rooms if not.

My room was small, but comfortable. Clean and neat. Pretty much all I needed for the couple of days I was there.

Breakfast in the restaurant could have been served from 06:30 for those of us that have early starts, but 7am is just about ok. Food was nice.

I'd stay again.

Room Tip: If you want the free wifi - try and get a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnynats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Sunnynats

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your recent stay at The Met Hotel.

It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Met Hotel.

I hope that we may be able to welcome you back to The Met Hotel at some point in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend break with my mam. Staff were so nice and friendly. Rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. In a great location, within walking distance of shops, bars and restaurants. Really couldn't fault it

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickicDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear NickicDublin

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your recent stay at The Met Hotel.

It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Met Hotel.

I hope that we may be able to welcome you back to The Met Hotel at some point in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Good single room. Asked for and was given quiet room, away from city centre noise. Lovely sleep thank you. Very helpful staff... Though could probably do with a few more on reception during busy times of day. Location perfect with good access to restaurants.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank TiffonLocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Tiffonlocation

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent experience at The Met Hotel.

Your comments regarding the reception desk has been duly noted and we will be actioning this in the very near future.

I hope that we may be able to welcome you back to The Met Hotel at some point again in the future.

Kindest Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Just returned from this hotel and feel I should give an honest review. Hotel location is great central to all Leeds bars, restaraunts and shops only a five minute walk at most. We were able to check in early as we arrived at 1pm which at first we thought was great. we got to the room which can only be described as a box and nothing like the website pictures. The bathroom was a complete joke my husband said he could brush his teeth whilst using the toilet and he wasn't wrong!! Knees were Touching the basin. Manoeuvring the shower screen to get in to the bath was tricky due to the cramped proximity of the the basin and toilet. We stayed on the second floor and didn't get much sleep as the guests in the room above paced the floors most of the night which in most hotels would not have been a problem but the floorboards just creaked and creaked. If you like a view you will not enjoy this hotel as our view was of the guest rooms on the other side of the hotel. We also paid to park in the hotel car park for the 2 nights which cost £40 absolutely ridiculous cost considering you've already paid for a so called luxury hotel. Disappointing birthday break was expecting a lot better for a 4*

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here on the off chance on a deal during April 2014, probably not our first choice in Leeds but we went for it all the same. The building is made from terracotta and the design is quite ornate and quirky probably making think twice about staying there, but across the threshold is a lovely cherished and looked after period hotel.
The décor is well maintained and the staff a delight. We upgraded our room on arrival for £20 per night to a larger room. What we got for our £20 was brilliant. The room was long not deep with a table and chairs, modern flat screen tv and a huge modern clean bathroom. Not wanting to forget the bed it was huge and very comfy for a good nights sleep and ample pillows to get lost in.
We had a great time here in our room and cannot comment on the basic room so if you do have a punt do try for an upgrade I don't think you will be disappointed. Dont expect good views from the rooms

We didnt eat or drink Here.

What could they do Better?

Wifi is free but near impossible to use.
Carpets in the hallway much to be desired.
bigger tv maybe?

We only gave a 4 because of the lack of some facilities ie pool

Room Tip: Just upgrade on arrival for £20
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uktravellerYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear UKTravellerYorkshire

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your experience at The Met. It is through these honest comments that we are able to monitor and assess our current offering to guests.

It was very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your upgrade and that you found this value for money and that our intricate terracotta frontage did not go unnoticed – it is due to this Grade II listing that we are unable to add some off the amenities that you mentioned, specifically a pool area.

Since receiving your review I am pleased to say that we have now a fixed time frame in which we will be upgrading our Wi-Fi making it more users friendly and also accessible in the bedrooms.

I hope that we may be able to welcome you back to The Met at some point in the future to judge these changes for yourself.

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
The Queens - Leeds
#12 of 87 in Leeds
3,303 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,118 reviews
Park Plaza Leeds
#40 of 87 in Leeds
3,039 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Met Hotel Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Hotel Leeds

Address: King Street, Leeds LS1 2HQ, England (Formerly Metropole Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $82 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Met Hotel Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of this vibrant city, in the central business area The Met Hotel, Leeds is ideally placed close to local attractions and major transport links including the train station. A leading four-star hotel in Leeds city centre, The Met Hotel, Leeds is one of the first choices for conferences, meetings, special events, dining, short breaks and weekend breaks in Leeds. With its ornate terracotta architecture, The Met Hotel, Leeds is a magnificent grade 2 listed building and an ideal venue for a wide range of conference, meetings, banqueting and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Met Hotel Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Leeds
Metropole Hotel The Met
Met Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing