We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 star no way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Met Hotel Leeds
Ranked #45 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“4 star no way”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Simply poor. Shabby room, tired old bathrooms. Restaurant not open. Bar food awfull. Maintenance workers at 8.11 am.
Got a room for £39 via trivago, even at that price would not return. I am sure this was ounce a grand old hotel. Alas those days have defiantly gone.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank davidharveymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Davidharveymoon

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience.

It was disappointing to hear that you did not find The Met value for money and that you did not have a completely pleasurable experience during your stay.

I am pleased to say that here at The Met we are currently in the midst of an ongoing process to rejuvenate our bedrooms and bring them in line with the more modern offering.

I hope that at some point in the future you may be able to return to us to view the changes that we have made for yourself.

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    432
    396
    212
    150
See reviews for
82
428
119
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

It's quite an old building, so there are a few creaky floorboards. But the staff are warm, friendly and helpful.

It's only a few mins walk from the station/town centre but they do have car parking there too.

The wifi is apparently only free in the lobby/restaurant, but as my room was on the first floor, I managed to get it in my room, which was a result. They do have hard wired internet in the rooms if not.

My room was small, but comfortable. Clean and neat. Pretty much all I needed for the couple of days I was there.

Breakfast in the restaurant could have been served from 06:30 for those of us that have early starts, but 7am is just about ok. Food was nice.

I'd stay again.

Room Tip: If you want the free wifi - try and get a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnynats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Sunnynats

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your recent stay at The Met Hotel.

It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Met Hotel.

I hope that we may be able to welcome you back to The Met Hotel at some point in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend break with my mam. Staff were so nice and friendly. Rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. In a great location, within walking distance of shops, bars and restaurants. Really couldn't fault it

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickicDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear NickicDublin

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your recent stay at The Met Hotel.

It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Met Hotel.

I hope that we may be able to welcome you back to The Met Hotel at some point in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Good single room. Asked for and was given quiet room, away from city centre noise. Lovely sleep thank you. Very helpful staff... Though could probably do with a few more on reception during busy times of day. Location perfect with good access to restaurants.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TiffonLocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Tiffonlocation

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent experience at The Met Hotel.

Your comments regarding the reception desk has been duly noted and we will be actioning this in the very near future.

I hope that we may be able to welcome you back to The Met Hotel at some point again in the future.

Kindest Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Just returned from this hotel and feel I should give an honest review. Hotel location is great central to all Leeds bars, restaraunts and shops only a five minute walk at most. We were able to check in early as we arrived at 1pm which at first we thought was great. we got to the room which can only be described as a box and nothing like the website pictures. The bathroom was a complete joke my husband said he could brush his teeth whilst using the toilet and he wasn't wrong!! Knees were Touching the basin. Manoeuvring the shower screen to get in to the bath was tricky due to the cramped proximity of the the basin and toilet. We stayed on the second floor and didn't get much sleep as the guests in the room above paced the floors most of the night which in most hotels would not have been a problem but the floorboards just creaked and creaked. If you like a view you will not enjoy this hotel as our view was of the guest rooms on the other side of the hotel. We also paid to park in the hotel car park for the 2 nights which cost £40 absolutely ridiculous cost considering you've already paid for a so called luxury hotel. Disappointing birthday break was expecting a lot better for a 4*

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leeds hotels

yorkshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here on the off chance on a deal during April 2014, probably not our first choice in Leeds but we went for it all the same. The building is made from terracotta and the design is quite ornate and quirky probably making think twice about staying there, but across the threshold is a lovely cherished and looked after period hotel.
The décor is well maintained and the staff a delight. We upgraded our room on arrival for £20 per night to a larger room. What we got for our £20 was brilliant. The room was long not deep with a table and chairs, modern flat screen tv and a huge modern clean bathroom. Not wanting to forget the bed it was huge and very comfy for a good nights sleep and ample pillows to get lost in.
We had a great time here in our room and cannot comment on the basic room so if you do have a punt do try for an upgrade I don't think you will be disappointed. Dont expect good views from the rooms

We didnt eat or drink Here.

What could they do Better?

Wifi is free but near impossible to use.
Carpets in the hallway much to be desired.
bigger tv maybe?

We only gave a 4 because of the lack of some facilities ie pool

Room Tip: Just upgrade on arrival for £20
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uktravellerYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear UKTravellerYorkshire

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your experience at The Met. It is through these honest comments that we are able to monitor and assess our current offering to guests.

It was very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your upgrade and that you found this value for money and that our intricate terracotta frontage did not go unnoticed – it is due to this Grade II listing that we are unable to add some off the amenities that you mentioned, specifically a pool area.

Since receiving your review I am pleased to say that we have now a fixed time frame in which we will be upgrading our Wi-Fi making it more users friendly and also accessible in the bedrooms.

I hope that we may be able to welcome you back to The Met at some point in the future to judge these changes for yourself.

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

For its City centre location this hotel wins a lot of points - its walking distance to almost all of city centre Leeds, and because of that I would say if you can get a good deal on price then I would recommend it.

It is not however a 4 star hotel, as their web site and rating would have you believe. The lobby and the staff are lovely, and 4 star but the actual rooms are less then this. Our room had a safe that didn't work and windows that let a draft through (even with the internal section of plastic window that they had installed in the bathroom!). Out room was clean, but the towels and sheets have clearly seen a lot of visitors are were tired and bobbled - the sheets had a few faded stains on them where previous guests have spilt items and its not fully washed out.

Because of its city centre location as well, there is a car park charge of £20 for 24 hours - I don't think this is unreasonable, but its not made that clear when your booking, so make sure to factor this in to your calculations on if your getting a good deal!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate_t51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone S, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Kate_t51

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience. Your constructive comments are very gratefully received allow us the opportunity to evaluate our offering and improve upon this for future guests.

As a result of your comments I am pleased to say that we are now reviewing our current supply of linen and towels to ensure that the quality is that which we expect.

I hope that at some point in the future you may be able to return to us to see the changes that we have made for yourself.

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,096 reviews
Quebecs
#8 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Park Plaza Leeds
#36 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#20 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Roomzzz Leeds City
#3 of 86 in Leeds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Met Hotel Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Hotel Leeds

Property: The Met Hotel Leeds
Address: King Street, Leeds LS1 2HQ, England (Formerly Metropole Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Met Hotel Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of this vibrant city, in the central business area The Met Hotel, Leeds is ideally placed close to local attractions and major transport links including the train station. A leading four-star hotel in Leeds city centre, The Met Hotel, Leeds is one of the first choices for conferences, meetings, special events, dining, short breaks and weekend breaks in Leeds. With its ornate terracotta architecture, The Met Hotel, Leeds is a magnificent grade 2 listed building and an ideal venue for a wide range of conference, meetings, banqueting and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Met Hotel Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Leeds
Metropole Hotel The Met
Met Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing