We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Met Hotel Leeds
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Quebecs(Leeds)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness center
Reviews (1,637)
Filter reviews
1,637 results
Traveler rating
303
512
427
229
166
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
512
427
229
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationcity centrewedding partygreat weekendone night staytea and coffeeweekend breaktwin rooman overnight staycomfy bedgood nights sleepsuperbreakiron
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,004 - 1,009 of 1,637 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked 2 nights and got a bargain at £70 for the 2.
The room was small but very cozy and suited us perfectly.
The bathroom wasn't up to much but again ticked all the boxes.
The bed was comfy and we slept well.
Parking a total rip off, there are plenty of cheaper places to park in Leeds.
Tv didn't work, but after reading the other reviews I didn't expect it too!
I ventured to the gym, but that was disappointing. Only a couple of mats and medicine balls.
The wifi was stupidly expensive. Luckily a local Starbucks was were I spent my Internet time!
Will probably opt for something different when in Leeds next.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MrFly1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Mrfly1981,

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your experience, it is through comments such as yours that we are able to assess our offering to our guests.

It appears you have had a mixed experience whilst staying at The Met Hotel. I am pleased that you found the room & bathroom adequate to meet your needs, however I am a little perplexed by your comment regarding the price of WIFI. We offer complimentary internet throughout the hotel – wifi in the public areas and cabled internet in the bedrooms – no charge is ever made for this.

I hope that we may be able to welcome you back at some point in the near future

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night on the 10th October on business via a company booking. First impressions the hotel looked great. On check in there had been a slight problem with the company booking, however, the reception staff were brilliant and sorted this out for us no problem. The room met my needs, great shower, clean room with plenty of tea and coffee available in the room, an internet cable to connect the laptop to and a comfy bed. There was a great selection at breakfast, once again very friendly staff, and a good selection on offer. The breakfast was of a good quality and set us up nicely for the day ahead. The hotel is in a good location, short walk to the station and plenty of places nearby to eat and drink. Although we were only in Leeds on business for two days, the hotel more than met our needs and served a purpose for us. The staff were very polite and attentive and were a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Tom S,

It was most pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Met Hotel and that you were able to experience the service quality that we pride ourselves on.
I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team.

I do hope that we are able to continue to welcome you to The Met any time that you are in the area.

Once again thank you for your review

Yours sincerely

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My partner and I have just got back from a night away for his birthday at the met hotel Leeds. We booked as a last minute offer and paid £69 B+B. On arrival we found the car park no problem and there was plenty of spaces which was excellent. Car parking was £20 for 24 hours, seems expensive but since we checked out at 11AM our car could still be left until 3PM so this was nice.On arrival the downstairs lobby of the hotel was very modern and spotlessly clean (were pretty sure a man was cleaning the floors with a toothbrush). Check in was efficient and although our reservation could at first not be found this was soon resolved by a very friendly receptionist.We were given a Standard Double room on the third floor, the lift and corridors of the hotel again were immaculate, if not dated. But this is a old hotel so cannot complain about the odd creaky floorboard.
However our room was highly disappointing, the bed was a large single not a standard double, we struggled to both lie straight next to each other without moving never mind try to sleep. We queried this with the reception and was told that the beds were a standard size. We did not have a good night sleep as we simply did not fit and we certainly aren't large people. This said the bed was comfy enough had one person been sleeping in it and had four nice big pillows. Our next problem we had to again contact reception about was the fact that we could not get our window closed, all praise to the staff a man came up to the room within ten minutes to see to the problem and did eventually manage to shut it. All the staff seemed very friendly. Unfortunately our room problems continued, the television was ancient but worked (just). The bathroom had been modernised unlike the room but was tiny. We had to negotiate the toilet and door to get in and then the toilet and bath to climb into the shower. It was also a little dirty.Except for the room problems everything else including the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Amanda D,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience. It is through these reviews that we are able to constantly check our current service and offering.

I am sorry to hear that you did not have the most enjoyable experience whilst staying with us. We value all feedback from guests and as a business we are constantly looking to better ourselves and adapt to best meet the needs of the modern day guest.
We are currently going through a productive upgrade of all our bedrooms which should bring them more in line with the current market demands.
Your comments will allow us to assess our offering and adapt to ensure that we better fulfil our guests requirements in the future.

I do hope that you may return to us in the future so that you may judge these changes for yourself

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

The window would not shut fully as cold draft all night. Slight smell in room like damp clothes. People very friendly. Hotel needs modernising. TV still really old and an old CRT type! Food was generally ok. However nothing to shout about. Close to Leeds station!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Simon T,

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your experience, it is through comments such as yours that we are able to assess our offering to our guests.

Please rest assured that the points you have raised form part of our on going maintenance programme aimed at modernising the hotel and bringing our facilities inline with the demands of the modern day traveller.

I hope that you may give though to visiting us again at some point in the future so that you may judge the changes we are making for yourself.


Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked this hotel for 2 nights for our Anniversary. Having frequented with this chain numerous times before on business I was expecting a good value for money hotel experience in Leeds. How wrong we were. Check in was slow and very poor in terms of customer service. We knew we was in for an horrendous room when we was told the lift only went up to floor 5 and we was on the 6th floor. Room was tiny, floors creaked inside the room and out in the corridor also. Im not exaggerating when i say the bed filled the room and was a standard double. The TV was circa 1980 and the shower spat for several minutes before being able to shower in it. Parking was £20 per day and so we moved the car to street parking which was free after 6pm on Saturday night and all day Sunday. Breakfast was OK although the beans had formed a not so lovely skin over them due to the heat lamps. Staff in the restaurant were like the blind leading the blind and both mornings our table needed re cleaning. We booked with Trivago and I'm guessing they had the budget rooms. The hotel could be a gem but the best thing about the stay was checking out and leaving. You know you have booked a dud when on checkout they don't ask if you have enjoyed your stay.
We had a super couple of days regardless and enjoyed a fabulous meal as always at the Blackhouse which was just around the corner.
Leeds is a great city for shopping and eating out but sadly this hotel was over priced and underwhelming.
We've stayed in the Marriott, Queens and Bewleys in Leeds and all were much better value for money, modern and the customer service is great.
I stay away at least twice a week with my job and I'd rather book a Premier Inn than stay here again. I would not use this hotel chain again which is a shame as they have been excellent in the past.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on 6th floor!!!!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dellie0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear dellie0903,

Thank you for taking the time to leave comment on your experience, it is through comments such as yours that we are able to assess our offering to our guests.

It was extremely disappointing to read your review and hear of the difficulties your encountered during your time with us. This is certainly not indicative of our usual standard and procedures and I will ensure that your points are raised with the team and addressed with immediate effect.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss these points further and would ask that you contact me directly at the Hotel should you be willing to do so.

Once again please accept my apologies for your difficulties

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews