We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better 4 star hotels in Leeds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Met Hotel Leeds
Ranked #46 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The Met looks quite grand from the outside and has a spacious, comfortable reception that seems to promise good things. Upstairs in the bedroom this goes downhill. Old uncomfortable beds, poor lighting, old TVs taking up half the desk and looking out of place in a 4* hotel, small bathrooms and a shower that seems designed to spill water on the floor.

They can't even get the little things right; no pen or pencil and pad of paper to make a quick note!

This place is an acceptable 3 star hotel, but there's no way it deserves the 4 star rating and you're being ripped off with the 4 star price tag. I'd strongly recommend the Hilton Doubletree (or the Queens) if you're staying in Leeds - about the same price range but much better.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_ThompsonsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear The_ThompsonUK,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience. It is through these reviews that we are able to constantly check our current service and offering.

The Met is currently going through a continual process to upgrade the amenities which we offer in our bedrooms. Your comments are very well received and will be used as part of this process to ensure that future guests do not experience the same difficulties that you have faced.

I would be delighted to welcome you back at some point in near future so that you may judge these changes for yourself

Yours sincerely

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,029 - 1,035 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

met hotel was big let down room 605 was booked as double.This room was a large single at best,it had no room to get into bed from both sides. My wife got in and i climbed in from same side.Only one spare pillow and just one towel.The breakfast was the only high light.Try for a other hotel next time we are in leeds.

Room Tip: ask for bed you both can get in from both sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear Karon P,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience. It is through these reviews that we are able to constantly check our current service and offering.

It is disappointing to hear that you felt room 605 was not to the standard that you requested. This is certainly something that I will personally look into.
The spare pillows and towels are kept in our wardrobes at The Met, this is in a bid to encourage guests to be environmentally friendly during their visits whilst also enjoying the serviced we have on offer.
I am pleased you enjoyed our breakfast at The Met, it is something to which we are very proud and quite a lot of people comment.

I do hope that we may be able to welcome you back at some point in the future

Yours sincerely

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I was really disappointed when we stayed here last month. Granted, we only booked the night before via laterooms.com but when we got there it was lifeless! We arrived on bank holiday Sunday and the hotel was extremely quiet- I even said to the concierge that I thought for a bank holiday it would be much busier and he confirmed it was very quiet and the hotel wasn't very busy....- so why were we given such an awful room? It baffles me when hotels are quiet and they shove everyone on a dodgy corridoor in a shabby room. The room was an absolute let down- it had nothing to evoke a 4* hotel in it whatsoever! It was extremely basic, not very comfortable at all and to make it worst we got woken up by the main knocking about up and down the corridoor in the morning and our room was over looking some bins- BOTTLE BINS-which meant at 8am in the morning we had the sound of crashing glass being thrown into bins- not just one or two bottles- but huge crashes outside our window! When we checked out- the girl asked me how the stay was and I said 'to be honest I'm really disappointed- we were woken by huge crashes of glass from the bins outside' -her response- 'they're not our bins'....- Oh ok- just because they're not your bins, that makes it all the better! Her response was so basic and lacked any customer service whatsoever. Utterly disappointing. A word to the manager- when the hotel is so direly dead- why not give over and above customer service to make sure those few people who had spent their money on your hotel come back again. Rubbish hotel, rubbish service, no customer service, won't be going back. If you want a city centre stay then I'd suggest you book with the Etap or Travelodge because at least with them, what you see is what you get. Don't be fooled by the glamorous lobby. It's all smoke and mirrors.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BernieJetSetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear Bernie Jetsetter,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience. It is through these reviews that we are able to constantly check our current service and offering.

It is extremely disappointing to hear that various factors affected your stay with us meaning that you did not have a 100% positive experience. We are in the midst of an ongoing process to keep the hotel looking as fresh and as modern as we possible can and your comments will certainly aid us in this constant re design.

The service and quality that you experienced are far from the norm and I do hope that you give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future so that we may show you a true reflection of the service and quality that we pride ourselves on.

Yours sincerely

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

A lovely hotel, beautiful decor, friendly staff. Our room (510) was quiet, a quirky shape, massive bathroom. Conveniently situated over the road from the train station, close to the pubs and restaurants. We didn't have a drink in the bar but it looked very nice and clean. The public areas were spotless. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEBBIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear DebbieS,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your experience with us at The Met Hotel. It is through this feedback that we are able to develop and improve upon the service that we offer to our guests.

Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us at The Met Hotel.
I do hope that we are able to welcome you back at some point In the very near future.

Once again thank you for your review

Yours sincerely

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic place to stay for easy access to the city centre. Great food, great service and rooms are more than adequate. Would happily recommend to family and friends. Not the best looking hotel from outside but don't be deceived.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlisle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Carlisle2,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your experience with us at The Met Hotel. It is through this feedback that we are able to develop and improve upon the service that we offer to our guests.

It is very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Met Hotel. I do hope that you are able to recommend us to your friends and family and that we also get the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Once again thank you for your review

Yours sincerely

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

we stayed here for a birthday celebration. There was 13 of us travelling on the train with superbreak holidays. For the money we paid we cannot really complain about our experience however if you are paying full price for this hotel i can understand why some people feel the need to complain. Our check in was relatively simple but once we got everyone else off to their rooms the birthday girl pushed her luck and asked for a complimentary upgrade. This was seen as no problem however after some jiggery pokery on the computor the receptionist decided she did not have the authority to give an upgrade. We are still waiting for the manager to recontact us to authorise this upgrade.... However 13 chocolates and a piece of strawberry was sent to our room so all was not lost !!!!!!... The heat in this hotel is overpowering. If they cooled things down a bit they could probably charge less for their rooms. The windows were permanently open in the room despite it being March.
All our rooms on the fourth floor varied in size but were all more than adequate with clean sheets and clean towels. We dont go away to watch tv so werent bothered about the old sets. The shower was hot and powerful. The room on the fifth floor was massive with a huge bed, The single was spacious with a good three quarter bed rather than a single.
Breakfast was hot and tasty however i have never been to a hotel where you need to order a fried egg with your waitress. Your waitress does not ask you if you need a fried egg so once you have filled your plate from the buffet and look for the fried eggs they are nowhere to be seen. The chef was filling the sausage tray when i was at the buffet,. when i asked where the eggs were he said to order with the waitress and promptly walked off without offering to fry/order one. Bizarre. Needless to say seeing as how my plate was already full i had to make do with scrambled egg. There is a small sign at the buffet but by the time you see this it is too late.... eggs were promptly ordered the next day prior to filling our plates however they still arrive at your table while you are half way through your breakfast...Very strange.
The location of this hotel is great... Not far from all the shops and bars and two minutes from the train station. Because of this and if the price is right we would stay here again. I think you have got to ignore the shabbyness of the woodwork here. I'm sure if i was as old as this hotel my sills would be looking a bit shabby......
Good stay for a good price so cant complain really,,, Sort the eggs and cool the place down and very good rating would be on the cards

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatesheadgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Gatesheadgirlie,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your experience with us at The Met Hotel. It is through this feedback that we are able to develop and improve upon the service that we offer to our guests.

I am so pleased to hear that you and your party had a wonderful weekend away despite some mixed experiences during your stay at The Met Hotel. I am so pleased that you were able to comment on most aspects of the hotel in your review and your comments I will be raising with my team to ensure that we are able to meet the demands of the modern day traveller in the future.

Once again thank you for your review

Yours sincerely

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Check in was quite slow, only one member of staff on the desk. The hotel rooms were clean, tidy, well decorated, everything you could want. All the public areas were again clean, tidy, and well decorated. Breakfast was good, can't comment on any other meals as I didn't eat in hotel The only area in the hotel you could get wi fi were public areas, with wired Internet in room (this for me was a mega disadvantage as I only had my iPad with me). The thing that made this stay memorable was Dom the night member of staff, he really looked after me, and some other guests who had got in at silly o'clock after being out clubbing. So cheers Dom!! Would I stay here again absolutely :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian158158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Julian158158,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your experience with us at The Met Hotel. It is through this feedback that we are able to develop and improve upon the service that we offer to our guests.

It was nice to read that you had a pleasurable experience at The Met Hotel, despite some initial teething problems. The points you have mentioned are certainly ones that the hotel has highlighted on our ongoing hotel improvement action plan.
I will also pass on your wonderful comments to Dom, who I am sure will be delighted to hear them.

Once again thank you for your review

Yours sincerely

Simone Sansom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#25 of 87 in Leeds
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#24 of 87 in Leeds
1,509 reviews
Park Plaza Leeds
#39 of 87 in Leeds
3,146 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Met Hotel Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Hotel Leeds

Address: King Street, Leeds LS1 2HQ, England (Formerly Metropole Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $82 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Met Hotel Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of this vibrant city, in the central business area The Met Hotel, Leeds is ideally placed close to local attractions and major transport links including the train station. A leading four-star hotel in Leeds city centre, The Met Hotel, Leeds is one of the first choices for conferences, meetings, special events, dining, short breaks and weekend breaks in Leeds. With its ornate terracotta architecture, The Met Hotel, Leeds is a magnificent grade 2 listed building and an ideal venue for a wide range of conference, meetings, banqueting and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Met Hotel Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Leeds
Metropole Hotel The Met
Met Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing