We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Met Hotel Leeds
Ranked #48 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend. Quick check in and polite staff. Room was modern, spacious and clean. Central to leeds. Breakfast was a hot and cold buffet. Food fresh and hot with a quick check out. My only negative is that the ceiling in bathroom and main roon were dirty and the wet room leaked into the main room but this wouldnt stop me staying again. Really enjoyed it.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank truthhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Thruthhen,

Thank you for taking the time to express your views on your experience with us at The Met Hotel.
We are always very grateful to recieve reviews as they form the basis of our continual development.

It was really pleasing to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found our service and quality to a high standard.
It was however disapointing to hear the negatives regarding the damage in your room. If you would be so kind as to inform us of the room number you stayed in so we can have this problem addressed immediatly it would be much appreciated.

If you would like to contact our Operations Manager on Joseph.Farrar@principal-hayley.com

Best wishes,

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    442
    399
    213
    153
See reviews for
82
438
120
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Hotel is stunning and stylish. Well positioned to walk into town.
I wass taken ill during my stay and the staff did an amazing job at facilitating my recovery.
They stayed with me until the emergency services arrived and allowed me to stay in my room the next day unti I could arrange a flight home
I cant speak highly enough.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and this was arranged - many hotels dont put any effort into this
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Sam C,

Thank you for your kind review of The Met Hotel. I will ensure that your feedback is passed back to the team who work tirelessly to ensure that all guests have a wonderful experience when they stay with us.

I do hope that once you are better you may be able to come and stay with us again and hopefully this time you will be able to take full advantage of all that our hotel has to offer.

If we can be of any more assistance then please do not hesitate to contact our Operations Manager at Joseph.Farrar@principal-hayley.com

Best wishes

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was located in an ideal location close to the centre and railway station. The food was good and the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and relatively modern. I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p_rez86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear P_rez86,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts on your stay at The Met Hotel.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and that our location and that you will choose to stay again, we most certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

If you would like to contact us directly so that we may organise your next visit then please feel free to contact our Operations Manager on Joseph.Farrar@principal-hayley.com

Best Wishes

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham Harbour, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as a couple. Room was absolutely tiny, not something you'd expect on entering the hotel, with a bad view and a window leading on to a side street where you could hear all of the drunk, rowdy people passing, even though I requested a quiet room. Breakfast was gorgeous, best feature of the hotel!!, evening meal was average, chicken liver pate for starter was not nice, however cajun chicken was nice. Couple of minutes walk from the city centre, ideal location and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nataliexox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Nataliexox,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts on your stay at The Met Hotel, it is through this feedback that we can continually develop our current service and procedures.

I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments regarding breakfast to our breakfast chef - he takes great pride in the excellent standard of breakfast that we serve and this recognition will be very well recieved.

I am very sorry that on your last visit we were unable to match your request for an extra quiet room, we do always endevour to meet the requirements of our guests to the best of our ability. If you would like to contact our Operations Manager before your next visit he will be able to ensure that you recieve an extra quiet room on your next stay. He can be contacted at Joseph.Farrar@principal-hayley.com

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Met Hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
163 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed her on 9th Jan. Rang ahead and booked a top floor room ( which was cold but blissfully quiet). TV was a cathode ray tube year 2000 one with limited channels. There is no lift to this floor so you have to take the lift to the 5th and go from there- so bear that in mind if carrying heavy luggage.

Meeting rooms were excellent and the catering for our guests ( particularly liked the cans of old fashioned Barrs soda! and the jelly babies) was much appreciated.

Dinner, despite being deserted, the food was very nice. Lunch the next day was OK ( salad items still frozen) but the baked potatoes were good.

Parking...a nightmare....and its £20 a night- so bear that in mind

Plus, they charge an additional £2.50 for paying by a credit card....come on guys, just roll it into the room rate and dont nickel and dime your guests....this is 2013 after all...who pays by cash?

Room Tip: City centre location on a busy junction, so if you want a quiet room , ask for the 6th floor. Dont b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flhrcitwotone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Flhcitwotone,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at The Met Hotel. It is through this customer feedback that we are able to develop our current standards and procedures.

It was pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your event whilst at the hotel, our conference and events team work hard to try and stay fresh and creative for the best way to WOW our guests.

I will be sure to pass on your thoughts regarding lunch to our head chef who i am sure will be very disapointed to hear your comments.

I do hope the next time that you are in the area you will come back and stay with us again and hopefully have an even better experience.

Kind Regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed overnight 25 january with my boyfriend ...entrance, hotel reception and grand staircase were gorgeous and full of character. We stayed in room 415 which was small. The room had some modern elements but was let down by the old fashioned tv and old wardrobe doors. The bed was very comfortable and the room and bathroom were very clean. Although the bathroom was very clean the sealant around the bath area was very messy and had some mould on them. It was snowing when we arrived so was pleased that the room was nice and warm and water was hot. Drinks in the bar were also pricey, A coffee and a pint of beer came to £8.05 ! All that said we did enjoy our trip n the hotel is really central and 5 mins walk from train statio but it is definitely not 4*plus

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajt1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Ajt1967,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at The Met Hotel.

It was pleasing to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay and that you appreciated the character of our wonderful building.

I will ensure that maintenance are immediately sent to room 415 to change the bath sealant as this is totally unacceptable and for this I apologise.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to The Met at some point in the future.

Thank you once again,

Best wishes,

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We wanted an hotel in the middle of Leeds for an overnight stay and had found others too expensive. We had noticed this beautiful building on previous visits so looked it up online. The price was very reasonable and the whole place was clean and comfortable. It's a lovely old hotel with creaky floorboards and tiny windows and lots of character. The food was excellent value but the bed was old and not too comfortable but for the price I cannot complain about this. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gripdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear GripDave,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Met Hotel. We always appreciate feedback of all kinds from our guests.

It was really pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all of the character that our hotel has to offer.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to The Met in future, please dont hesitate to contact our Operations Manager on Joseph.Farrar@principal-hayley.com if you would like to arrange this.

Many Thanks

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,152 reviews
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Park Plaza Leeds
#37 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#22 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Roomzzz Leeds City
#4 of 87 in Leeds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Met Hotel Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Hotel Leeds

Property: The Met Hotel Leeds
Address: King Street, Leeds LS1 2HQ, England (Formerly Metropole Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Met Hotel Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of this vibrant city, in the central business area The Met Hotel, Leeds is ideally placed close to local attractions and major transport links including the train station. A leading four-star hotel in Leeds city centre, The Met Hotel, Leeds is one of the first choices for conferences, meetings, special events, dining, short breaks and weekend breaks in Leeds. With its ornate terracotta architecture, The Met Hotel, Leeds is a magnificent grade 2 listed building and an ideal venue for a wide range of conference, meetings, banqueting and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Met Hotel Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Leeds
Metropole Hotel The Met
Met Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing