We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"OUR 36TH WEDDING ANNIVERSARY"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Met Hotel Leeds
Ranked #45 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“"OUR 36TH WEDDING ANNIVERSARY"”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently stayed at the Met for a 2night weekend break through super break, I sent an
e-mail to Daniel Harvey, (GUEST RELATIONS) requesting a quiet room on the 6th floor and he made
our stay more memorable by accommodating us in an executive double,the room being very
large &the bed huge & comfy.There was a good range of food at breakfast, rangeing from
fresh fruit, cereals to the full english.The staff were very efficient & friendly throughout the
hotel. Make a point of noticeing the fantastic staircase within the hotel.
We would recommend this hotel which is very close & easy to find near the railway station.

Room Tip: rooms on the 6th floor are quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newcastlebarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Your review is very much appreciated so thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. It is through this feedback we can improve on our standards and the level of service we provide.

It was very nice to have read such positive comments about the hotel and our staff. I will also ensure your comments are passed on to Daniel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Met, Leeds in the near future.

Many thanks & kindest regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    454
    400
    216
    154
See reviews for
82
453
122
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel has a grand reception which is somehow counter-productive as the room I was in was definitely not to the same standard.
The bathroom was new but the rest of the room felt rather dated, definitely not like the rooms in the photos. Nothing to stop anyone having a good rest, but the luxurious feel of the reception is definitely not carried out to the room.

For the rest, the staff was really friendly and helpful making it a real pleasure to deal with them.

I had dinner in the restaurant, but the food was just average for the prices charged.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrzUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Your review is very much appreciated so thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. It is through this feedback we can improve on our standards and the level of service we provide.

I am sorry to have read we did not meet your expectations during your stay at The Met, Leeds. I am however very pleased you found our members of staff to be friendly and helpful.

If you would like to provide us with further information about your stay please contact our Guest Relations Officer at daniel.harvey@principal-hayley.com and he will be more than happy to help.

Many thanks & kindest regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Booked a two night stay at The Met through the Superbreak site. It was a very good deal giving two nights bed and breakfast and dinner on the first night for £139. The hotel is being refurbed at the moment and there was a strong smell of fresh paint in the corridors. The Met is an old establishment and the rooms are quite dated, old stlye TV's and dated furniture. The staff are mostly quite young and a little inexperienced, however they were very friendly and overall the service was good. The evening meal was at best average and the menu is limited. Our first two choices of wine were out of stock and some of the menu options were also unavailable. Not good for a 4 star city centre hotel. The bed was very soft and it was noisy during the night. The hotel boasts a gym, when we went to look it consists of some free weights and one cycle!! Had we paid the going rate I would be very unhappy with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevieH110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Your review is very much appreciated so thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. It is through this feedback we can improve on our standards and the level of service we provide.

I am sorry to have read we did not meet your expectations during your stay at The Met, Leeds. I will ensure the points you have raised will be addressed with the appropriate managers in order for us to resolve any future issues.

If you would like to provide us with further information about your stay please contact our Guest Relations Officer at daniel.harvey@principal-hayley.com and he will be more than happy to help.

Many thanks & kindest regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

When we checked in the receptionist insisted breakfast was included in the price we paid.
So we had breakfast on both days we were there, but when we checked out they said it was room only and a charge of 59 pounds for breakfast.We refused to pay and explained that they said it was included but they said we had to pay. We asked for the manager and he instantly said it was their mistake.So when checking in make sure they dont try that one on with you.
Also their is a ten pounds a night charge for the hotel car park thats if you can find a space its that small.

Room Tip: rooms on second floor have no double glazing and you can hear everything outside and feel the drough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Your review is very much appreciated so thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. It is through this feedback we can improve on our standards and the level of service we provide.

Please accept my apologies with regards to the confusion with your breakfast package. I will ensure our reception team are aware of the specific rate codes for our guests.

If you would like to provide us with further information about your stay please contact our Guest Relations Officer at daniel.harvey@principal-hayley.com and he will be more than happy to help.

Many thanks & kindest regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel a couple of times now and do like it, The staff are very friendly, the rooms are clean and modernisation has started. It reminds me of a hotel from the 90's and has a pricing structure which can compete with all the budgets. Be carefull of £2.50 charges for using credit cards (a sign of the times I'm afraid). Rooms on the 5th and 6th floor have been renovated but even the older rooms are still comfortable. The hotel is right in the heart of all the action and across the road from the train station. They have alot of offers on at this hotel £69 Dinner Bed and Breakfast was the last rate I paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th or 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank messypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Your review is very much appreciated so thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. It is through this feedback we can improve on our standards and the level of service we provide.

I was pleased to have read you had an enjoyable stay with us and I hope to welcome you back to The Met, Leeds in the near future.

If you would like to provide us with further information about your stay please contact our Guest Relations Officer at daniel.harvey@principal-hayley.com and he will be more than happy to help.

Many thanks & kindest regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My partner and I decided to book the Met for a one night stay to give us a much needed evening of relaxation and more importantly a good nights sleep, unfortunately we had neither. On arrival it was evident that there was a couple of functions going on that evening which didn't bother us as we didn't think it would affect us. First impressions were great and the room was ok. We went out for a pleasant meal and returned to the hotel early, about 9.30pm. Once back, a function was in 'full swing' and there was very loud music. Our room was on the 1st floor, and as it turns out directly above the function room. The level of noise was horrendous, we tried to ignore it and try get to sleep, it was impossible, so after nearly 2 hours I couldn't bear it any longer and phoned down to reception to be moved. We were given a room on the 6th floor, so we had to get dressed again and pack all our stuff up and trek up to the 6th floor. This room was much better. My complaint is about reception really as I cannot understand why a) we were not told at check in there was a function on which would go on till x time that night and b) why a couple not associated with the function would be placed in a room just one floor up let alone the room above the function room? Really not good enough, the whole night was stressful, unsettling and upsetting. Certainly not relaxing or pleasant. Although we were given a new room during the night we were not given anything in way of an apology, a complimentary breakfast would have been nice! We will not be staying here again and I will not recommend it. Disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Your review is very much appreciated so thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. It is through this feedback we can improve on our standards and the level of service we provide.

I am very sorry for the disruptions you faced during your stay with us. I am pleased you were offered a room move during the function but you are indeed correct in saying the room shouldn’t have been allocated close to the function room in the first place. I will ensure these comments are passed on to the relevant departments.

If you would like to provide us with further information about your stay please contact our Guest Relations Officer at daniel.harvey@principal-hayley.com and he will be more than happy to help.

Many thanks & kindest regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Beautiful Grade II listed building. Reception very contemporary with leanings toward traditional with open fire. Staff efficient and pleasant. Rooms on 2nd floor was too cool and no amount of radiator twiddling could increase the heat. Restaurant was not full,yet service was incredibly slow. I was informed that a large evening function was being catered for - I don't care, I too want to be catered for - get more staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dailaffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Met-Guest-Relations, General Manager at The Met Hotel Leeds, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Your review is very much appreciated so thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. It is through this feedback we can improve on our standards and the level of service we provide.

I really admire your honest review with regards to the slow service you received during your meal. You are very much correct when saying guests dining outside of a function should be given the exact same attention. I would like to apologise for this and will ensure steps are taken in future to prevent any of our future guests facing the same issue.

If you would like to provide us with further information about your stay please contact our Guest Relations Officer at daniel.harvey@principal-hayley.com and he will be more than happy to help.

Many thanks & kindest regards

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,211 reviews
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The New Ellington
#16 of 87 in Leeds
801 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Park Plaza Leeds
#38 of 87 in Leeds
2,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Met Hotel Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Hotel Leeds

Property: The Met Hotel Leeds
Address: King Street, Leeds LS1 2HQ, England (Formerly Metropole Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Met Hotel Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of this vibrant city, in the central business area The Met Hotel, Leeds is ideally placed close to local attractions and major transport links including the train station. A leading four-star hotel in Leeds city centre, The Met Hotel, Leeds is one of the first choices for conferences, meetings, special events, dining, short breaks and weekend breaks in Leeds. With its ornate terracotta architecture, The Met Hotel, Leeds is a magnificent grade 2 listed building and an ideal venue for a wide range of conference, meetings, banqueting and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Met Hotel Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Leeds
Metropole Hotel The Met
Met Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing