We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre - an update”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre - an update”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Some years ago we stayed at this hotel and enjoyed our time there. On this occasion we were pleased to see that the standard had not declined.

We did not arrive until after midnight but were still able to have a snack and a drink in the bar - much appreciated. The continental breakfast items available were scrambled eggs, sausages and beans/bread, pastries and muffins/yoghurts/fruit juices, tea etc. This was adequate but after a few mornings of scrambled eggs (not the best scrambled eggs we have eaten), a change of eggs would have been appreciated.

Our room was clean, comfortable and bright with facilities for making tea and coffee. When we reserved the room we had asked for a choice of pillows - this request was met. Due to our schedule our room was not always available for cleaning when the other rooms were being cleaned but nevertheless, during our first week, our floor's staff member was always ready to return to clean our room - willingly and without a grumble. In the second week a different staff member was not as efficient.

Overall, the staff were friendly and helpful. On request to the Reception staff, taxis were arranged for us.

We enjoyed our return visit to this hotel and would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bloggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    282
    94
    21
    6
See reviews for
104
173
28
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with 8 friends in 3 rooms for one night for a night out in Leeds on Saturday 8th Feb. I was promised 3 rooms on the same floor but they were over 2 floors.
Check in was quick with discounted parking.
Rooms were spotless, comfortable and warm. Extra coffee and milk was supplied on request.
Taxis were arranged with no hassle. Security on return in the early hours ensured that only paying guests went through the doors.
For a busy, city hotel, corridors and rooms were nice and quiet.
Breakfast was great quality and replenished constantly. Café au lait was perfect!
I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudithMillea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you very much for the 5 star review! This is really encouraging for myself and all of the team and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel free due to an offer when we bought a mobile. There was nothing to complain about but nothing to rave about either. Couldn't fault it though. The room was clean and spacious as was the bathroom. No bath but not a problem for us. No bacon at breakfast either but there was plenty other things available to more than send you on your way for a day shopping in the City centre.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pkewbradbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Had a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed. Showers only in our room but it was a powerful hot one so no complaints there. Breakfast included and was plentiful. Only downside is the cost to park...I know its city centre but charging a £5 is a bit steep!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudithMillea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for your comments and just to let you know that our IHG Rewards members do benefit from a reduction in the parking fee to £3.50!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Very helpful check in staff marvellous with excellent customer care skills.

Also a selection of sandwiches,chocolate, drinks and crisps to be purchased at a reasonable price.

Breakfast was fine but there were no trays to collect the food I asked and was told they had been taken away which I find strange because this is not the policy in other holiday inns

I was impressed with the layout of this hotel the rooms were large with flat screen TVs and the breakfast area was good, and with helpful staff well done to the Manager

Room Tip: Only a short taxi ride from the railway station and reception staff very efficient in dealing with m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudithMillea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I’m really pleased you enjoyed your stay. In common with a growing number of Holiday Inn Express hotels, we have removed the trays at breakfast in order to reduce queuing in the buffet area and also to allow us to interact more with our guests whilst clearing tables.

Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Lovely clean rooms, whilst quite basic met my needs for one night. No complaints. Would use if in the area again. Good Chinese Restaurant near by and two small supermarkets next to hotel. I would use again if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KITKATOO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudithMillea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for your comments and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay, as my son was attending an interview at the university. The location was perfect - only a 15 minute walk to the university. Parking on site was fine, and only £5 per night. The staff were extremely efficient, cheerful and friendly, and the atmosphere was very relaxed. The room was excellent - very spacious with tasteful, well maintained decor. There was a good quality television, and the complimentary wi-fi actually worked! The bathroom had a walk in shower, and fluffy white towels. It was spotlessly clean, as was the room.The beds were extremely comfortable, with a choice of pillows - we had a great night's sleep. Our room was on the back of the hotel, and was very quiet. Of all of the hotels I have stayed in, I can honestly say that the room temperature control here was the best ever. So often it is impossible to get it right - you either boil, freeze, or the air conditioning is so noisy you can't sleep anyway! This was perfect.

We ran out of teabags, and were instantly provided with extra ones, with plenty more milk cartons. I needed to do some emergency sewing on my son's trousers, and the receptionist provided me with a sewing kit!

The dining room was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. We didn't have an evening meal, but can say there was plenty of choice for breakfast - cereals, fruit, croissants and muffins, toast and rolls. The sausages, scrambled eggs and beans were well cooked and tasty. Again the staff were very happy and provided a very good service.

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel, and will definitely be returning. It is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPHazelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudithMillea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us - look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Ibis Leeds Centre
#29 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Leeds
#19 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
Holbeck
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Clayton Hotel Leeds
#17 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre
Address: Cavendish Street | Off Kirkstall Road, Leeds LS3 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a central location and good value at the modern Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre hotel. Park in our secure car park, and enter Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre's vibrant Lobby where you can take advantage of free WiFi and our friendly staff are waiting to greet you. Our contemporary 7-story hotel is set in leafy grounds and you can help yourself to an inclusive buffet breakfast each morning before taking the 15-minute walk into Leeds' city centre. Handily located just off the A65 and 8 miles from Leeds Bradford Airport, Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre is easy to reach by car. Catch up on work with free Wi-Fi and host events for up to 35 guests in our 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. You're a short drive from major businesses in Leeds city centre. Hop on a bus at the stop outside our hotel or stroll to the city centre's cosmopolitan shopping and nightlife in minutes. You can watch Leeds United FC play at Elland Road Stadium or enjoy cricket at Headingley Stadium, both 10 minutes' drive from the hotel. Choose from simple, tasty meals on the evening menu in Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre's inviting Great Room. Unwind with a glass of wine on leather sofas and surf the web. You can watch TV on the big screens and chat to our friendly staff in the bar. Our newly refurbished rooms feature modern decor, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and en suite shower room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Hotel Leeds
Holiday Inn Leeds
Leeds Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing