We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return Visit to HIE Leeds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre
Ranked #15 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Ballygowan, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Return Visit to HIE Leeds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had stayed at this hotel back in 2011 so, when organising our trip this year, I decided to book this hotel again. Check in was quick and easy and staff were friendly. I had requested a room on a high floor (to reduce noise from higher rooms) overlooking Kirkstall Road (for partial views over the city) and my request was granted. Our room was clean with flat screen TV and walk in shower and the bed was comfortable. Air conditioning was useful as the city was quite warm and humid. There was a little intrusive noise from other guests in the corridor late at night, but no hotel can completely eradicate this problem.

Breakfast was as good as before and items were regularly replenished. I only had to wait a few minutes for sausages on one morning, despite the hotel obviously being quite full.

Car parking is a little problematic and, after returning late from an evening football match, I had to "invent" a space at the end of a row, but it was considerably cheaper than a lot of the hotels in Leeds charge.

Overall, another very positive experience at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre and, when you consider that the room rate for myself and my husband including breakfast was £39 per night plus £3.50 per night car parking (Rewards Club Member rate), an absolute bargain.

Room Tip: We experienced very little traffic noise despite overlooking a busy main road. Request a high floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celica190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudithMillea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments on our hotel and I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you when you next return to Leeds!


Judith Millea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    276
    92
    21
    6
See reviews for
102
171
27
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

In our room
We had a coffee machine broken the projector was missing, and wanted to charge to print anything off.
The manager was unhelpful and unwelcoming with only a young l presume Latvian girl who tried to smooth the other staffs bad manners.

It's dear for what you get stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evanlawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudithMillea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments and I am sorry there were some mistakes made with the meeting you attended. I am pleased you found Ligita to be helpful and welcoming and I will use your feedback with the other team member also on duty that day to make improvements.

Thank you


Judith Millea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Me and my friend stayed here for 1 night (saturday 20th July) as we had planned a night out in Leeds. The hotel itself was clean but basic but for £60 and only a mile from the centre it was well worth it. The free breakfast however wasn't all that! Hard bread, cheap fruit juice and weird tasting egg and sausage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudithMillea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your comments following your recent stay with us and I’m pleased that you found the hotel to be clean and good value for money. Our Express Start breakfast, which is free, includes Continental style breakfast with cereals, fresh fruit, yogurts, croissants, toast, muffins, tea/coffee and hot choice of scrambled eggs, sausage and baked beans and I’m sorry that you found some of the items not to your liking. Thank you again for your comments and hope to see you back at the hotel.

Thank you

Judith Millea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
190 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here for just one night whilst in Leeds on business. First plus point - I found it easily ( I ALWAYS get lost in Leeds ! ). Entry is a bit strange though, having to actually pass the place, turn then double back on yourself.
Car park is tight, made tighter by idiots who clearly have issues getting all four wheels inside the same parking space ( not the hotels fault ).
Reception staff ? - well, clearly they're not your usual HIE staff, since they are welcoming, friendly and helpful, as were the bar staff.
Rooms are what you expect them to be, ask for a high one to lose traffic noise, and breakfast OK for a budget hotel.
I've used a few HIE's, this is by far the best thus far.

Room Tip: High up !.....nice view of the factory demolition across the road !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudithMillea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and I’m really pleased you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you back at the hotel soon!

Judith Millea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on the 23rd July one night on business, quick and efficient check in by staff and room was fine on the fifth floor. Bar guy was friendly and the beer was quite reasonable and cold for an express. Did not have breakfast as the restaurant was really busy so can't comment on that, only slight issue was the building demolition across the road that started at seven in the morning, but that's not the hotels fault at all. I would recommend staying here.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rossandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in the Holiday Inn Express for the weekend and were very pleased with the service and helpfulness of the staff. The breakfast was excellent and the location to the centre of Leeds was ideal. Would definitely have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would gladly stay there again....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauratheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here last friday night as we were out for the evening (well..until 330am actually, as it did not go to plan!! a great night though). We paid 40 Pounds pre booked plus 5 Pounds for parking which included leaving until 4pm the next day as we went around Leeds shopping.

For the value it is excellent and the location for me was fine. It is about a 20 minutes walk to the main city, but there are bars/pubs on the way for a stop off, or you can get a Taxi. We requested a quiet area and got the top floor which was great as we noticed a few male groups staying but did not hear anything at all. Breakfast was nice as well!
We would stay here again if visiting Leeds for the night and recommend it.

Room Tip: Request the top floor if you want a quiet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartininYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Ibis Leeds Centre
#28 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Leeds
#18 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Holbeck
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Clayton Hotel Leeds
#13 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre
Address: Cavendish Street | Off Kirkstall Road, Leeds LS3 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a central location and good value at the modern Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre hotel. Park in our secure car park, and enter Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre's vibrant Lobby where you can take advantage of free WiFi and our friendly staff are waiting to greet you. Our contemporary 7-story hotel is set in leafy grounds and you can help yourself to an inclusive buffet breakfast each morning before taking the 15-minute walk into Leeds' city centre. Handily located just off the A65 and 8 miles from Leeds Bradford Airport, Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre is easy to reach by car. Catch up on work with free Wi-Fi and host events for up to 35 guests in our 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. You're a short drive from major businesses in Leeds city centre. Hop on a bus at the stop outside our hotel or stroll to the city centre's cosmopolitan shopping and nightlife in minutes. You can watch Leeds United FC play at Elland Road Stadium or enjoy cricket at Headingley Stadium, both 10 minutes' drive from the hotel. Choose from simple, tasty meals on the evening menu in Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre's inviting Great Room. Unwind with a glass of wine on leather sofas and surf the web. You can watch TV on the big screens and chat to our friendly staff in the bar. Our newly refurbished rooms feature modern decor, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and en suite shower room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Hotel Leeds
Holiday Inn Leeds
Leeds Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing