We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just wonderful!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Best affordable hotel in Leeds without a doubt!
Only stayed for one night but WOW it was great!
Spotlessly clean, modern, walk, welcoming, comfy, great food, what more could you want!?
The rooms and bathroom were spacious and so clean. The beds were very very comfy!!
Hotel staff all pleasant and the breakfast service was amazing and so delicious!
Would deffo stay again, thank you Holiday Inn!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahLouise08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudithMillea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments about our hotel and I hope to see you back again soon!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    293
    97
    21
    6
See reviews for
110
179
28
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed for two nights Sunday and Monday to watch the Test match at Headingely.
Very easy to find with plenty of parking.
From entering reception i was seen straight away by a blonde lady who was very friendly and efficient.
Our room was very clean and modern with large powerful shower and a lcd tv..
Breakfast had plenty of choice hot and cold and considering it was free was good.
It has a bar area which i used both nights and received good service both times
All the staff i encountered all said hello with a smile.
Overall a very good experience , just what you expect from a Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: We were high up to the rear facing the car park, no noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEVCO36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudithMillea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and your kind comments about our team and the hotel are much appreciated. I hope you also enjoyed the cricket and hope to see you back again soon!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here for three bight, hotel clean, quite basic, one lift not working, so only oneand it had a mind of itself. Rooms very basic as are bathrooms. Foods, breakfast tinned peaches? rather than fresh sliced fruit, goat a couple of cereals, cheap sausages, packet scrambled egg beans and toast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrcooljanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudithMillea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. Our lifts are currently undergoing complete refurbishment hence only one working during this time. This will be completed by the middle of June but I’m sorry you were inconvenienced by this. Our complimentary breakfast includes 5 types of breakfast cereal, fresh fruit, tinned fruit (grapefruits segments alternating days with peach slices), fruit juices, yogurts (fruit and natural), croissants, toast, muffins, tea/coffee and hot choice of scrambled eggs, sausage and baked beans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

No complaints here, this is a clean and tidy Hi Express just outside the city centre - however there is a charge for parking £3.50 if you are a PCR member and £5.00 you’re not...

Good welcome at reception staff very polite and my PCR membership was recognised, I was given a 1000 point bonus voucher and a voucher for a free drink from the bar - nice touch.

At £1.60 for a small bottle of water, this is a bit steep, but there is a convenience market just outside.

Room clean and tidy and spacious, as you expect from this chain. This Hi Express is run by a larger holding company, close you eyes and you could be in the Inverness outlet, it is the same basic breakfast, but it is acceptable, Tom and Jerry cheese (with holes in it), crusty cobs, cereals etc, but this is what you book this is what you get. Overall, no complaints and will stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were unfortunate enough to stay at this hotel a few weeks ago and would never do so again.
My wife is a Priority Club Platinum member and was treated at check-in like a criminal in front of ther guests.
We had paid for the room via IHG's Family & Friends rate which we do very frequently and no hotel requests a voucher so we did not have one to hand, but as we had paid for the room we were surprised to be told that we would not be given a room key unless we had this voucher (which a free to print off on the IHG website).
In the end my wife phoned someone at IHG direct on her mobile who asked my wife to pass the phone to the Duty Manager who was told in no uncertain terms about how to give customer service and that this voucher was not required. Immediately after this call we were handed our room key.
We would not recommend anyone staying at this hotel until they are trained properly to give customer service!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nickcoxwold46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudithMillea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for explaining the situation which I was already aware of, having responded to your wife in March on this matter shortly after she stayed. I can only repeat that one of my employees thought that it was an employee identification card that was needed; not just the Friends and Family voucher but this was obviously very badly handled and he failed also to recognize and react to your wife’s Platinum Priority Club status. I do hope your wife received the Priority Club points that I sent as a gesture of goodwill.

Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and it was standard express brand, simple rooms, self serve breakfast and so on. Rooms clean and tidy and spacious enough.My main issue was the noise is excessive from rooms facing the road so either poor quality windows or seals need replaced and also transfer of noise from adjacent rooms was bad...think I may have had a large family as neighbours and it was loud so poor insulation and sound proofing between rooms.
My other gripe is the poor speed from the paid for wifi..less than 1mb for a business traveller is useless especially at £12 for 24 hours.
I wouldn't likely stick to HI Express at the Armouries or Crowne Plaza next time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMACCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudithMillea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback about the noise. We have just had a survey/maintenance visit on the windows so hopefully that will have picked up the problem with your room. Just a mention too that our Wifi will be free in all the guest bedrooms as well as the public areas early summer onwards.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very modern and clean hotel with buffet breakfast included and a bar as well. The room was really nice with the sofa bed already made up on arrival and big enough for 2 people (although it was just for our daughter).

Excellent value for money, friendly and attentive staff. The only minor gripes would be that the air-con unit was quite noisy and use of the shower steamed up all the mirrors in the bathroom, unless you left the bathroom door open. These were minor issues though and didn't detract from an enjoyable stay.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and gladly stay here again on our next visit to Leeds.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudithMillea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your comments and I’m really pleased you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Ibis Leeds Centre
#30 of 87 in Leeds
1,200 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
1,991 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Leeds
#18 of 87 in Leeds
1,958 reviews
Holbeck
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Clayton Hotel Leeds
#14 of 87 in Leeds
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre
Address: Cavendish Street | Off Kirkstall Road, Leeds LS3 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a central location and good value at the modern Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre hotel. Park in our secure car park, and enter Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre's vibrant Lobby where you can take advantage of free WiFi and our friendly staff are waiting to greet you. Our contemporary 7-story hotel is set in leafy grounds and you can help yourself to an inclusive buffet breakfast each morning before taking the 15-minute walk into Leeds' city centre. Handily located just off the A65 and 8 miles from Leeds Bradford Airport, Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre is easy to reach by car. Catch up on work with free Wi-Fi and host events for up to 35 guests in our 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. You're a short drive from major businesses in Leeds city centre. Hop on a bus at the stop outside our hotel or stroll to the city centre's cosmopolitan shopping and nightlife in minutes. You can watch Leeds United FC play at Elland Road Stadium or enjoy cricket at Headingley Stadium, both 10 minutes' drive from the hotel. Choose from simple, tasty meals on the evening menu in Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre's inviting Great Room. Unwind with a glass of wine on leather sofas and surf the web. You can watch TV on the big screens and chat to our friendly staff in the bar. Our newly refurbished rooms feature modern decor, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and en suite shower room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Hotel Leeds
Holiday Inn Leeds
Leeds Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing