We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value stay for Leeds Festival”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leeds East
Ranked #40 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
mold
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value stay for Leeds Festival”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Booked three rooms here to stay last weekend. Twenty minutes from Bramhall Park, site of Leeds Festival ideal for pick up and drop off, clean,comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Excellent value for money as booked far enough in advance. Toby carvery on same site did not eat here - ate instead at The Three Horseshoes 5 minutes down the road great food very reasonable.

Room Tip: Emailed hotel before stay to request rooms together and had three rooms next to each other in very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkswalesmold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_LeedsEast, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. I was delighted to hear that you had a great value stay. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our clean comfortable rooms and friendly staff. I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team.
Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    178
    55
    17
    7
See reviews for
118
153
26
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for two nights mid-week, easy to find, clean and tidy chain-style hotel, free parking, usual facilities.

Staff friendly, room quiet as requested down in the semi-basement end of the hotel. Just a brief note if you are booked in down there, remember to set an alarm of some sort as it is quiet, the curtains are extremely good and thick, it's shady outside the window and you could ( as we did!) think it's too dark to possibly be time to get up and end up sleeping in until 10am - believe it, we did it by accident the first night we stayed! Second night we went to bed armed a set alarm...

Food - the hotel has a self-service breakfast system, don't be put off by thinking it must be a 'bun-fight' for available food, the serving area may be small but it was constantly re-stocked when we were there, so worries about the food running out in reality! Word to the wise - if you want butter for your toast or yoghurt and can't see it, there's a below counter fridge, it's all in there. Small but perfectly formed I think would describe the breakfast area.

Dinner - hotel has no restaurant but is next to (20 seconds walk max) a Toby Carvery, good value and quality roasts, veggie meals etc. It seemed to be very busy when we were there up to 7.45pm but less hectic after that but the staff will let you know if there is a wait and how long.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms on lowest floor but take an alarm if you need to wake up on time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_LeedsEast, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments regarding friendly staff, clean quiet rooms and our buffet breakfast.. The hotel prides itself on high standards and I am pleased that we met your expectations.
I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here 3 times before and had nothing but praise for it but not so good this time.
the hotel is non smoking throughout but hotel "smoking bench" is outside the window of this room.
When we arrived the window was open and the room stank of cigarette smoke. We asked to change rooms but hotel was fully booked and there was no rooms available.
It was very noisey on Thursday night as there was a large group of young oriental tourists staying there and they decided to congregate outside our window both arriving and on leaving at 8 on Saturday morning just after we had got back to sleep from the food delivery lorry reversing bleeper waking us at 7.
My wife spoke to the manager about this and he seemed completely disinterested.
We stayed 8th and 9th August

Room Tip: Avoid Room 104
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_LeedsEast, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay, I was sorry to hear the problem you had with the smell of cigarette smoke in your guest room, the bench outside the hotel is for guest comfort and not a smoking bench, however, please accept my apologies for the drifting smoke in your room. I was also sorry to hear that you had been disturbed by the arrival and departure of a group of guests and a food delivery van, wherever possible we do try and control the level of noise outside the hotel and I am sorry that this was at an unacceptable level to you during your stay.
Please be assured that your valuable comments are appreciated as guest comfort is of high importance to us in order for us to review and improve our services. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here with my wife over a weekend (Saturday night & Sunday night). Check-in was easy, although the reception wasn't busy. We were given a downstairs room at the rear. No views but very spacious for this type of quick-stay hotel. The bathroom was adequate and well planned but the bed linen, the duvet, and the pillows were excellent (a choice of hard or soft for the latter). The buffet breakfast (hot or cold) comprised a reasonable variety....all freshly prepared. The breakfast area is small and fairly crowded although there was always a table available.
All in all I don't think you could do better at the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gramps76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_LeedsEast, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words regarding our guest rooms and buffet breakfast. The hotel prides itself on high standards at reasonable rates and I am pleased that we met your expectations.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bletchley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our anniversary as a base for visiting York. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and of a good size. The walls are thin. You couldn't hear noise from the next room but you knew whenever anyone opened a door. There was a family with small children staying upstairs and you knew when the children were up as you could hear them running around. Can't blame the children or parents as that's what kids do you would've thought they would build these things better so it wouldn't disturb you so much.
The breakfast room is next to reception and is too small for the hotel. Our first morning we were almost fighting to get to the food and were lucky get a table. The next 2 mornings were a lot easier.
Even with these problems it was a clean hotel and was the perfect base for out holiday. The Toby carvery next door did good honest food and complemented the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian-Saw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_LeedsEast, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay, I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding the friendly and welcoming staff and also your comments regarding your clean and spacious guest room.
I was sorry to hear about the noise disturbance you encountered and if our reception staff had been aware of the problem they would have been able to rectify the problem.
The hotel dining area is normally adequate for the number of guests we have staying at the hotel I can only apologise for you having to struggle on your first morning but please be assured that this is not normally the case.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed on one of the hottest nights of the year and booked through laterooms where the listing specifically says air con in rooms. Got there to find no air con and windows that opened 4 inches. Reported this to receptionist who just shrugged her shoulders. Reported to Laterooms and Holiday inn when I returned home - And 2 weeks later Holiday Inn haven't even bothered to reply. Laterooms have reported that Holiday Inn are responsible for the listing and that they have reported the matter to Holiday inn, who said that they are aware of the listing error, but clearly cant be bothered to correct it.
Will never use this brand again.

Room Tip: Premier Inn down the road !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuartadair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_LeedsEast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Stuartadair,

Please accept my apologies for the fact that you do not believe that the service you received was acceptable. Please believe that we take all matters such as this seriously and have been in contact with Laterooms regarding this problem. We are investigating how the air conditioning statement did appear on the Laterooms web-site and are working to ensure this will not happen again. In the meantime please let me apologise for this and ask you to contact me directly (please include your reservation number) on gm@hiexpressleedseast.co.uk in order to resolve the issue.

Yours Sincerely

Steven Millington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here whilst visiting Leeds to attend a friends wedding the following day.

Warmly greeted by hotel receptionist who was also helpful in lending an iron and table fan.

Spacious room with a well designed shower room.

Nice to have a choice of pillows.

Breakfast was nice with a few warm options.

Ideally situated to visit Leeds and beyond

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_LeedsEast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. Please accept my thanks for your kind words that I will be sure to pass onto the receptionist who was on duty on the day of your visit. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Leeds in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Steven Millington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leeds East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leeds East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Leeds East
Address: 2 Aberford Road | Oulton, Leeds LS26 8EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Leeds
#10 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#17 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leeds East 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leeds East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leeds East Hotel Leeds
Holiday Inn Leeds
Leeds Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing