We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leeds East
Ranked #37 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
South East
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ideal stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here whilst travelling up to the Yorkshire Dales from the south. The location is quite convenient for a stopover as it's not too much of a diversion away from the A1 - only a few miles extra to add to your route.

The room was clean and smart with a comfortable bed - had an excellent night's sleep. The shower was great, too.

The only downside was that restaurant-wise there is only a Toby Carvery next door, so if you don't want a carvery your choice for dinner is quite limited without driving further afield. Having said that, there are folders in reception with local takeaway menus available and the hotel also has a bar for drinks.

Breakfast is served in the hotel bar and it was great - mostly continental style with a few hot items like scrambled egg and sausages. To have breakfast included for the price we paid made this hotel stay an absolute bargain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shugspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_LeedsEast, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel and facilities, I am pleased that we met your expectations as we pride ourselves on high standards at reasonable rates.
I was sorry to hear that you found dining out limited there are several eateries within walking distance and our reception team are always delighted to be asked to provide directions and information.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcolming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Leeds East.
Kind Regards,
Karen Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    175
    54
    17
    7
See reviews for
118
151
25
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

A very good example of a Holiday Inn Express. Modern, clean and well maintained. Very good staff.
I was a little worried when getting into bed as the mattress was much softer than the normal found in a Holiday Inn. but turned out to be quite good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sas600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_LeedsEast, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our modern clean and well maintained hotel. The hotel prides itself on high standards and I am pleased that we met your expecations.
I will also ensure your comments regarding good staff are passed on to the team.
Once again thank you for your comments which are much appreciated in order for us to review and improve our policies and procedures.

Kind Regards,
Karen Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here alone, room was excellent, well equipped with sofa, desk and office chair. Great lighting, modern clean decor good flat screen tv with lots of channel choices. Good spotless bathroom with lovely fluffy towels. Complimentary shower gel and hand wash, but unfortunately they were both almost empty so glad I had my own shower gel as it did run out. Had a room to the rear of the hotel, very quiet and no noise from inside the hotel either, good nights sleep with a comfy bed. Breakfast not a vast choice, but good enough and plentiful. Very handy location not far from the M62.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morvenscaraben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_LeedsEast, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the standard of your guest room following your recent stay. The hotel prides itself on high standards and I am pleased that we met your expectations.
I would like to firstly apologise for the lack of hand wash and shower gel in your room the dispensers are replenished daily and this has been an oversight. The reception team are always delighted to be able to assist guests with any supplies needed.
Once again thank you for your comments.
Kind Regards,
Karen Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here twice in the last month and on both occasions very satisfied. Rooms are modern, compact but functional and very clean and warm (not sure why anyone found the heating hard to figure out) + fantastic shower! Everything you need is here. The beds are very comfy, good thick light blocking curtains and, as on both occasions we had a room at the back looking over fields, it was lovely and quiet, making for a sound nights sleep. Breakfast included is perfectly good. Good hot and cold choices, plenty of it and well presented, OK it's not a chef cooked individual breakfast, but for the money it's convenient and does the job. Good service throughout, very helpful pleasant staff. Booked in advance on both occasions and got great deals, making this a good value hotel, we will use this hotel again whenever we stay in Leeds, its about 15 minutes from the city centre by car.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back if you value the quiet (although having never had a room at the front I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeenBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_LeedsEast, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to write a review. The hotel prides itself on high standards and good value for money and I am pleased that we met your expectations.

I will also ensure that your lovely comments are passed on to the team.

Once again thank you for your comments guest feedback is always appreciated in order for us to help improve our services and procedures.

Kind Regards,
Karen Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Karen (I think) who checked us in was very professional. She explained how the room key worked and times of breakfast etc.

Breakfast was good fruit juices, cereal, hot selection sausage, beans, scrambled egg, white and brown bread which you could toast yourself, jams muffins and a good offering of hot drinks, tea, coffees hot chocolate. The girls were still bringing hot items very near to closing time.
Maybe an extension for New Year,

Would have no problem recommending this property, a short drive into Leeds city centre.

WIll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiltonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_LeedsEast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to write a review. I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team.
The hotel prides itself on high standards and I am pleased that breakfast met your expectations, The breakfast times over Chistmas and the New Year were extended from 09.30am until 11.30am.
Once again thank you for your comments they are always appreciated in order for us to review and improve our services.

Kind Regards,

Steven Millington

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel is very clean and the staff are really friendly.
The room heating leaves alot to be desired. Perhaps some information on how it works in the room would help.
Other than that a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_LeedsEast, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Leeds East. Guest feedback is always appreciated in order for us to review and improve our services and I am sorry to hear that you experienced difficulties with the room heating. Guests are able to control the level of heating in the guest rooms via a control panel located on the radiatior, reception staff are also on duty 24 hours and are only too willing to assist guest with any problems they encounter.

I would also like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and friendliness of the staff, the hotel prides itself on high standards and I am delighted that we met your expectations.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards,
Karen Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portpatrick
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed overnight midweek, welcomed by a nice friendly informative receptionist. Very comfortable, nice breakfast, clean and tidy rooms, what more could you want from a Hotel. Blackout curtains most welcomed !. Also, great value for money, approx £50 per room for 1 night with brekkie !!

Great to have a Toby Carvery on site, literally a few steps and your back at the hotel. We had our evening meal here and have to say its the best carvery we have ever had. Janet, our waitress, was superb, she found us a nice quiet table, as they seemed to be alot of kids on that night. Would be great if there was a "kids free" separate dining area, but hey ho, thats life. Nothing worse than sitting down to a meal, and screaming kids all around.

Can't wait to return to the Hotel. Just another mention, the breakfast staff were great too, nice and friendly, nothing too much trouble. The coffee is fab !!

Room Tip: Top floor, backfacing. Ask for a room with a sofa bed as they tend to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy-Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_LeedsEast, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments and praise following your recent stay.
The hotel prides itself on achieving high standards and value for money for our guests and I am pleased we met your expectations.
Thank you also for your kind comments regarding your dining experience at the Toby Carvery, I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Leeds East in the near future.

Kind Regards
Karen Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Leeds East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Leeds City West Hotel
4.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leeds East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leeds East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Leeds East
Address: 2 Aberford Road | Oulton, Leeds LS26 8EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Leeds
#10 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#17 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leeds East 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leeds East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leeds East Hotel Leeds
Holiday Inn Leeds
Leeds Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing