We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable meal again”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mumtaz Leeds

Mumtaz Leeds
Ranked #379 of 1,805 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chandelier Chandelier By Mumtaz is the new name for Mumtaz Leeds but the food and service of this exquisite Indian restaurant remain at the same impeccable standards. The wow factor is just as impressive when you walk into the venue, which came to New Dock in 2008. £2.5m was spent on the interior alone, with its stunning black and white Versace design, complete with ornate columns, Murano chandeliers and a grand piano. The warm greeting is just the same, so too is the excellence of the food. Yet the new name, to Chandelier by Mumtaz in December 2013, marks a landmark change in Mumtaz's thirty year heritage with the Leeds restaurant now fully licensed. As many of its loyal clientele will know, Mumtaz, which was established in 1979 by Farzand Begum, mother of the Mumtaz Family in Bradford, and which has now grown to be one of the UK's biggest Asian food manufacturers, had a no-alcohol policy at its restaurants in Bradford and Leeds. The exciting developments at Chandelier by Mumtaz don't stop at the new name. Soon, diners will be able to enjoy a drink from its extensive drinks menu in the new bar and lounge area, or even enjoy light refreshment alfresco in the soon-to-be-opened outdoor dining area. Mumtaz has built its success by placing quality at the heart of its offering, both in its chilled food offering, including its lassi range - which Mumtaz is proud to say it created - and the dishes served at its restaurants. Everything served at Chandelier by Mumtaz is prepared and expertly cooked from the best and freshest ingredients. As every dish is created from scratch, it means you just have to sit back and enjoy the opulent surroundings just a little bit longer before you are served fine Kashmiri cuisine. However, as everything is created to order, it means that you can have you dish spiced exactly as you wish. Testimonies from well-know personalities, such as Bollywood actress Shilpa Shetty, Amir Khan and Steven Gerrard, as well as David Cameron and Nick Clegg, on its website praise the food. The Queen too, who visited the Bradford restaurant and whose letter hangs proudly on the wall in the Leeds venue. With its sumptuous surroundings, excellent food and waterfront view, it is the ideal place to impress. The private dining room is available to cater for any event, be it for a business meeting to clinch a deal to small and intimate weddings. Diners can enjoy the Chandelier by Mumtaz experience from 11am until midnight, seven days a week. What's more, park in the NCP at New Dock, just a short walk from the restaurant, and Chandelier by Mumtaz will pay for your parking. Simply present your parking token when paying the bill. Chandelier by Mumtaz thinks of everything to ensure the best experience possible
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal again”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Second visit and enjoyable meal again. Love the decor and the setting by the Dock. Nice quiet area. A few hiccups with table to start with but did not put us off. Our Waiter was chatty and friendly. Mumtaz has plenty of Vegetarian meals and options tasty too. Hopefully wont be as long till our next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Herinhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    163
    107
    81
    130
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice surroundings -awful food”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Thought we would try this restaurant as it was recommended to us. The restaurant was pretty dead (Sunday Lunchtime) which wasn't a great sign. The starters were uninspiring to say the least. Very salty with no finesse.

The service was non existent - dirty table when we arrived and plates left in front of us for 10 minutes after we had finished the starters. It wasn't even busy so no excuse!

The mains were even worse; in fact inedible, as they were so salty. After complaining to the waiter we were offered precisely nothing in return for our bad experience. The meals were taken to the chef (supposedly) and all we got back was a couple of comments from the waiters saying that the food shouldn't have been so poor (you can say that again!)

Oh and our daughter's meal - reconstituted scampi!

All in all a really bad experience. Wouldn't recommend to anybody. The advice I would give before booking here - get yourself a curry from M&S and a bag of oven chips and scampi for your children. You will have a nicer meal and probably get better service too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Went here to treat my mother to a meal as I've had good recommendations from friends about this place. We ordered a jug of water which came after we had been given the poppadoms!! - and we had to ask for the water again. My mum has trouble swallowing. Water came and it was warm. Waiter seemed quite ignorant showed no sympathy or apology. Food is average and this restaurant is heavily priced for what it actually is. 4 of us went for a meal and charged us for 8 poppadoms when we had 4. Poor attention to service. Waiters were not around. Shisha is directly outside the entrance to restaurant. Can't be healthy at all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Venue and good for families - bit pricey”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great location by the Dock, lots of space, bit pricey and limited choice. Great for special occassions.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R4FMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful atmosphere during lunch period”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Fixtures and fittins are very nice. The chair I was using was slightly wobly. There was only one waiter during the lunch period so there was a long wait for any kind of service. You need time on your hands if your going to eat there. Worked out roughly £12 a head. The environment was cleen.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thegobler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mumtaz Leeds also viewed

Bradford, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Mumtaz Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing