We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ticks all boxes”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Brewery Tap

The Brewery Tap
Ranked #184 of 1,811 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $16
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Brewery Tap is located next to Leeds Train Station, with a wide range of real ales, and perfect locally sourced home cooked food, its the perfect place to pop in any time of the day, where you will be greeted by the friendly and knowledgeable staff.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Ticks all boxes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Called in whilst visiting Leeds for work purposes. Whilst I am a real ale fan and therefore as happy as a pig in ****, my colleague normally drinks cooking lager [or wine]. I managed to persuade my colleague to try the Leodis Lager brewed locally and was gratified to find him describing it as 'fresh' and 'less gassy' than normal lagers. He liked it enough to have a second and said he would visit again when in Leeds. We each had a sandwich which were good quality and filling if a little on the expensive side. If I go again I will certainly try the ‘Huevos Rotos Con Pisto’. The upstairs room would be ideal for a small private function. It's unusual to find a bar/pub that sells a very good range of local ales [and wines], good quality food AND have decor/ atmosphere acceptable to the fairer sex. The Leeds Brewery Tap ticks all 3 boxes

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    80
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
194 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

This little pub is conveniently located close to the train station, so if you're out in the city centre you can simply stop by. For the same reason, however, it tends to get extremely busy during peak times.

They have a wide selection of beers and ciders which they can advise you on. Their menu also gives suggestions on what beer to choose in order to match the food. Brilliant!

Food is pricey but comes in big portions. With fish & chips at about £10 and a burger at £9 and above, you want your food to meet high expectations. And so it is. The fish & chips was light and fluffy and clearly home-made.

Definitely a must.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds & Germany
Level Contributor
196 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Interesting range of beers but not cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Recently went to a function here (upstairs). Smaller and more cramped than I imagined and the food portions were a bit parsimonious but the food itself was excellent. Micro-brewed beers were very good but pricey: GBP 3.90 a pint for example. Nice place to sit and wait for a train as it's just round the corner from the station. Would go back if on my own. Staff very friendly too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theoriginalsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Really great beer (some of which is brewed on site) and food. Really generous portions, and options for vegetarians and vegans. Great service and staff.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JenJen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baesystems
Level Contributor
112 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Brew Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We visited the Brewery Tap during the Jubilee Bank Holiday. Fantastic range of Own Brew and Guest Beers & Lagers. Well worth a visit if in the City and it's proximity to the station makes it very handy. Although we did not eat in here, there were planty of people doing so and the food looked to be excellent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinBaesystems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brewery Tap also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Brewery Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing