We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly Flawless”
Review of Gaucho Leeds

Gaucho Leeds
Ranked #35 of 1,856 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $52 - $53
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Leeds City Centre
Description: Gaucho source the finest grass-fed beef in the world from Argentina, along with an offering of many other Argentine specialities which range from Latin American style ceviche to chorizo, Gulf de San Jorge lobster, Patagonian lamb and Argentine gambas to traditional empanadas and fine wine. We also offer the largest wine selection in the world outside of Argentina in our restaurants and guests can buy many of the wines from our wine boutique, Cavas de Gaucho on Swallow Street. With seasonally changing menus served across all of our restaurants, we also offer The Gaucho Lunch menu, either two or three courses, between Monday and Friday.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Utterly Flawless”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I took my girlfriend for a surprise meal and everything was flawless. We were running 30 minutes late and had already rang to let them know. We were told we may have to wait at the bar at the worst. Finally we arrived into the glamorous venue, to find that our table had been kept for us. Other couples were made to wait at the bar. This was considered to be the highest of courtesies considering it had been booked for a while and was more than appreciated considering the rarity of the occasion.

The menu was a joy to read and likewise with the drinks menu. We were delighted with the fresh breads that began our meal. Our starter was a step-up in terms of taste and was a great welcome for what was to come. Soon after the plates for our starter were taken, our waitress visited with a board, explaining every single cut of meat available and asking how we liked our steaks cooked and suggesting the appropriate type.

The main soon came and was an absolutely beautiful dish. The steak was hands-down the best I have ever had! Juicy and soft yet jam-packed with flavour. Although both me and my girlfriend were overjoyed with the quality of the food, we both agree that this was not what made our visit.

The staff in particular were attentive, friendly, knowledgeable and most of all willing to listen. In particular the manager at Gaucho's a Stephen Oliver. Our waitress was busy with a larger table, which is where Stephen stepped in. By nature managers do not enjoy getting their hands 'dirty' but Stephen led by example. Within minutes me and my girlfriend were laughing and singing the praises of the staff. He created a personal repor with us, making us feel comfortable and like we could honestly ask for anything we needed. NOTHING was too much for Stephen. He is a credit to Gaucho's and is someone I would recommend any customer to ask for by name!

F-L-A-W-L-E-S-S VISIT

Alexander & Carolyn

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexander F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    677
    216
    111
    41
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Felt important”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Exceptional service made to feel very relaxed and personal. ( cheers Jon )
The food was very very good.
The atmosphere was just right to say it's quite tight for space, the lighting and cow skin seats and walls all added to the effect!!
It's a place to go to don't look at the prices on the menu, just get what you want, you won't be dissapointed!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toolster99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Back again and again couldn't fault”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Visited for my husbands birthday.
Complimentary bread and chimichurri dip is such a lovely way to start, then we had salads as starters (assorted tomato salad) so as not to fill up before steak.
Took the plunge and tried one different steak this time, a churrasco cut sirloin as well as one of our usual fillets and we shared. The churrasco is marinated which adds flavour and tenderness...wow utterly delicious.
As a special occasion we had a lovely bottle of wine, one up from the also lovely, house range, still one of the more reasonable bottles but a treat and we loved it.
The service was perfect, lovely, lovely guy, so helpful just couldn't fault anything, just wish we could eat at least there every week, need a lottery win!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindagornall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Great meal with some minor issues”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We've been to others Gauchos before but this was the first time at the one in Leeds. Staff from beginning to end were all very friendly but we did have a few minor issues with our order and food. One of our starters was forgotten but this was rectified and waived from our final bill. After we finished the second starter, it seemed we were forgotten for a while as we waited for our main courses. This may have been because the dining room seemed to be filling up quickly at that point and staff's attention was directed elsewhere. We did receive our steaks but even though we both ordered ours medium, mine was medium rare. At this point, although it would have been fine to mention it to staff, we decided against it as we didn't want to wait any longer than we had already been. So I swapped my medium rare steak for my husband's medium, as he is able to tolerate blood better than me. The quality of the meat was excellent. Everything we ordered was very good, including the bread, wine and desserts. Even though we made a reservation I was a bit unhappy at the table we were given, which was right by one of the computers with a view of a column and the kitchen behind it. We were also placed right under the speakers and music got louder throughout the evening, which slightly affected the enjoyment of our meal. All members of staff were very friendly and we were even asked if we needed a taxi back to our hotel.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PB&PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We've visited Gaucho several times and have always been highly impressed. The food is spectacular and the service is excellent - always personal, down to the complimentary cocktail we were given for our anniversary. It's not cheap, but you get what you pay for here.

Helpful?
Thank browneyedgirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaucho Leeds also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Gaucho Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing