We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food in a beautiful location.”

Garden Room Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #339 of 1,871 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Mansion's Garden Room Restaurant provides an excellent location for Breakfast, Lunch and Afternoon Tea, with some of the most spectacular views in Leeds. Our fantastic Chefs create a popular Specials Menu each day, using some of the finest locally sourced ingredients available. The Garden Room is also available for private hire (seating up to 65 guests). Ample free parking is also available on Mansion Lane
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb food in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I visited The Mansion with my boyfriend and his family last weekend.

It was a special occasion so we decided to take them for lunch, and a walk in the park. We sat outside as the weather was nice, and the restaurant itself was very stuffy inside!

I had afternoon tea and it was definitely the best I've ever had in Leeds. The scone was absolutely delicious!

The only slight gripe was that 2 members of our party ordered the cod sandwich, not realising that this would come battered as it did not say so on the menu. When we mentioned this to the waitress, she didn't even acknowledge the comment or say thank you for the feed back - a little disappointing.

We also we a little disappointed that the waitress turned to say goodbye/speak to a friend who was leaving the restaurant mid way through taking our plates.

Despite the couple if slight issues with service from the one waitress, the food was delicious and the setting was beautiful - definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy-UK-87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    52
    25
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Absolute gem”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Went here initially on recommendation from a friend for a light snack. Simply ordered a scone and a glass of wine, both of which were absolutely delightful. The wine was, perhaps a little on the expensive side for £8 for a large glass, but the food is well priced so it kind of makes up for it.

I then came again 2 days later for lunch as I was very impressed the first time. My partner and I ordered a 3 course meal and it was divine. Excellently presented and delicious. The service was fantastic - with an excellent waitress named Jan, I think.

I can't believe I'd never been here before, i feel like i've been missing out. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rammina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Music and dinner in the Garden Room restaurant”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We went for dinner last Friday, not realising the restaurant only opens monthly now for themed dinners with different types of live music: on this occasion a woman vocalist.

Terrific value 3 course meal, wonderful presentation and impeccable service: this is a really unique dining experience in Leeds.. shame it isn't open more frequently in the evening, especially in summer months

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 186364Appalled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We r mansion groupies but its to good to keep secret”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Over the past 3 years we have visited the Mansion frequently we have to say that it is equally as good as Harvey Nichols, and better value
If u r in leeds drive up to Roundhay or catch the no. 2 or 12 bus (every 15 mins) and try the Mansion, the staff r superb n the food is a delight
So go for it!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Had a super lunch at The Mansion today. Food was delicious and the staff very friendly- all very understanding of the gentleman we had taken with us who has Alzheimer's. Our only slight niggle was the price for some of the items....particularly thinking of the fish and chips considering the portion size, and the puddings, which although delicious, seemed a tad pricey. My husband would normally have chosen the fruit loaf with Wensleydale (£5.15) or ice cream- but when a serving of 3 scoops was nearly £6, he decided to just taste everyone else's pudding instead! Thank you to the wonderful staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank family_six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden Room Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Garden Room Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing