We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious meal, lovely service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tong Palace - CLOSED

Tong Palace
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Quarry Hill
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious meal, lovely service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I ate here on a Monday evening with a friend and we decided to eat from one of the set menus. At £23 a head this provided good value for money; enough delicious food to fill us both up and then take what we couldn't eat back with us in some takeaway tubs which they were happy to sort out for us! We had a delicious and fresh tasting duck soup to start (once we had added a touch of salt), a decent plate of appetizers such as prawn toasts and chicken Satay, some incredibly tender & crispy lamb pancakes (you had the choice between this and the classic crispy duck), then a good mixed selection of mains, including a 'wow factor' sizzling beef dish which added a bit of theatre to the meal, served with fried rice and noodles. We enjoyed all of this with a couple of reasonably priced Tiger beers. The service was also very good and those who served us did so with charisma and professionalism. All in all it was a very good experience and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leedsfoodielad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    29
    9
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Tong Palace Chinese restaurant - stick to the menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Has to be the best Chinese restaurant in Leeds and the only one of its kind left since The Lucky Dragon closed some years ago. Not the smartest looking Chinese restaurant but they never are bit scruffy decor and the carpet could do with replacing but hey where there to enjoy the food. The food is always good here but the menu £12.95 for 2 courses and a drink looked tempting and we wish we'd never tried it but stuck to the menu instead. The starter of mixed dishes was fried and fatty not much taste and the main course arrived sat on plates and put infront of us. Reminded me of school dinners. We felt the food was thrown at us and portions were very small. Next time avoid the offers and stick to the main menu where the portions are ample and the food is served on individual plates. Very disappointed meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whackend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We dont know if the chef was having a day off or we chose badly. but we found this restaurant disappointing. We chose the meal for two persons.
The soups were dreadful and we left them. The next course was, the usual, prawn toast, ribs, spring rolls etc. All were homemade but very overcooked and hard.
The main courses were so much better and we really enjoyed the succulent meat dishes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank summerseekerforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic superb Hong Kong style egg custards”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

They only serve egg custards on Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays! These custards are not like the ones you get at Greggs - manufactured,doughy and soggy! The puff pastry is hand-made (which takes a long time to prepare the multiple layers of dough) and the egg fillings are soft, sweet and delicious. They taste extra good if they are freshly baked. You will get 3 custards for 1 portion. I have been to many dim sum restaurants but none of them does better egg custards than Tong Palace.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Authentic Asian food with”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Delicious authentic food, served quickly. They have an extensive dim sum menu and are constantly full of Chinese people lunching - always a good sign :)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Strypee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tong Palace also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing