We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb restaurant 15th February”

Sweet Basil Chinese & Thai Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Sweet Basil is now no longer trading
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant 15th February”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

First ever visit to the sweet basil last night, got to say, very impressed. The staff were friendly and helpful, the restaurant clean and well laid out. Took forever for me to decide what to order, went for salt and pepper rib starters, other half chicken Satay, father in law salt and pepper squid. All very tasty. Some how, we ordered 5 mains between 4 (the had a £1 main course offer on sweet and sour chicken). Way too much food but again, all very tasty. The bill came out at £22 per head, and that included 2 rounds of drinks. Overall, a great experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    37
    19
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Valentine Dinner for Two”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

First time at this Chinese/Thai Restaurant. First impressions were very good. We elected for Chinese cuisine and were not disappointed. Starters - Prawn toast, Crabmeat and sweet corn soup, shredded crispy beef - all excellent - loved the "cucumber crabs" ! Sliced duck with ginger and Spring onion and King prawns in a spicy seafood sauce accompanied by crispy noodles and boiled and egg fried rice - very tasty and enjoyable. Dessert - toffee banana not available so just had Chinese Tea. House white wine very good. Car parking available across the road. Would definitely recommend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

There aren't many Chinese restaurants to choose from in Leeds but this is one of the best Chinese's I have ever been to and I will keep going back time and time again. I literally don't have a bad word to say about the place and you definitely have to try the prawn toast. I can't eat prawn toast from anywhere else now lol.
When I have been in for a meal, the service has been excellent and the waitresses always take time to chat to you and they are just really friendly! Also if there is something that isn't on the menu, they will accommodate your needs.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable meal”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

It's nice to be able to write a review with no negatives and this is one of the few times that I can.

The wife and I went one Thursday night, arriving about 8 after a drink in the Stew and Oyster just up the road. We didn't book but there was still plenty of room, probably about 10 tables taken which was nice as at some restaurants in Oakwood you can find yourselves alone.

Having read reviews on TA (thanks), we were curious to see how the Chefs Special would work out. The offer states that if you spend over £25 you can buy the chefs special for £1 which today was Crispy Beef. Its good that most phones have calculators nowadays, but if yours doesn't I hope your good at adding up

We ordered two starters, squid (£7.90) and ribs (£6.20) and also a main of sizzling lamb (£9.10) and egg fried rice (£2.90). This meant we had a total spend so far of £26.10. and having broke the £25 barrier could now buy the special for £1. This made our total food bill only £27.10 added to £13.50 for a bottle of wine made a grand total of £40.60.

We were both very happy with all of the food, in particular the squid which was cooked to perfection. I was pleased to see that the quality and portion size of the crispy beef had not suffered due to its £1 price tag. I've found in the past that some places compromise quality when using vouchers or special offers but that certainly isn't the case here,

Staff friendly and service was good. Service charge was as it should be, optional.

I'm not sure which nights or how long the Chefs Special is on for, but we will be returning regardless.

The restaurant is closed Mondays apart from bank holidays.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bestyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Leeds”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We have been here several times and never had a bad visit ..
Very good food and excellent service ...
Just needs wifi to keep up with the tims

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Basil Chinese & Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing