We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Stew & Oyster

Stew & Oyster
Ranked #180 of 1,828 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: The Calls
Description: Welcome to the stew and oyster, where the food is fresh, bar staff are friendly and the atmosphere is relaxed
1 review
“A little gem”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

A great little bar. Difficult to find if you don't know where it is but worth searching. Best place in Leeds for oyster without a doubt and the beer was alright as well!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The Wardrobe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    43
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice bar by the river”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We called in here one lunchtime. The bar is rather 'industrial chic' - lots of exposed bricks, candles etc and has a good view over the River Aire.
We shared a ploughmans platter - pork pie, terrine, cheese, bread and pickles. It was perfectly nice, though admittedly the bread needed some butter. This, together with a glass of wine and 2 beers came to £25.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardeidae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great bar on the river”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We go to Calls Landing regularly and love this bar. Nice place with a slightly older crowd. Good music you can talk over. Not had the oysters but the stew is delicious!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rach129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Intimate cosy atmosphere”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Great little pub, great stew and good local beer. We loved it so much ate there two nights. Very Cosy, great atmosphere, fantastic service.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DABACAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“The oysters were nice and didn't kill me”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I went to this place yesterday. I WAS brave enough to have the oysters. I had a half doz which cost £8... not bad really. They haven't killed me yet and they tasted nice.
I also had the stew which is a pleasant and similarly hygienic bargain, but it didn't thrill me. The mushrooms in the stew (yes I got 3 of them) had a bunged in and boiled quality to them, it would be better if they'd sliced them up and fried a bit of flavour into them.
Overall, this place beat my hotel's restaurant's speed of service and value hands down. Quality was similar.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdRickhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stew & Oyster also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Stew & Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing