We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kirkgate Market”

Leeds Kirkgate Market
Ranked #23 of 157 things to do in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kirkgate Market”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Excellent Victorian structure. Check out the Butchers and Fishmongers Rows especially on a Friday. Also an interesting Marks and Spencer heritage stall.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    127
    19
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Leeds market”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a fantastic old fashioned market, beautiful building, lots to look at.....the only downside, there's always one, is some empty stalls......are the rents too high? probably.
However, I never go to Leeds without visiting this lovely market.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pipfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building shame about the shops”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Unless you're after fruit and veg you won't find anything worth buying here.

That said it's worth a visit if you're in Leeds for a day or two, it's an amazing building with some great history and a brilliant place to people watch.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charly_murg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Simple Market...to stop at BETWEEN destinations.”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This little market was a gem I found while in Leeds. It's got a nice, outdoor feel. I grabbed a burger while there and enjoyed it. Price and quality was good.

Honestly, this place is nice if it's on your way to another spot. But I wouldn't go out of my way to come here if I was making plans.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a delightful find!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We loved this market (KirKgate, not Kirgate!) so here's a list of things we found and loved:
- This is Europe's second largest covered market with 800 stalls selling a stunning variety of food, loose cosmetic items and knick-knacks. Was started in 1822!!
- Alternate Saturdays there is an open market with a crazy selection of fruits and veggies art throwaway prices - we picked up 15 satsumas for a pound! No, seriously - and they were some of the best we've ever eaten
- You'll find cheap cosmetics and knock off perfumes that almost entirely match the expensive perfume you favour, at a tenth of the price
- They have a superb selection of dry fruits, spices and a fairly authentic and well priced Indian shop or two, chinese stalls and a whiff of almost every culture and cuisine
- We're veggies so didn't hit the meat stalls but are told the butcher's area is a must-visit for meat eaters
- A small stall selling Moroccan and Lebanese cuisine is worth looking for! Their kibbeh = amazing
- Before you roam everywhere, if you're the organized cover-everything-one-by-one type, head to the visitor centre and grab a floor map
- Super place to head to for an entire day out, grab a nice breakfast and linger on for afternoon shopping
Enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ramaaramesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leeds Kirkgate Market also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Leeds Kirkgate Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing